We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Pullman Aachen Quellenhof
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Aachen
Certificate of Excellence
Etterbeek
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We wanted to have a end of week stay in Aachen to visit the city and go to the thermes. We arrived at the hotel around 7 and must say that we did not feel really welcome... No information was given, we just received the keys (room 335) and handed the voucher for the complimentary drink (A-club status). We arrived in the room, the walls were covered with stains and the wallpaper was torn in many places. The bathroom was clean. The warming system was noisy and woke me up many times during the night. Then first breakfast... We were welcomed by a prison guard not really gentle. Her only concern was the room number... We had to seat on a dirty table and it took about 10 minutes for the staff chatting in the kitchen (and after I asked to the cook if there was anybody available to help us..) to come an take away dirt, then they left us another 10 minutes before bringing us coffee and took the cups on another table that was partially used... I'm normally not picky but that was going over the limit. It's a pity, because the food was great and the assortment was huge. On the saturday morning we had almost the same kind of experience. Had to ask the cook 2 time for toasts and it took 20 minutes to get them (obviously my eggs were cold...).
The staff at the bar is extremely pushy (You don't have the time to enjoy your pricey drink that they want to take it away to charge you another one)

The situation of the hotel is quite nice. Aachen is a quiet city. I recommend you "la Strada" an Italian restaurant nearby with good food good price and an excellent service.

The best part of the hotel is the pool and Spa... amazingly nice... And just for that I would forget my bad experience and maybe give it another chance...

Oh, and if the housekeeping was knocking on door at 8:15 on a saturday (and strangely the checkout day), she wouldn't be embarrassed to see me walking naked from the bathroom... I just heard the mechanism of the door and had hardly the time to cover myself... No announcement, no knock-king, just pure embarrassment

Some staff people were extremely nice though (The people who managed my reservation problem). And they admitted that the hotel was under partial renovation... Sadly we were not lucky...

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank tuxbros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    379
    151
    47
    20
See reviews for
149
469
69
237
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kontich, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Is this in fact a Pullman hotel...?Anyway it does not correspond with the modern image of this chain... In my opinion it is more a M-Gallery range hotel status!Everything allmost perfect...only the rooms and gangways need a little lick of fresh paint ......

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank FVandenBogaert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
152 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

We come here every 6 months. A bit of shopping and then a relaxing night at the Pullman. Staff, rooms, food are absolutely worth the price. Especially the breakfast is amazing. We will certainly come back, always a pleasure to be here.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Best666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
269 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I have used the Pullman in Aachen now for the last 3 years when in the area and this visit was the same - good attention to detail and helpful / friendly staff make my stay's so much more pleasant. The hotel has excellent Spa / Pool etc and its location make it easy to explore the city on foot. I have also enjoyed the WIne Bar Bistro bith for drinks and food and the main restaurant which really has an excellent breakfast - possibly one of the best. Will certainly be back thanks.

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up if possible and ideally facing the park on the right hand side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We were disappointed with our second visit to the Pullman Aachen Quellenhof hotel. Good points - receptionist friendly and helpful. Good location for the hotel, it's easy to walk to the centre and to the Christmas markets. However, we had two rooms allocated for our stay and one was a Deluxe double room, it was not worth the upgrade. We were at the top of the hotel and the ceiling sloped, so you were not easily able to walk under in parts of the room. The bathroom lights did not work, we stayed two nights and had reported it as soon as we checked in and were told that they would be repaired (the switch itself was faulty and sparking), but this had not happened by the time we checked out two days later. So we had to shower in semi darkness as there weren't any windows in the bathroom.

The other disappointment was the restaurant. I would definitely not recommend eating there, it's very overpriced and the food was just adequate. We had ordered a bottle of wine and also requested tap water. The waiter, Marcel, told us that they did not provide tap water as it was not up to standard, when we enquired if this meant that the water in the hotel rooms could not be drunk, he said that the water in the hotel came from a different area and was fine to drink, the water in the restaurant was not potable as it came from a contaminated well. If this is truly the case, I would not like vegetables, etc, to be washed in it and will definitely not return.

Room Tip: Don't take a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sollentuna, Sweden
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

A great hotel of the old school.
Good rooms, excellent spa and gym.
But the things that really puts it up there at the top for me is the excellent breakfast.

Standard prices a bit on the high side, but if you manage to secure a deal of some sort don't heistate for a second.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dangli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

It has become a family tradition.
Every year we book a room at Quellenhof the weekend before Christmas, a great way to start the holidays.

We Always love to Come back, great staff!

The room is spotless and quite, this year we stayed at room 144, we absolutely loved it.

Breakfast was jummie, a lot of choice .

Only a 10 minutes Walk to the Christmasmarket , also close to shops and restaurants

We Will be back next year,

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace En Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aachen hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Aachen City
Novotel Aachen City
#2 of 40 in Aachen
877 reviews
0.2 mi away
INNSIDE by Melia Aachen
0.4 mi away
Mercure Hotel Aachen am Dom
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Aachen City
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aquis Grana
Hotel Aquis Grana
#8 of 40 in Aachen
282 reviews
1.7 mi away
Art Hotel Aachen Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Aachen Quellenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Aachen Quellenhof

Property: Pullman Aachen Quellenhof
Address: Monheimsallee 52, 52062 Aachen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Aachen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Aachen
#2 Business Hotel in Aachen
#2 Spa Hotel in Aachen
#3 Luxury Hotel in Aachen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Aachen Quellenhof 5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Pullman Aachen Quellenhof, a unique blend of historic ambience and timeless elegance awaits you. With its calm, yet central location, only 1.5 km from the central railway station and 4 km from the highway, business guests and tourists can enjoy the 185 rooms, 16 conference rooms and ballroom featured in our lovingly restored prestigious hotel. Enjoy the many attractions of the imperial city, relax in our Royal Spa or enjoy the nearby casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, ACCOR, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pullman Aachen Quellenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Aachen Quellenhof Hotel Aachen
Accor Aachen Quellenhof
Sofitel Aachen
Aachen Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing