We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Standard large chain hotel. A little too busy at breakfast times” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Aachen Europaplatz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mercure Aachen Europaplatz
Ranked #10 of 41 Hotels in Aachen
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Standard large chain hotel. A little too busy at breakfast times”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

I was allocated a premium collection room on arrival which was nice and comfortable. Although the German habit of only giving single size duvets is slightly annoying but not unexpected at any German hotel. Also only 1 pillow on the bed meant hunting through cupboards to find an extra pillow which was in the room.

Car park on site was usually fairly fine for finding a parking space although the check in staff had neglected to mention that if you didnt scan your parking ticket on both exit and entry (instead I was grabbing a new ticket on returning) the parking ticket wouldnt open the exit gate.

Other issues was the very temperamental door unlock smartcard system that took a minute or more each time I wanted to open my hotel room door.

Breakfast was a nice buffet selection although my main complaint was with this being a conference hotel breakfast could be really busy if you got the 7:30 to 8:00 peak time with a shortage of tables. Food was good though.

Also checkout what a pain always a queue of 10 people waiting to check out in the mornings with only 2 people on the reception desk. so thought I'd be cunning and check out the night before only to forget the €17 breakfast charge that would be applied the following day meaning I still had to queue to pay this final bill.

Free wifi was adequate if a little slow at times but didnt try the paid for faster wifi.

Also tassimo machine in the room for making fresh brew coffee was welcome addition.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JustinBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    197
    83
    19
    6
See reviews for
50
148
26
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

This hotel is easy to find from the A4 motorway, It is just off the large Europlatz roundabout which has a very impressive water fountain in the middle of it. However this is NOT the centre of Aachen which is a good twenty minute walk away and not through a particularly pleasant neighbourhood. A bit down at heel would be my description of the general area and the entrance to the hotel continues this theme with its car park surrounded by building site type security fencing and barrier controls which suggested that you leave items in your car overnight at your peril. This was then confirmed by a notice at the front door advising such! The interior of the building though is quite pleasant and fresh and appears to have a fairly recent makeover to its public areas generally. The Receptionist was pleasant and we were soon making our way to our "privilege" room which on seeing into other normal rooms appeared to pretty much identical in terms of size so not quite sure what you are paying the extra for other than bathrobes and a few soft drinks and two beers in the free mini bar. However despite having booked a double room through Accors website (which is fairly clumsy in my opinion and had no method of adding in the breakfast business package that was on offer in normal rooms ) the room was clearly set out for a single occupancy - mini bar one of each item not two, only two thin pillows, no spares, only two bath towels no spares (our privilege room in another Mercure in Erfurt had good extra space and double sets of towels and pillows etc.). Asked reception about this and they had extra pillows and mini bar iitems sent up but no more towels and no apology either. Also had to request the internet codes for the service back at reception which is meant to be free in the privilege rooms. However the room did face the rear and was quiet and on the top floor overlooking the rear swimming pool area (closed for the winter in early October). On going down to have dinner early at 18:45 the restaurant was reasonably busy but with only one waitress on duty and also covering the bar as well it was terribly understaffed when clearly the hotel was pretty full that evening and given the trek involved in eating elsewhere obviously most guests use the hotel restaurant. We were however sat down after a few minutes wait for her to appear back from the kitchen. A group of four who appeared a few minutes after us were told they would have to wait in the bar as she was obviously struggling to cope. We got our order in luckily so managed to get a drink and our food ordered before the bigger rush arrived but were not offered the much publicised 40th anniversary Mercure menu and one of the "Grande Verre Mercure" heavily promoted wines was also out of stock. Not a great start. The rest of the normal menu was however fine so one of us had the set menu and the other went a la carte and there was then a ten minute wait for the starter . However after that things were clearly going seriously wrong and quite few new guests were sitting waiting just to have their orders taken and were looking pretty despondent. Our main course then took an absolute age to appear, another glass of wine order also took forever. By about 19:30 reinforcements in the form of the maitre d' arrived after having been seen in the distance delivering some room service orders but the restaurant was just getting busier and busier. Tying to order a dessert took another age and trying to pay the bill even longer. So all in all we were in the restaurant for some two hours despite arriving pretty early and we would have expected to exit in little over an hour in similar circumstances elsewhere. The bill was then incorrect and overcharged some 18 euros as the set menu had been charged a la carte. Went to reception to speak to the duty manager (who turned out to be one of the receptionists) who instead of investigating and sorting the problem just called the maitre d' over away from his very busy restaurant and made him deal with the complaint! He corrected the errors and offered a 15% reduction which was fair enough but shame we had to complain in the first place when clearly the management should have ensured the restaurant and bar were properly staffed for such a busy night. Having said all the above the food was actually excellent, the meal was just spoiled by very slow service (The restaurant staff themselves were also very pleasant so not their fault in my opinion). Breakfast the following morning was fine but again a bit chaotic from a service point of view.

Room Tip: Rear facing rooms on the 4th floor are quiet and have a nicer view over the pool area and gardens. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GastroInn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
92 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

The hotel is a bit outside the city center in a not so nice neighborhood. But well reachable by car and bus. As such I wouldn't recommend it, if you are planning to do lots of sight seeing in aachen or don't have the budget for the taxi to the nice restaurants in the city.

The rooms itself are clean and modern but lack the decoration of other business hotels. You can clearly see that they are focused on the efficiency needed to handle large bus groups and you shouldn't be surprised to see a bus or two outside the hotel. The rooms where always properly cleaned and stocked with tea and coffee. There, however, is no minibar but only some coin wending machine, which is unhandy if you live of a credit card and only have larger cash.

The selection of dishes for breakfast is huge but doesn't include anything special. The quality also varies by cook and number of guests at breakfast. Be sure to be before or after the big groups as the number of tables is to sparse for such a large hotel. Complains about it are normally brushed away in a slightly cold, even for Germans, manner.

All in all pretty average and a good value for a business trip.

Room Tip: If you are a non smoker, ask for a non smoker floor else you'll get into a smoker room. Book the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KeK10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

The hotel seems very good. Room is nice and the amenities are good, but I have reservations about the bar staff. They like to close the bar and restaurant very early and have offered me the room service menu 1 hour before the restaurant closes. I stay in Aachen a lot and would think twice about staying here again. Not the best but expensive.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Ok, so this hotel is very nice and clean but breakfast is quite expensive! And it is a 40 minutes walk from the main train station. Also another 20 minutes walk from the old city. I would recommend something nearer to the station.
Also the neighbourhood is not very nice but nothing happened to us (but we walked a little bit with fear).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucila_guerrero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for two nights on the 1st & 2nd of September, check in very prompt with no fuss, our double room was modern very clean and had plenty of room. We had a fridge, tea & coffee and a well appointed bathroom. Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice with cereal, cheese & meats and a hot selection of food. The hotel is a good twenty minute walk in to the centre of town and is well worth a visit, we ate just off the square and the prices paid for both food and drink was reasonable. I had read in a previous review about the walk in to town not being / feeling very safe, there are people walking about and hanging around in doorways drinking, but I never felt intimidated or frightened while walking back and for the hotel, a taxi from town to the hotel was €7:50.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank stevelewis430101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Very nice stay in Aachen, the hotel is pleasant, comfortable, clean, etc.
The weather was not good enough to benefit from the pool unfortunately.
Having the check-out at noon is an appreciated plus, we could take the time to wake up smoothly, have a nice breakfast and go back to the room to rest before packing.
The location is a little bit far from the city centre, especially walking back after the dinner downtown. Next time we take a Taxi.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank id921021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aachen hotels
0.8 mi away
Novotel Aachen City
Novotel Aachen City
#1 of 41 in Aachen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mercure Hotel Aachen am Dom
0.8 mi away
Pullman Aachen Quellenhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
INNSIDE  Aachen
INNSIDE Aachen
#2 of 41 in Aachen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
1.5 mi away
Art Hotel Aachen Superior
0.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Aachen City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Aachen Europaplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Aachen Europaplatz

Property: Mercure Aachen Europaplatz
Address: Joseph-von-Goerres-Str. 21, 52068 Aachen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Aachen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Aachen
#8 Luxury Hotel in Aachen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Aachen Europaplatz 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This airconditioned 3 star hotel has been completely renovated and enjoys a quiet location close to the cathedral, town hall, old town centre, casino, thermal baths and convention centre. Good access to buses, trains and highways. All rooms offer TV, safe, radio, pay TV, Internet and WLAN, minibar and bathtub. Our airconditioned hotel offers restaurant, bar and garden terrace with an outdoor pool and modern meeting rooms for 250 people. 2 children up to 16 years of age stay for free in parents room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotel.de, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mercure Aachen Europaplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Aachen
Accor Aachen Europaplatz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing