We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Aachen Europaplatz
Ranked #10 of 41 Hotels in Aachen
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We selected this hotel because of its convenient location by the Autobahn entrance at Europlatz. It is located down a small, residential street off the Europlatz but was easy to find. The parking lot is gated, spaces were plentiful, but it is paid parking. We paid for the upgraded room which included a fruit plate on arrival, free parking, breakfast included, robes, and slippers. All the rooms appeared to be the same size (from looking at the fire escape map). There is no air conditioning but the window does open either fully or with the partial top opening. Heat is likely an issue if you're there during the summer. We just opened the window which was fine until about 5 AM when the birds started to do their singing. Breakfast was very extensive and delicious. The front desk staff spoke fluent English and we found them to be very helpful and friendly. With the breakfast staff it is helpful to speak some German.

Room Tip: We had room 418 which was on the top floor, about half way down the hall from the elevator, facing n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2CAtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (440)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 440 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2013

Was in this hotel on a business trip for one night. Relatively hard to find as it is "hidden" in a lateral alley, Google maps help. The rooms are clean and neat, but they show the signs of age. The area is quite quiet and the distance to the city center is about 20-25 minutes brisk walk. Breakfast was very good, with quite some choices of cheese and pastries, along with the usual eggs, bacon, etc...Breakfast alone is more expensive than the "business package" that includes WLAN as well.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Serban S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

I had booked an upgraded room and prepaid for breakfast and parking.
There was no upgraded room available, instead I also was supposed to pay for parking, which was taken off the bill immediately, when I mentioned it.
No bathrobe and no Slippers where in the room, also it said this in the reservation.

Overall it was poor Management.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank hotelstay_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

it is hard to find this hotel even with the sat nav putting you within 25 metres of the hotel which is in a small road and a entrance to the large car park. when you find the hotel parking is easy. booking in and out were easy. The room was fine but a little basic. the hotel is let down by the bar staff who are serving food in the restaurant. it took over 15 minutes to get a drink. the bar staff are smiling but do not want to serve you. the atmosphere in the bar was none existent. I met a guy from South Africa outside and us two smokers agreed the hotel was lacking in customer care. we mentioned this in the morning during booking out. the breakfast is strangely priced. if you bought the breakfast it cost 17 Euro but the business package includes breakfast and wifi is 15 Euro, strange. the breakfast was superb.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brianwNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

I stayed one night in this hotel so I didn't really get a feel of Aachen overall, but I felt that this hotel was off the beaten path and there was not much in the area. Of course, that could also mean that the hotel was quieter than others. The rooms were nice and I loved the windows, which could open inward or tilt in from the top. The breakfast buffet was extremely nice with several offerings and the dinner buffet offered several dishes, although I would not say that it was well-rounded.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bfitworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

The Mercure is a modern hotel with friendly service, comfortable rooms and an excellent breakfast choice. I heartily recommend this hotel and would have no hesitation in going back again. The hotel was quiet despite being located on one of the main, inner city, thoroughfares.

The lift to the 6th floor was quick and efficient, the room was totally adequate for all my needs. The food at breakfast was very good. What more could we ask for?

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We just spent the weekend at this hotel. We saw a nice package online one day before leaving (including breakfast/parking and entrance to the Carolus Thermen which is amazing by the way!!) so we went ahead and booked it.
It wasn't bad value but some things in this hotel don't go the way they should...
Rooms : Very decent (didn't expect too much for a 3* hotel). Hard beds, lousy pillows (as usual in Germany so we took our own :-)) 2 separate duvets on a double bed (we don't like this but it's also very German). Bed was on the small side. Room decor was ok, recently renovated. Bathroom and rest of the room was clean.
Hotel : Ugly on the outside, a typical 'prefab roadside hotel' but that's ok as the inside has been nicely renovated and looking quiet contemporary. Desk staff was ok, not overly friendly but ok.
Parking is usually 5€ per day but it was included in our package and it's nice to have the facility so close to the city centre. The hotel is located just over 1 km from the city centre and it was very walkable. Wifi is not free and I find that unacceptable these days (make it at least free in the lobby!!).
One of the reasons we like to spend the weekend in a hotel is the breakfast. We always try to wake up in time and take some magazines to be able to enjoy our sunday morning breakfast together. The breakfast was served untill 11am on sundays. When we came down at 9:05am (!!!) there were literrally NO more bread rolls, NO more croissants and NO more bacon available!!
When I asked one of the quys clearing the tables if this was going to be refilled he just looked at me like I was asking the impossible. We decided to wait...and wait...and wait...not a relaxing start on a sunday morning feeling hungry. Around 9:30am the cook apeared from somewhere and decided to start refilling everything. But most of the bread rolls that came out of the kitchen were all dark brown (too long in the oven) and the bacon that came was literraly black and dried out completely (something must have gone seriously wrong in that kitchen !!) Lots of people were walking around being irritated by the lousy breakfast service. Another 15 minutes later they also refilled the croissants (these were ok). This was for sure the worst breakfast service we experienced in any hotel anywhere we have been (and that's a lot of hotels!!) and it really spoiled our stay and wouldn't let us return to this hotel ever again.
If we spend a weekend in Aachen again we will go elsewhere...

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delectatio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aachen hotels
1 mi away
Mercure Hotel Aachen am Dom
0.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Aachen City
0.8 mi away
Novotel Aachen City
Novotel Aachen City
#2 of 41 in Aachen
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
INNSIDE by Melia Aachen
1 mi away
Hotel ibis Aachen Hauptbahnhof
1.5 mi away
Art Hotel Aachen Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Aachen Europaplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Aachen Europaplatz

Address: Joseph-von-Goerres-Str. 21, 52068 Aachen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Aachen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Aachen
#7 Business Hotel in Aachen
Price Range: £50 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Aachen Europaplatz 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This air conditioned 3 star hotel has been completely renovated and enjoys a quiet location close to the cathedral, town hall, old town centre, casino, thermal baths and convention centre. Good access to buses, trains and highways. All rooms offer TV, safe, radio, pay TV, Internet and WLAN, minibar and bathtub. Our air conditioned hotel offers restaurant, bar and garden terrace with an outdoor pool and modern meeting rooms for 250 people. 2 children up to 16 years of age stay for free in parent's room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mercure Hotel Aachen Europaplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Aachen
Accor Aachen Europaplatz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing