We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but awful staff”
Review of Stadthotel Stern

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stadthotel Stern
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Wismar
Certificate of Excellence
Bad Doberan, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but awful staff”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Arrived lat night. Got a room on last floor. All seemed to be nice but found out at night room not cooling down. Changed to a lower floor - much better. Overall not a bad hotel but staff serving breakfast terrible. Don't be late! Breakfast closes at 10.30 a.m. which is fine but if you ask at 10.25 a.m. for some bread or water for tea you'll be told "you know that breakfast buffet closes at 10.30"? It happened to us twice during a 3 nights stay! Bread was never brought. Hot water yes. Staff with attitudes not accepting mistakes.
Good location.

Room Tip: In summer go for a room in 2nd floor in the back of the building. It is more cool, more roomy and mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catsailor61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    28
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
35
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I liked this hotel. I had a bunch of luggage and carrying it to the hotel was exhausting, as I was going on foot (there was a lot of construction on one of the roads they suggest you walk, on the map they provide, so that made it more difficult). But aside from getting to the hotel, it was great. I had come down with a horrible sinus infection the day before and emailed them from my prior city to ask if they could please find me an English-speaking doctor, when I checked in, they explained where I needed to go (about 5 minute walk) and it was all set up. The doctor was great too and I felt so much better by the next day. The hotel is right on a main shopping street with lots of restaurants, there's a big outdoor shopping square nearby. Really pretty old church close too. Breakfast was good, with lots of choices of cereal, yogurt, fruit etc. The room was big, no a/c, but the weather was cool enough at night that leaving the window open was fine. They also leave you a cute little pack of Haribo gummy bears. Not many of the people at the front desk spoke English, so I tried my very-bad-attempt at German, which I love to practice anyway, and they were really nice about it and as helpful as they could be.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katrineholm, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We had a nice and relaxing weekend stay at the hotel suite, which is roomy and reasonably priced. Good facilities, clean and quiet. The location is perfect for exploring the nice town of Wismar on foot - "everything" is near. Will stay again if we come this way.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BBhel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I booked this Hotel from the US for 4 days ,after reading some commends,I choose this Hotel. The Hotel is
Very central located,next to market square and a short distance to the harbor with all the nice restaurants.this hotel is very hard to reach,you have to drive around the city on very very small streets. Parking at the hotel is very limited and the hotel parking lot is usually occupied, so the tell you to park next door on a parking lot for a Department store. I had a brake in and had to call the police.Oh and by the way you will be charged 8 Euros per night for parking.Back to the room,the room is spacious,however I expect some standards for a 4+ star hotel. I had to ask for extra towels,one very small bottle of body lotion for two people , no coffee maker in the room and the two single beds are very small,how ever the Matrices and covers are very good. Visibility from the window is unique,the next house is about 8 yards away and you see what your neighbor is having for dinner. Overall this hotel is not really a 4 Star compare to Hotels I have been in. The Staff is very nice and helpful. The rooms are clean and the linen have been changed after the second day. Breakfast is a buffet, which is very nice and good.by the way no A/C.

Room Tip: Look around,there are many options for a good price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gfrisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Couple and a single friend stayed here one night on touring holiday. Would have gladly stayed longer in both town and hotel!
Friendly staff. A helpful receptionist came out to the car to help us with the slightly awkward route to the hotel car park at the rear - I would recommend getting the information in advance!
Our rooms were spacious and comfortable, well equipped, with good bathrooms, and the hotel has a traditional restaurant which was reasonable if not outstanding.
Nice breakfast choices including home-cured salmon.
Note that there is no airconditioning so you may want windows open throughout in the summer, which means some passer-by noise for rooms overlooking the main street and early church bells - very atmospheric! Ask for a quiet room at the side if this is likely to be a problem. Very good location, very handy for key sights in a lovely town.
We didn't take advantage of the spa facilities/treatments, some of which were freely available.

Room Tip: Rooms in the spa/treatment block are quieter than those overlooking the main street, though we didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roobee55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We had room #215, quiet and large enough, with two separate beds, flat screen TV, bathroom with shower only and sufficient toiletries. The quality of the breakfast was a pleasant surprise:
eggs or omelette to order, miscellaneous smoked fish, cold cuts and sausages, several cheese and fresh fruit. The service was friendly and efficient. The dining room is nothing special, very simple furnishing. For a drink we went to an Irish Pub just across the street. Dinner is not on a par with breakfast. No fresh fish, frozen only. We ordered steak, nothing to rave about. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hans-Joachim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wismar hotels
0.2 mi away
Steigenberger Hotel Stadt Hamburg
0.7 mi away
Wonnemar Resort-Hotel
Wonnemar Resort-Hotel
#2 of 16 in Wismar
21 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel am Alten Hafen
Hotel am Alten Hafen
#3 of 16 in Wismar
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Schwedenhaus Wismar
0.1 mi away
City Partner Hotel Alter Speicher
0.2 mi away
Fruendts Hotel
Fruendts Hotel
#6 of 16 in Wismar
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stadthotel Stern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stadthotel Stern

Property: Stadthotel Stern
Address: Luebsche Str. 9, 23966 Wismar, Mecklenburg-West Pomerania, Germany
Region: Germany > Mecklenburg-West Pomerania > Wismar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Wismar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Stadthotel Stern 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Stadthotel Stern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing