We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel, helpful staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Altstadt Hotel Zur Post

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Altstadt Hotel Zur Post
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Stralsund
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good hotel, helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

Stayed 2 nights. Room first floor clean and bright overlooking a side street, bathroom good with walk in shower. Booked through the tourist bureau (over the phone), they had not made us a reservation. Found the English speaking member of the bureau when we called in very off hand. Fortunately the hotel had vacancies. It is a “Bett + bike” hotel , there is a secure bike storage room in the underground car park. Hotel provided umbrellas as it was raining.
Would stay there again if we revisit Stralsund.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JJulesS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    45
    27
    10
    3
See reviews for
13
55
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

I decided to stay in this hotel, because it was cheap and had a rating of 4 stars. Who can get a double room for 45EUR nowadays! I would definitely come back if I pass that place again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoretaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

We stayed for one night at the Hotel Zur Post in Stralsund while we were visiting Rugen. It was a last minute decision, and they gave us a wonderful top floor room (perhaps a bit dated) that was fabulous for our family. The staff were friendly and the hotel faced the neuer markt next to the post office. Lovely location. We were very pleased! The breakfast is also worth it - very good.
One thing I will say is that the only unfortunate thing is the hotel charged us twice for our room and we have been struggling with them a bit to get our money back. This part of Germany it is hard to find people who speak English, so this has been a bit difficult. Would have been 5 stars if not for this hassle!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gvmnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genf
Level Contributor
148 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

We stay here for one night and are very statisfied with the Hotel. Good space in the room. The bathroom large, clean, new, just fine. Location is perfect to see the city. Extra Bicyle room in the Garage, which can be reached via the elevator. Price/perfomance is very good.
Entrance and reception somewhat dark but very friendly welcome. Would take it again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hermann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
597 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 439 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

I can only comment on the FeWo (vacation apartments) portion of the hotel, other than that everyone at the reception was very nice, and the free parking in the hotel's garage is quite a challenge.

The apts we had were very conveniently located close to the harbor island and very nicely set up. Our apt was quite large and there was space for a dining table, which would have been a nice addition.

Besides the apartments being pretty great, if you get them facing the street, expect it to be quite noisy (on the weekends). The other thing was that the curtains were not that great in terms of early morning sunshine.

But I would easily come back and enjoy this beautiful city and those great apartments.

The free wi-fi internet was one of the fastest and easiest I have gotten in a while.

Room Tip: Ask for a room NOT facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caipirina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2009

We stayed 2 nights in October 2009. The hotel is fair, its 3-stars are a good description. Location is excellent, right in the new market square, within old city center. Very close to the Old market square. Also a 5-10 min walk from railway station. Room was clean and comfortable, good bed.
There were some small details you wouldn't expect of a 3-star: no complimentary toiletries in the bathroom (just soap/shampoo in the shower), curtains were so worn at some places that you could see through... No big deal, just a little annoying. However, there was something REALLY annoying: hot water in the shower was VERY irregular. My wife, showering first, had no problems at all, but I got scalding water one moment and cold the next. I spent most of the time trying to get it at a good temperature (with not so much success).
Breakfast was expensive when I stayed (9€/person). I didn't try it, so I can't comment on the quality, but there are p-l-e-n-t-y of places within 2-3 minute walk to have breakfast. I can recommend the espresso at: Kornhus Bistro Café (Ossenreyerstraße 5)

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElFranjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2008

Hotel Zur Post Stralsund (http://www.hotel-zur-post-stralsund.de/eng/) is an unbelievably gorgeous hotel in Germal small town Stralsund. It has fascinating seasonal package deals. We booked an Easter package deal in 2006 for a mini vacation in the Peninsula regoin. Evening meals and drinks at the hotel bar were remarkable. I was greatly impressed by the hotel service and hospitality. The room was lovely, tastefully decorated, remarkably large size with quality furniture. I was totally impressed by the bathroom, which can be compared to any 5 star hotel standard. The hotel serves a real royal brealfast everyday. Nice private parking at the basement at the back. Check out the hotel website http://www.hotel-zur-post-stralsund.de/eng/

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Language problem
  • Stayed April 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank passionshower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stralsund hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Hiddenseer am Ozeaneum
0.3 mi away
Hotel am Jungfernstieg
Hotel am Jungfernstieg
#6 of 24 in Stralsund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.1 mi away
Schweriner Hof Hotel
Schweriner Hof Hotel
#16 of 24 in Stralsund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Kontorhaus
Hotel Kontorhaus
#5 of 24 in Stralsund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.5 mi away
arcona Hotel Baltic
arcona Hotel Baltic
#7 of 24 in Stralsund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hafenresidenz Stralsund
Hafenresidenz Stralsund
#3 of 24 in Stralsund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altstadt Hotel Zur Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altstadt Hotel Zur Post

Property: Altstadt Hotel Zur Post
Address: Tribseer Str. 22 | Am Neuen Markt, 18439 Stralsund, Mecklenburg-West Pomerania, Germany
Region: Germany > Mecklenburg-West Pomerania > Stralsund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Stralsund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Altstadt Hotel Zur Post 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Altstadt Hotel Zur Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zur Post Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing