We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Full of character” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alter Strom

Alter Strom
Ranked #2 of 47 things to do in Warnemunde
Certificate of Excellence
Wirral UK
Level Contributor
714 reviews
356 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 533 helpful votes
“Full of character”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

Alte Strom means "Old Channel" and is really the central area of the town, even though it is not in the town centre. Near the station and the cruise terminal, it is packed both sides with open restaurants cooking fish and all manor of seafood. Lots of small shops too, but it is not too touristy and is full of Scandinavian character. One of the highlights of the town - a really great area to stroll around. Just a few meters away is the quaint old town area with lots of photogenic wooden houses.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
17 Thank NeilandBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    119
    24
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Falcon, Colorado
Level Contributor
229 reviews
151 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“Watch the Seagulls”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012

This was a stop on our Scandanavian cruise. The purpose was for passengers to take the train the berlin, but since we'd been to Berlin already, we stayed local.

It's very picturesque. Several shops and restaurants along the harbor. Although we didn't buy anything other than ice cream, it was nice to walk along the harbor. However, watch the seagulls. I was buzzed (literally, I felt the wind on my head) about three times for my ice cream, and I watched them take one gentleman's bratwurst right out of his hand as he stood by the harbor eating. Bottom line, guard your food.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank Cory J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norddeutschland
Level Contributor
781 reviews
464 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 597 helpful votes
“Nice and beautiful area, can be very crowded”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012

A very nice area that has stood the test of time. Right at the river you find restaurant after restaurant and a lot of touristy shops just adjacent to the water but do not miss the small roads just one or two blocks back from the water.

Lots of nice architectural details to discover as this was the place where the captains and the pilots of this area settled down.

If possible miss the days when big crusie ship arrve or the weekends in july and august it can get pretty crowded since it is only a small railway drive from Rostock.

P.S. do not miss a fresh catch and a good beer on the outside.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
9 Thank Florian254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stonington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
119 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Walk right up!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

It doesn’t matter if you like fish and chips, it doesn’t even matter if you are hungry…walk right up to the boat along the dock (right across from the shops) and order the most fresh and delicious fish and chips you will ever have.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
9 Thank Trvlng4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
98 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Pretty area to explore in a day visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

We docked at Waremünde with a cruise ship for the day.
It is easy to walk around and explore the pretty buildings/shops along the promenade and enjoy seeing the many boats docked. We walked to a lovely white sandy beach where we saw lots of colourful kites being flown. The day we were there there were lots of food stalls and a great atmosphere.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
15 Thank Blessedgreatly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alter Strom also viewed

 
Rostock, Mecklenburg-West Pomerania
 

Been to Alter Strom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing