We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old favourite”
Review of Zur Kogge

Zur Kogge
Ranked #8 of 331 Restaurants in Rostock
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Lund, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Old favourite”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We first visited Rostock the spring after re-unification and the city seemed very poor. Our hotel recommended this as the best (only?) place for dinner and helped us make the reservation. There were 6 of us and almost no other guests. The food was not memorable but we first tasted draft Rostocker beer. The staff allowed us to buy some beer glasses that we still use. We rediscovered the restaurant in 2012 and now visit it several times a year on our way between Sweden and the rest of Europe. The mixed grilled fish plate is outstanding: three fish fillets cooked perfectly in the centre. They also do the best bratkartoffeln with onion and bacon to accompany the meat dishes. Both the pork steak and schnitzel are excellent. Next time I might dare to ask for bratkartoffeln with the fish plate.

Service is relaxed and friendly. I always try to make a reservation on-line from home. Confirmation comes within a day. During the summer it can be fully booked.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bjoann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    61
    19
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Diner”
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

We had diner here at the 19th of March 2014. The restaurant has a friendly atmosphere and serves excellent seafood and fish.

Helpful?
Thank Jarno d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Excellent place with great food”
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

We had dinner here as part of our 4 day wedding celebrations in 2010 and we enjoyed a wonderful meal (especially the Matjes Teller was very popular with the wedding party.
And when we came outside there was a firework (unplanned by us) which made it even more special. I come regularly in Rostock and will be back soon.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bard V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Solid German food.”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

My wife and I tracked Zur Kogge down after reading about it's merits in the various Tripadvisor reviews.At first we opted not to enter then after a short debate decided we'd try it out.Zur Kogge has been a seamans hostel,hotel and restaurant for about 100 years and the interior is decorated with all kinds of seafaring memorabilia.We had lunch which consisted of "Rainers Matjefilet"(strips of herring on a nice crisp potato cake with horseradish and pumpkin seeds) and Nordsee Krabben followed by the Norwegian salmon dish and Weinerschnitzel for mains.We had some excellent local Rostock lager to wash it all down.The meals were typically generous and somewhat overfacing.The quality sadly was only average and we left disappointed.The staff were very pleasant and helpful and the meal cost circa 45 euros.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janzibar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“You come for the seafood”
Reviewed 17 April 2013

The Daughter peeked in through the door and advised that there were a lot of "cute" old men in the restaurant so we returned after checking out another fish restaurant right on the harbor which was just down the street. We returned here and I am glad we did.

Indeed there was a large table around which were seated eight or nine gentlemen aged from about 70 up who were clearly enjoying each other's company. As it was 17.30 they were the only people in the place so we were able to secure a booth without having a reservation. However, the regulars started arriving by 18.00 so if you are planning on dining around this time it would be wise to call for reservations beforehand.
While not located directly ON the harbor the restaurant is close by in a building which has functioned as such for almost 100 years. The decoration is nautical - but not nautical as "created" by an interior decorator. Instead the nautical theme has clearly evolved organically over scores of years as evidenced by the pictures on the walls showing diners from 70 or 80 years ago in the same setting. A setting which consists of several round tables in the middle of the room with booths surrounding them and an upstairs balcony which looks out over the room and a score or so model sailing ships and other nautical paraphernalia hanging from the ceiling. The walls are decorated with stuffed lobsters and a series of colored glass windows depicting sea scenes circle the room. The furniture is lovingly worn.

The menu arrived presented by our efficient waitress. There is also a blackboard with specials which she didn’t point out so keep your eyes open for it. I wound up getting the cod while The Daughter opted for zander prefaced by tomato soup. The homemade soup arrived fairly rapidly and was very tasty. It took some time for the main courses to arrive mainly because the chef was busy finishing the order for the “cute” older men.
The zander filet came baked with a sizeable number of white parsley potatoes and an enormous side dish of pickled cucumbers.
My cod came as a roulade which had been rolled in crumbs, topped with feta and baked. The four roulade sat atop a vegetable, potato combination. Both of us drank beer but there is a small wine menu. There are also some non-fish dishes and a single vegetarian dish on the menu.
The meal was excellent, reasonably priced, with good service. The surroundings and general atmosphere of bonhomerie make this an outstanding choice. Be prepared to speak German.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StephenCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zur Kogge also viewed

Rostock, Mecklenburg-West Pomerania
Rostock, Mecklenburg-West Pomerania
 
Rostock, Mecklenburg-West Pomerania
Rostock, Mecklenburg-West Pomerania
 

Been to Zur Kogge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing