We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Located”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel ibis Aachen Hauptbahnhof
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Aachen
Reviewed 5 December 2010

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (582)
There are newer reviews for Hotel ibis Aachen Hauptbahnhof
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 582 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2010

Five minutes' walk from Aachen's principal railway station; comfortable beds; friendly staff; a tasty breakfast buffet; and bathrooms designed for midgets. I'm neither tall nor fat -- but when I sat on the toilet my knees almost touched the wall in front of me. When I stepped out of the shower cubicle and lifted my arms to towel my hair my elbows knocked against the walls. Such a shame! Everything else was so pleasant... but on my next visit to Aachen, if I can find somewhere else to stay, I'll not be returning to the Normaluhr IBIS. Mind you, this is the first time I've had a problem in any IBIS establishment -- but it makes me mistrust the chain now. Would I recommend this hotel to a friend? Erm, only to a very short and skinny one.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Koermendi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
gebze
1
Reviewed 3 November 2010

Carpets at the front desk are very dirty. Very old decoration in the reception house. There were internal building maintanance facility just in fromt of the elevators. It was diry and nosiy.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2010

This hotel is currently being refurbished. There is no air con/heating making the night I stayed very cold indeed. The rooms stunk of fresh paint and the shower didn't work properly.
The painters where working whist you had your breakfast.
Very poor for the Ibis chain.
I felt sorry for the staff because they helped as much as they can.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank palmer72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

Since this hotel is near the center of the city (15-minute walk to the Cathedral), it is in a high-traffic area. Other than the street noise, it is a basic ** hotel with a great breakfast, secure parking for a fee, and nice service. We enjoyed the comfortable beds.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lramsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2010

Stayed at the Ibis Normaluhr for a night because I didn't want to sleep on a couch in a student's bachelor pat. The room was clean and quiet, even though it's directly at a main road. It's a budget chain, so don't expect any fancy stuff. They've got a really strange and old key-system for the door, more like a punch card from a historic computer.

If you arrive by car, park it at Oppenhofallee which is only a few meters away. Parking there is free, if you're able to get a parking space.

The hotel is located OK for Aachen, just a few minutes walk to the Dom and city hall.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmilitzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2010

It was very very basic. Very Small room, even for EU. Furnishings and decor of entire hotel and rooms rather tired and worn looking. Could have wished the air conditioning had worked better, as leaving a window open wasn't an option due to the location of the room. Not a place you'd stay for more than a night or two at the most and while spending most of your time out of the room. Very budget. Also, I'm usually careful to book a hotel with at least a minibar (for the fridge), but while I thought I had done that (from the description of the room on the booking site), there was not fridge. That said, it was clean and the location was excellent for arriving by car, although the on-side parking was quite tight and we were very glad we'd rented the smaller car (a Golf). The staff was bright, friendly and attentive, speaking excellent English and able to give good information about the surrounding area. There was a lift for getting luggage & people up and down (something you appreciate if you've ever had to schlepp all your luggage up and down flights of stairs.) Room on first floor was fairly quiet (we could hear the pigeons cooing on the ledge outside.) Non-smoking room did not smell of old smoke, either, which was nice.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mongrelmuppet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aachen hotels
0.7 mi away
Ibis Styles Aachen City
0.4 mi away
Ibis Aachen Marschiertor
1.0 mi away
Mercure Aachen Europaplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
ibis budget Aachen City
ibis budget Aachen City
#12 of 41 in Aachen
369 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Aachen City
Novotel Aachen City
#2 of 41 in Aachen
898 reviews
0.8 mi away
INNSIDE by Melia Aachen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis Aachen Hauptbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis Aachen Hauptbahnhof

Address: Zollernstr. 2, 52070 Aachen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Aachen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Aachen
Price Range: £46 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis Aachen Hauptbahnhof 2*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel ibis Aachen Hauptbahnhof is located in the city centre, close to the railway station and 2 km from the Eurogress Convention Centre. Close to the Stadttheater Aachen, it has 128 modern airconditioned rooms with telephone, automatic alarm clock andcable TV, private undercover pay parking, a bar serving snacks 24 hours and 5 seminar rooms. Business travellers will appreciate WiFi broadband Internet access. Golf and tennis 5 km from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel ibis Aachen Hauptbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Accor Aachen Normaluhr

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing