We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Leonardo Hotel Aachen
Ranked #6 of 41 Hotels in Aachen
Lingen, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Not bad”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

I stayed here with my mom and cousin for one night to visit the Christmas markets in Aachen. While it's a bit outside the city, there's a bus that takes you to the city centre, which was very convenient (if traveling with 3-5 people, ask for the weekend pass).

The hotel is fine - very clean and comfortable. We had an extra duvet on one of the beds since they knew we were traveling with 3 people - a nice touch. It is a typical business hotel where you have to pay for everything (breakfast, parking, wifi). That said, the breakfast was pretty good and plentiful (but make sure to book when you arrive as it's 10 Euros instead of the 18 Euros you have to pay if you decide on breakfast the morning of). Sometimes they're a bit slow with refills when stuff goes empty, but we were also there on a very busy weekend.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salsera713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    132
    70
    20
    4
See reviews for
42
94
10
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pyramids
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I was there for a week with a big group attending a conference. We booked there because we were unable to find a large number of rooms in the same hotel during Christmas Market.

The rooms and bathrooms are spacious. The bathrooms are completely without any amenities and basic. The mini fridge in all the rooms are not working. The breakfast is quite good, and you can ask for fried eggs or an omelet. If you join their membership rewards, they will give you the wifi free, and that what we all did and enjoyed internet access during our visit.

The staff are helpful, although the housekeeping staff need to be trained. One day we returned at 4 pm and they had not yet cleaned our rooms. They also left some plates and glasses without removing them outside my room for 2 days.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank khadigagaafar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

The main reason for choosing this hotel was on account of an Internet offer. For a large 'chain' hotel, it was very comfortable - with a large, clean, spacious king-size bed and the facilities one would expect from a 4 star hotel (with the exception of the 'mini bar' fridge not working!).

Chief problem is the location. It is situated some way from the city centre, on a main road leading to the motorway. This does not make it so suitable for guests without a car.

I had paid 10 euro for a pre-booked breakfast. At the hotel, it costs 18 euro which I consider to be very expensive (although champagne is included, if desired). Wi-Fi use is not free and also, at 5 euro an hour, very expensive too.

I was surprised to find that since this year's total ban on smoking in bars etc. in North Rhine Westphalia, the hotel does have floors with smoking rooms. As a non-smoker, this did not affect me at all, it has to be said. Just a reminder, if you are adverse to cigarette smoke, ensure you specify a non-smoking floor...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKMALETRAVELLER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

stayed here on my way to Antwerp with my family. Hotel reception was modern however the elevators were old. The bathroom was ok however, DIRTY! there was hair on the bathroom towels and the pillows were hard to sleep on. I do not recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: No good rooms here
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Orchidazzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Rooms comfortable. Stayed 2 nights; at breakfast both days they ran out of orange juice. Fortunately, our rate incl. breakfast. We would have been very disgruntled if we paid separately for this (10 Euros).

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here last year whilst under hilton and must say was well organised. Disappointed that parking is now chargeable, but in fairness once pointed out that it does not say on agoda money was refunded. Hotel was busy for a satcand quite noisy also restaurant was closed. Staff very friendly but management need to clean up there act if they want to keep returning customers

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank demoman123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

It has good rooms (average quality for the category), breakfast is nothing special, the receptionists are polite but not so helpful. Nowadays free WiFi (at least in the reception) should be a must.
Not recommended if you don't have a car.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank salent81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aachen hotels
1.4 mi away
INNSIDE by Melia Aachen
1.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Aachen City
1.1 mi away
Mercure Aachen Europaplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Novotel Aachen City
Novotel Aachen City
#2 of 41 in Aachen
888 reviews
2.6 mi away
Art Hotel Aachen Superior
1.7 mi away
Mercure Hotel Aachen am Dom
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Hotel Aachen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Aachen

Property: Leonardo Hotel Aachen
Address: Krefelder Str. 221, 52070 Aachen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Aachen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Aachen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Hotel Aachen 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Aachen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Aachen
Aachen Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing