We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel ibis Aachen Hauptbahnhof
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in Aachen
A TripAdvisor Member
“Good value and location!”
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Can recommend this hotel, short walk to town centre and train station and rooms are small but very clean. The only downside was that it is on a fairly busy road so sleeping with the window open was not an option (it was a hot week so that would have been nice). The rooms have aircon though, although on the highest setting this too was a bit too loud to have on during the night. Still, with the windows closed it was absolutely fine and good value for money. Didn't try the breakfast though, the price for the buffet seemed a bit steep and there are lots of other places in town that do breakfast, also a few bakeries nearby selling all sorts of nice snacks.
The location is great and definitely makes it worth not being able to sleep with an open window :)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    268
    168
    41
    16
See reviews for
85
219
84
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 28 July 2011

This is a good hotel - BUT... We also stayed in Liege and Bremen this summer - both those places, we had a bed for our child. They did not have that in Aachen (they said I should have booked another roomtype - but I did as always). Not good!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dereham, Norfolk
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

The booking procedure via the web was easy, reception v good, room first class and an excellent variety at breakfast. Good position for visiting the Eiffel as well as Aachen itself. Avoid when the horse events are on as the price rises astronomically!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverley127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clemson, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
315 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

At $78, the cheapest place of 4 hotels and 2 B&Bs that we stayed in Europe. Small but adequate, relatively modern room and bath. Beds comfy, expect a duvet, no top sheet, & no wash cloth in the bath. Free WiFi in the reception area or pay WiFi in the room, but we found the free WiFi available in our room with a weak but usable signal. Nice bar and restaurant but breakfast is overpriced. Within walking distance (about 7 or 8 blocks) of city center and the cathedral, etc. Reception staff very helpful. Parking in the hotel garage is 6 Euro per day, about the best option if you are traveling by car.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NationalParkHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

The hotel is close to the train station , 5 minute walk. Its about 10 minute walk to the centre of Aachen. So location is quite handy.
On one of my three nights the room wasn't cleaned which was unfortunate but hardly 'end of the world' stuff. IBIS staff were really sorry about it and it was their contractors fault.
Across the street is a Turkish kebap place that sells "Raki" for 1 Euro a glass. Never seen that before and I made use of that facility!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolas_JK_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aachen hotels
0.7 mi away
Ibis Styles Aachen City
0.4 mi away
Ibis Aachen Marschiertor
0.6 mi away
ibis budget Aachen City
ibis budget Aachen City
#11 of 41 in Aachen
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Novotel Aachen City
Novotel Aachen City
#2 of 41 in Aachen
881 reviews
0.8 mi away
INNSIDE by Melia Aachen
0.5 mi away
Mercure Hotel Aachen am Dom
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis Aachen Hauptbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis Aachen Hauptbahnhof

Property: Hotel ibis Aachen Hauptbahnhof
Address: Zollernstr. 2, 52070 Aachen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Aachen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in Aachen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis Aachen Hauptbahnhof 2*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel ibis Aachen Hauptbahnhof is located in the city centre, close to the railway station and 2 km from the Eurogress Convention Centre. Close to the Stadttheater Aachen, it has 128 modern airconditioned rooms with telephone, automatic alarm clock andcable TV, private undercover pay parking, a bar serving snacks 24 hours and 5 seminar rooms. Business travellers will appreciate WiFi broadband Internet access. Golf and tennis 5 km from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel ibis Aachen Hauptbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Accor Aachen Normaluhr

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing