We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Center of town hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Altstadt Hotel Zur Post
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Stralsund
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
450 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Center of town hotel”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We drove up and parked across the street form the hotel and paid 2 euros from 5pm until 10am the next day. The hotel is in the center of town and there are lots of restaurants and shops close by. The harbor is about a 10 minute walk with shops , views and restaurants there as well. The room was good sized and clean. They had a mini fridge with drinks and snacks for pay available. The bathroom was large and clean as well. There was no air conditioning but the windows are large and open so you can get a nice breeze to cool the room.. They have a breakfast you can pay for but we did not eat as we left early the next morning. Check-in was easy and the staff was friendly and helpful. This is a nice place to stay and I would recommend a visit. The price was reasonable as well.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    45
    27
    10
    4
See reviews for
14
55
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We stayed for a long weekend of three nights while exploring the German Baltic coast with our teenage daughter. I booked this over the internet via the tourist office website and it all worked very efficiently with confirmation emails arriving quickly. The hotel is in the Aldt Stadt, just off the Niewe Markt square. It is an independent hotel and doesn't look much as you approach it, but it was much better than my initial impression. It is easy walking distance from all the main attractions such as the harbour area, Oceanic museum, Old Market, Rathaus, art centre etc. There are plenty of good cafes, ice cream places and restaurants everywhere and the Post Office is next door. Our rooms were on the third floor (lift was efficient & quick) very comfortable, roomy, wide Austrian twin type bed with two duvets, good bathrooms, and as they were looking out over rear areas there was no noise problem from street life. We were there during a heat wave and the double room got very hot with the sun on it in the afternoon but the windows opened very wide and we had good ventilation, the single room stayed cool. Lovely breakfast buffet, constantly replenished, with a wide choice of all the standards - eggs, bacon, several cold meats, cheese, fruits, salads, yoghurts, cereals but also quite a few less familiar such as a smoked fish sausage and something we decided was probably steak tartare. Good coffee, brought in a thermos pot by the waitresses and a range of teas & juices. It was very busy that weekend and comfortable overspill rooms were used so people weren't crowded. Wide range of items in the mini-bar, prices not as stupid as they often are, eg bottle of beer at 2.5 euros. The hotel has a small quiet Hemingway themed bar downstairs, serving the usual and good cocktails at a reasonable price. We were given tokens when we checked in for 3.5 euros each to use against drinks in the bar. It was very quiet when we went in around 10pm one evening but filled up quickly after that. Prices everywhere were very moderate. Little English is spoken anywhere though one receptionist has good English, but people were helpful and we got by with broken German everywhere. An internet linked laptop was available in the lobby but we didn't use it. The only grumble was that with the hotel being very full, at peak getting up time on Saturday morning I couldn't get hot water in the shower, though husband and daughter didn't have a problem just before me. You can usually park on the market place for free, except market day on Friday but for 8 euros a day you can also park in the hotel's secure underground car park which is more convenient. We only used our car once, to drive out to a beach on Rugen one day. Access to the newer part of town and Rugen bridge was very easy from the hotel car park. The website has a map to show you how to reach the hotel but our sat nav struggled a bit due to narrow & one-way streets, fortunately I could see the hotel & over-ride the sat-nav. I would happily stay in this hotel again when I go back to the area, my favourite of the whole trip for location, breakfast and comfort, and Stralsund has a lot to offer. Three adults, two rooms, three nights, all breakfasts, minibar, parking for 3 days came to just over 500 euros.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skutskar, Sweden
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Suprisingly good hotel in suprisingly nice Stralsund!
Big room, big bathroom (no bathtub). Excellent breakfast and right in the old town.

Parking in garage is 8 euro extra and its not much space to manuevre down there!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndersE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Stayed 2 nights. Room first floor clean and bright overlooking a side street, bathroom good with walk in shower. Booked through the tourist bureau (over the phone), they had not made us a reservation. Found the English speaking member of the bureau when we called in very off hand. Fortunately the hotel had vacancies. It is a “Bett + bike” hotel , there is a secure bike storage room in the underground car park. Hotel provided umbrellas as it was raining.
Would stay there again if we revisit Stralsund.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJulesS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2012

I decided to stay in this hotel, because it was cheap and had a rating of 4 stars. Who can get a double room for 45EUR nowadays! I would definitely come back if I pass that place again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoretaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2011

We stayed for one night at the Hotel Zur Post in Stralsund while we were visiting Rugen. It was a last minute decision, and they gave us a wonderful top floor room (perhaps a bit dated) that was fabulous for our family. The staff were friendly and the hotel faced the neuer markt next to the post office. Lovely location. We were very pleased! The breakfast is also worth it - very good.
One thing I will say is that the only unfortunate thing is the hotel charged us twice for our room and we have been struggling with them a bit to get our money back. This part of Germany it is hard to find people who speak English, so this has been a bit difficult. Would have been 5 stars if not for this hassle!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gvmnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genf
Level Contributor
149 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We stay here for one night and are very statisfied with the Hotel. Good space in the room. The bathroom large, clean, new, just fine. Location is perfect to see the city. Extra Bicyle room in the Garage, which can be reached via the elevator. Price/perfomance is very good.
Entrance and reception somewhat dark but very friendly welcome. Would take it again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hermann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stralsund hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Hiddenseer am Ozeaneum
0.4 mi away
Hotel am Jungfernstieg
Hotel am Jungfernstieg
#7 of 24 in Stralsund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Kontorhaus
Hotel Kontorhaus
#5 of 24 in Stralsund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Scheelehof Stralsund
Hotel Scheelehof Stralsund
#1 of 24 in Stralsund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.5 mi away
arcona Hotel Baltic
arcona Hotel Baltic
#6 of 24 in Stralsund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.1 mi away
Schweriner Hof Hotel
Schweriner Hof Hotel
#16 of 24 in Stralsund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altstadt Hotel Zur Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altstadt Hotel Zur Post

Property: Altstadt Hotel Zur Post
Address: Tribseer Str. 22 | Am Neuen Markt, 18439 Stralsund, Mecklenburg-West Pomerania, Germany
Region: Germany > Mecklenburg-West Pomerania > Stralsund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Stralsund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Altstadt Hotel Zur Post 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Altstadt Hotel Zur Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zur Post Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing