We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another terrible hotel in Aachen”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Regence
Ranked #21 of 41 Hotels in Aachen
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here last night and couldn't wait to get out. We had booked for 2 night but when I saw the room I had to leave but the first night was already charged so left the next day.
The receptionists were really nice but this hotel is so old. I would only recommend you to stay here if you want to go back in life to the 60's. I the bathroom was old and had a very bad smell and the water wouldn't go down in the sink. The room was square but they had a bed in the middle of the room, the beds with radios that I remember my grandma had when I was young! The room is smelly and is unbelievably disgusting. I would recommend this place to anyone unless as I mentioned before, you missed the 60's. Forgot to mention, the room rate was so much higher than expected for what we got in return. We didn't try the breakfast so I cannot comment about that.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Orchidazzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

The hotel has a very good location next to the central bus station, and a few minutes on foot to the Rathaus. Rooms are clean, not very spacious though, what you expect from a centrally located business hotel. Rooms with a view on the street are noisy. The staff is nice and helpful.
Buffet breakfast is quite good. Cold cuts, smoked salmon, eggs (scrambled and hard-boiled), various types of cheese, cereals, bread, jam, fresh fruits. Coffee, tea, milk, juice (you can juice oranges for yourself).

Room Tip: Rooms with a view on the street are noisy. Even on higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

This is a typical Best Western hotel. The rooms are ok but nothing to write home about. The location was good. We did not try the breakfast so I can't comment on it. There is no private parking but you can find free parking in the residential streets nearby. The walk to Aachen Cathedral is about 10-15 min.
The restaurant called One and Only, located only 2 doors down, is fantastic. We arrived late that evening and did not want to walk far for dinner. We were very happy with the restaurant. The portions are large and the food was excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexandriaGirl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I have stayed in this hotel many times before and finally I am writing a review for this.

Room size is small (typical of European hotel) but they are clean and functional.

The hotel is located next to Aachen main bus station, very convenient if you need to take public buses.

It is located in the main street in Aachen where shopping and restaurants are within few minutes walk.

Breakfast is good, fresh orange juice is available.

Check in and check out was fast.

I been staying in this hotel (many other hotels in Aachen) and I do recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hwt61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Booked in at the last minute asking for a family room. Received two inter leading rooms fully equipped with toiletries, TV's, bar fridges, windows that actually open!! and separate en suite's. This hotel was really quite wonderful - walking distance to loads of restaurants and shops. Breakfast the following morning was faultless. Wonderful continental breakfast with a large selection of breads/meats/cheese - fresh juice and good old English tea! Highly recommend this hotel - receptionists were very helpful. parking for vehicle just around the corner - no cost.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travllingkochs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Location is very good of BW hotel,right in the centre of Aachen City In the middle a minuted or so walk away from the Dom and many pubs shops and restaurants, slightly noisy at night... this is the mid of town but rooms are very small not look like 4 star hotel.... Hotel is not value for money......but hotel staff is very helpful and polite.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HareshChanchal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Great hotel ,right in the centre of Aachen City
In the middle a minuted or so walk away from the Dom(catherdral) and many pubs shops and restaurants .
The rooms are clean, and easy to get to via an elevator ....
The Breakfast is buffet with many lovely foods to chose from .
There is also a japanese restaurant located inside the hotel offering many lovely dishes
Also there is always a friendly face at reception .. always wishing to help with no problem with anything ..that's Saskia and Daniela .....
If you want the best deal book by tripadvisor.co.uk , I did and I got £5 off per day (£15 from the 3 I stayed ).....
Although there are many nice hotels to stay in the city
This one in my view is my favourite .....
..

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Staggz64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aachen hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royal
0.0 mi away
Novotel Aachen City
Novotel Aachen City
#2 of 41 in Aachen
902 reviews
0.0 mi away
City Appartements Regence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercure Hotel Aachen am Dom
0.2 mi away
INNSIDE by Melia Aachen
0.0 mi away
ibis budget Aachen City
ibis budget Aachen City
#13 of 41 in Aachen
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Regence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Regence

Address: Peterstr. 71, 52062 Aachen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Regence)
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Aachen
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Aachen
Price Range: £71 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel Regence 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Hotel Regence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Aachen
Aachen Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing