We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and cosy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Das Hotel an der Stadthalle
Ranked #18 of 58 Hotels in Rostock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Very friendly and helpful staff. Location: 5 minutes walk from central station; 20 minutes walk to the city center. (you can also take tram). Easy for trips (by train) to Warnemünde with beautiful beach. Breakfast buffet is excellent! Rooms are ok, with flatscreen (only German channels), no frige or minibar. Good price/quality. Quiet neighborhood. No elevator.

Room Tip: There are some rooms with a terras. Attention: there is no elevator.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schrampa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
There are newer reviews for Das Hotel an der Stadthalle
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2013

The Hotel has a 70s feel to the reception, but the bedrooms are just fine. It was This was a generous sized room, with good sized bathroom, and close to the central railway/tram station. Chairs were comfortable to both sit at the desk using their wifi on my laptop, or just sitting in reading.. Did not try the TV as I cannot speak German.
Breakfast was a full menu. eg scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, bacon and sausages, plus all the cold things.
I chose this hotel because it was close to public transport, and was pleased I did, as it was raining when I got to Rosktock. Hotel is hard to spot from the railway station. You have to go to the south entrance of the station and turn right. It is tucked behind the first block of buildings that you see. Later when I had sussed the tram stations out, I got off 1 station passed the main station (trams 2, 5, 6) and walked direct across the road to the hotel. The south entrance to the train station is also where you can catch bus no 49 to the Ferry Terminals.
The young staff who were on duty when I dripped into their reception, were so nice. The young lad without any prompting offered to carry my bags up to my 3rd floor room - no lift. And he went out of his way to ensure that the right sort of tea was available the 2nd day when he found out they did not have it. I wanted a comfortable bed and room, and got it at a good price. I was there for 3 nights midweek, and it suited me fine.in spite of 48 stairs to my room.

Room Tip: If you are not good climbing stairs, ask for a room as low down as possible - there is no lift. Roo...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

I stayed in this hotel one night because of my job.
What can I say? You get what you pay for it.
Hotel is quite old and not in really good condition. Everything is pretty tacky.
The hotel is placed on a neighbourhood where there are only very big old buildings and the zone seems very poor. I remember, I feel not comfortable at night in my journey from the parking place to the hotel.
I remember, when we arrived at the hotel at night, it was a kind of music party on the area. The music was quite loud and could be heard from the room.
Furthermore, we had to wait more than 15 minutes till the guy from the main desk came to the place. He told us, he was on the music party. Other than that, we asked him, when the party was supposed to be finished and he told us that he had no idea and that it was normal to have those parties regulary.
Breakfast was according to the hotel range. Low variety and poor.
I would say this is not a hotel but a pension.
A cheap accomodation but without any doubt, I would not accommodate myself a second time in this place.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xasose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Well, okay, this is not the best hotel you ever will stay in. Well, okay, it sure won't be. It's old, shabby with ragged wall to wall carpets everywhere. There's no elevator, the staff doesn't speak very good english (some of them don't speak english at all). Front desk unattended after 8pm.

But, in some strange way, I still liked the place. After wandering up dirty stairs locking myself into my room I almost didn't dare to see how I should spend my next night. But it was fine! The rooms were clean and spacious. I got a big bathroom and even a balcony that came in very handy since I am a smoker. The beds were comfy as well. The only thing I could complain about when it comes to the rooms and sleep quality is that it was quite noisy and u could hear other guests talking and moving luggage. But it's not near streets or anything.

We were going to a gig at the city hall at night and the hotel is just outside the venue so it came in very handy for us and it took us like 3-4 minutes by foot to the main train station.

Don't choose this hotel if you want luxury or need anything extra. But you should choose this hotel if you want a cheap room close to the train station. it takes about 5-6 min with trams from the city hall to the market place down town, not bad :)

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeyCarlzon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

I stayed for one night in this hotel during a business trip to Warnemünde and Rostock. Don’t be put off by the slightly run down and somewhat too East Germany built of the apartment block in which this hotel is situated. Also the staircase and corridor are little inviting. But you will be positively surprised about the rooms themselves. Double rooms are spacious and very clean. Also the bathroom was extremely large, actually much larger then necessary. I had a balcony facing towards the city congress hall. Not a nice view, but it’s private and you can smoke there if you must. The hotel does not otherwise allow smoking and you will also be asked to close all windows and the door when smoking outside. Apparently they will charge a rather high fee if they get aware of smoke smell in the rooms. The rooms must have been made over recently (July 2012) since al furniture looked new, and there was a really big high definition TV instead of the cheap tiny one that some hotels seem to offer to justify writing “flat screen TV” in their info.
Apparently the hotel owners/runners are gay friendly. At least they offered two different gay magazines at the reception.
If you need food and drink after hours, there is only a rather overpriced vending machine. But just outside the door there is a huge supermarket that should be open 8am to 8pm Monday to Saturday. The pretty good breakfast with a small but nice choice of food is served in a small room but is unfortunately pretty expensive, too, at 8.50€.
The location is right next to the train station, from which you can walk to the city centre in about 15min, or a bit less. The S-Bahn (local train) to the beach town of Warnemünde also takes some 15-20 minutes and leaves every 15 minutes.
After getting over the first impression the hotel is nice (but for the price of breakfast), and I would not find good reasons not to stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David_at_large
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: war sehr zufrieden und mir fällt dazu nichts ein
Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank siegfriedk951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank christinehU7344YU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rostock hotels
0.3 mi away
InterCity Hotel Rostock
InterCity Hotel Rostock
#10 of 58 in Rostock
154 reviews
0.9 mi away
pentahotel Rostock
pentahotel Rostock
#3 of 58 in Rostock
2,004 reviews
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Rostock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ibis Rostock am Stadthafen
1.0 mi away
Steigenberger Hotel Sonne
Steigenberger Hotel Sonne
#15 of 58 in Rostock
251 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Sportforum
Hotel Sportforum
#22 of 58 in Rostock
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Das Hotel an der Stadthalle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Das Hotel an der Stadthalle

Address: Platz der Freundschaft 3, 18059, Rostock, Mecklenburg-West Pomerania, Germany
Region: Germany > Mecklenburg-West Pomerania > Rostock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 58 Hotels in Rostock
Price Range: £42 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Das Hotel an der Stadthalle 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Das Hotel an der Stadthalle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing