We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Andreas Straddling the Wall Tour is Amazing!”

Friends of Dave Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Friends of Dave Tours is a high quality tour service that provides exciting day tours in Warnemünde to visiting cruise guests. We are very proud of our consistent high ratings and we consider our tour customers our friends. There is nothing better than sharing people's vacations and creating long lasting memories together.
Roswell, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Andreas Straddling the Wall Tour is Amazing!”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Eight of us spent the day with Andreas exploring Warnemunde and Rostock. Instead of taking the cruise ship tour and spending 6 hours on the bus to and from Berlin, we had an amazing day seeing how the people in these two towns live, eating their food, and experiencing how life was in East Germany through Andreas. This is by far the best option in this port, and don't miss it! You won't be disappointed. Many thanks to Andreas!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    340
    16
    6
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
118 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great towns”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Great experience with Dave. You really are treated as "friends" from booking to drop off and beyond. Dave is a well travelled and experienced guide and sent us tips for all our stops on the Baltic cruise.

Dave is a one off - gregarious, lively, camp and energetic with non stop chat. If you don't like the sound of that then do yourself and Dave a favour and don't book. However, you will be missing an excellent & very professional tour guide showing you three great wee towns.

Warnemunde is a charming seaside town with an East German past.

Both Wismar and Schwerin were beautiful. We toured castles, churches, squares, gardens and countryside and learned much about the area and its history. Lots of memorable moments.

Lunch and afternoon tea were laid on and were excellent.

No down side - a really good day out. Book early

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank McArthur3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampstead, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dave is the real deal!”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Like many of you, I wasn't going to sit on a bus for 6 hours and do the panoramic tour of Berlin. We were finally able to join Dave on his Mega Mecklenberg tour (24JUN14) after he rearranged his schedule which then became the touring treat of a lifetime. Talk about energy! Dave will keep you so entertained on his tour that 10 hours will go by in a flash. I have been on literally hundreds of shore excursions in my life and I can honestly say that the experience with Dave was THE best ever. We spent a couple of hours with him after the tour with some other guests at some of his local "beverage" stops and truly left Warnemunde as a Friend of Dave. Many thanks Dave!
Tim and Ellen

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim_W_701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakton, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Straddling the Wall Tour with Andreas-Must Be Booked!”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Andreas personal tour and account of his life in Germany was fascinating. He was the "best guide ever" and was able to entertain and keep the attention of everyone on our tour. We were on the Norwegian Star and 3 other couples were part of our group. I had my 3 kids with me and at every port they asked for Andreas to guide us around. His heartfelt accounts of his life made it a great experience. The tour had a good mixture of walking, viewing and touring. The am stop for coffee/cakes was good and the lunch was perfect, better than I could have imagined. He was waiting for us directly off the ship in Warnemunde, we walked this town, beach stop and took the train to Rostock, he even guided us through obtaining Euros at the local ATM. If you have a cruise stop in Warnemunde Germany, you will kick yourself if you don't take Andreas tour.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank TracyTravel_22124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D Hanis, TX
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best tour of cruise”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Recently returned from nine day Baltic cruise on Norwegian Star. Hands-down the best tour we experienced was that provided by Dave Natale. Dave was such an entertaining host and the organization and accommodations, ie. bus, restaurants, break areas were ideal. We hope to be able to again to travel with him again sometime.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank jdmelton64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Friends of Dave Tours also viewed

 
Warnemunde, Rostock
 

Been to Friends of Dave Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing