We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Price is way too high for what you get” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterCity Hotel Rostock

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
InterCity Hotel Rostock
Ranked #18 of 58 Hotels in Rostock
Belgium
Level Contributor
288 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Price is way too high for what you get”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

During my stay in Rostock I slept in the Intercity hotel one night (because the Radisson was full).
The price difference is €15/night. The quality difference... where should I start?
For €85/night this is a just a rip-off to be honest.
The rooms are very small, the furniture is old. You get just 1 pillow in a single room and it's very thin. The internet doesn't work at night since there's too many people online (in the morning around 6AM it's fine). The shower is dirty. There's not enough parking space for all guests.
Will never stay here again, that much is for sure.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwen_BE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    53
    41
    7
    0
See reviews for
14
35
12
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

The Hotel is located directly at the Train Station but can easy be reached by car as well. Paid parking available. The rooms are clean but modest. You get free tickets for public Transport which makes it easy to discover the City. The "Stadthalle" (a concert hall) is in Walking distance and offers great Performances.
Friendly Service Team, especially Frau Lübbe at reception!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KLH2012Riyadh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

An okay location, near bus, service train, and rail lines. Breakfast was good. There is a small convenience store for anything you might need just around the corner. The rooms our austere at best. The bathroom reminded me of the inside of a submarine [Although I've never been one].the room was extremely small and cramped. All the furniture was built-in with barely enough room to walk around the bed. We had a tough time getting our suitcases in. The staff was not very helpful. Bicycle parking was down the elevator and into the basement, very inconvenient. I would not go back. If you are there on business it would be acceptable for one night.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill1018423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

We were staying in Rostock for an extended weekend and decided to go with the Intercity Hotel, located right next to the central station and with local, public transport included in the price. As we were planning on doing some shopping in the centre combined with two train trips to Güstrow and Warnemünde respectively, this was a perfect choice.
The staff in reception were very friendly and smiling and quickly checked us in to our room. Our room was on the front side of the hotel (the back faces directly out to the railroad tracks and station platforms. But since the windows are well insulated it really doen't matter which side you get a room on. The rooms are fairly small, but I have stayed in much smaller rooms, so all in all they are not too bad. The room we got was very clean and the bathroom also appeared spotless.
The temperature and bed were good and the TV had a selection of German and international TV channels. The cost of the room, which included free travel on public transport, was very reasonable.
All in all I can recommend this hotel to others who visit the city without a car, and maybe also with. I will probably visit again in the future as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NiclasAa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

Stayed here for one night before taking the ferry to Trelleborg. No parking place of their own, you must be lucky to find one across the street where you do not have to pay for it. Verry small rooms, very small bathroom. Reception functioning throughout the night, they allow pets. Too expensive for what they offer but if you have no other choice...

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

Stayed at this hotel during a week, due to the conference I was attending organized there. For the rate paid, I can honestly say this was good value for money, at no frill as other reviewers said. No surprise: excellent breakfast (but so-so for the other meals and in particular for room-service), good rooms (bit small though acceptable for one person), minimum customer service (with typical lack of flexibility). It is located near the main station, but trains are not running after hours, so no noise issues; every guests is provided with a free day ticket for all Rostock public transport.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoNonSenseTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

Upon entering the room of the InterCity hotel in Rostock I was immediately reminded of a typical refurbished Motel 6 in the USA: comparable in size, no-frills, light and functional furniture, overall cleanliness. So this would be o.k. with me, were it not for the room rate, which was more than double of that of an average Motel 6. Different from the latter, there was no cheerfully colored bedspread, but just one white folded duvet, and only ONE small and ONE large towel, but no facecloth. Nor was there any A/C either.
On the plus-side:
- plenty of electrical outlets for all your technical equipment (no need to dive under a table and/or unplug a lamp)
- sound proof windows: no street noise audible
- good black-out curtains
- a day’s ticket for public transportation (ca 6$ worth) included
- the room had a minibar: not complimentary, but if you place those bottles outside, there is room for some personal perishable food items of your own.

On the minus-side:
- even though you pay about 130$/night, wi-fi is NOT included, and is available only at a rather hefty fee
- breakfast is not included in the rate either.

The location is a plus and a minus:
There are two trainlines in the adjacent „Rostock Hauptbahnhof“ station that take you into the city center, + the regional train which runs about every 15 minutes between Rostock and the seaside resort of Warnemünde; travel time ca 20 minutes.
There is, however, nothing of interest within walking distance, as it is in a residential area; so you are not „in the middle of it all“.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hadila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rostock hotels
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Rostock
0.7 mi away
pentahotel Rostock
pentahotel Rostock
#2 of 58 in Rostock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,720 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ibis Rostock am Stadthafen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Das Hotel an der Stadthalle
0.8 mi away
Steigenberger Hotel Sonne
Steigenberger Hotel Sonne
#13 of 58 in Rostock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
2.6 mi away
Elbotel Rostock
Elbotel Rostock
#46 of 58 in Rostock
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterCity Hotel Rostock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterCity Hotel Rostock

Property: InterCity Hotel Rostock
Address: Herweghstrasse 51, 18055, Rostock, Mecklenburg-West Pomerania, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Mecklenburg-West Pomerania > Rostock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 58 Hotels in Rostock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — InterCity Hotel Rostock 3.5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The team of the InterCityHotel Rostock looks forward to your visit. Our hotel is located only a few minutes on foot from the city centre, next to the main station. The motorway and Rostock harbour are also within easy reach of our InterCityHotel. Rostock has something to offer for every taste. For those interested in culture there is the historic old city centre with its impressive red brick gothic buildings, the theatre and concerts. Nature lovers might like to discover the attractive Baltic Sea landscape of the coastal resort of Warnemunde. Profit as a guest from the FreeCityTicket for Rostock and Warnemunde included in the price of your room which we place at your disposal for the whole of your stay in Rostock. The hotel in Rostock has 174 comfortably furnished rooms and 3 suites, a restaurant and a bar. Thanks to its favourable location, the InterCityHotel Rostock provides the perfect framework for your conference. 6 Air-conditioned, sound-proofed conference rooms with daylight illumination which, in part, can be combined with one another are available to accommodate up to 100 participants. For all InterCityHotels concerned the usage of the WLAN is free of charge up to 256 KB/s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your InterCity Hotel Rostock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing