We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic building renovated to hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
City Partner Hotel Alter Speicher
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Wismar
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Hotel has a good location on a small peaceful street close to the harbour and the center of the small city. If planning to book a room please request not the smallest room size altho the price will be somewhat higher. My room was very small. Also don't book it thru their website as you can find better deals on other sites or thru travel agencies. These deals, however require you to have breakfast and dinner in the hotel. Hotel serves very good buffet breakfast and three or four corse dinner. Use of internet is free only 30 min per day! In a four star hotels it should be free. The frendliest staff in the hotel works in the restaurant. If on holiday two days are enough to see the city and it's few sights.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holligong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
There are newer reviews for City Partner Hotel Alter Speicher
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2013 via mobile

Stay here during business May 2013.
Hotel is very basis with no air conditioning.
I founn my room to be quite small & too warm.
The staff were pleasant.
The location was not great, but as we were only staying 1 night this didnt preseny a real problem

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellon94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in December 2012. The room we had was very comfortable, clean and there was more than enough room in a comfort double room. The hotel is very traditional inside and the staff were friendly and helpful plus it was also in a very convenient location, although Wismar is a small city.
The restaurant attached to the hotel were more than willing to cater for me as I'm a vegetarian. They had two options available which were quite adequate (although I do prefer my root vegetables more caramelised). My other half enjoyed his food also. Bear in mind that the portion sizes for the meals are large and we both struggled to eat everything on our plates. When we were there the restaurant was busy so it might be easier to make a reservation beforehand.
The only negatives are that I would have liked croissants available at breakfast and although I think you can ask for them it would be more convenient to have 2 pillows per person in the rooms.

Room Tip: Book a comfort room as they are bigger. You can also book rooms that are specifically non-smoking or...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penny72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

A nice hotel with a cozy atmosphere. Nothing fancy, but very central and a friendly staff. The restaurant was not special, and the rooms where small but clean.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DadToThree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2006

Alter Speicher is one of the few hotels in Wismar. Unfortunately, we arrived here Saturday evening. Everything is closed on Sunday and somethings on Monday as well. We needed a market and all markets were closed until Monday. Oh well. The hotel is not fancy. The rooms are very small and sort of along the lines of a Best Western in America. Still the hotel has a certain charm, I think it extends from the exceedingly friendly staff at this hotel. They seemed happy to see us. On Saturday night at 10pm the church bells seemed to be non-stop ringing. We inquired at the desk and was told that there was a special Organ concert and the bells announced the start. What a treat. On Sunday we ate at their breakfast buffet for 9 euro. It was packed as there are few other places to eat on Sunday morning. Really yummy with the most delicious jelly! We enjoyed the quiet nature of Wismar and this small hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank tikimonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: der er elevator mellem etagerne, men bagagen skal udefra bæres op af 3-4 trin, når man kommer ind fr...
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stig F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Fru_G_61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alterspeicher, Inhaber at City Partner Hotel Alter Speicher, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wismar hotels
0.2 mi away
Steigenberger Hotel Stadt Hamburg
0.8 mi away
Wonnemar Resort-Hotel
Wonnemar Resort-Hotel
#3 of 17 in Wismar
25 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel am Alten Hafen
Hotel am Alten Hafen
#5 of 17 in Wismar
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stadthotel Stern
Stadthotel Stern
#2 of 17 in Wismar
72 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Schwedenhaus Wismar
3.3 mi away
Hotel & Restaurant Mecklenburger Muehle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Partner Hotel Alter Speicher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Partner Hotel Alter Speicher

Address: Bohrstr. 12a, 23966 Wismar, Mecklenburg-West Pomerania, Germany
Region: Germany > Mecklenburg-West Pomerania > Wismar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Wismar
Price Range: £95 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — City Partner Hotel Alter Speicher 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your City Partner Hotel Alter Speicher reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing