We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall, good hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Royal
Ranked #16 of 40 Hotels in Aachen
Tokyo
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Overall, good hotel.”
Reviewed 15 December 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for a day. As I usually live in a room without a bath tub, I requested them if I could stay in a room with a tub. And they upgraded me for that reason, to a luxurious spacy room (probably it is because I stayed here in off season). It was such a kind and nice offer, I enjoyed the stay very much.
It is true that the location is a bit far from city centre, but it is not a big problem, as Aachen is not a huge city. I will stay here again, when I revisit Aachen.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nycarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    48
    24
    7
    1
See reviews for
9
24
12
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Have stayed in Aachen many time, but this was the first time I stayed in the Hotel Royal Best Western, but I will definitely stay there again. I had an apartment room for my overnight stay, which was most luxurious, featuring a lounge with wide screen TV, walk in wardrobe/dressing room, large bedroom and huge bathroom with corner jacuzzi bath and walk in shower cubicle. Well appointed and clean, it was a shame I was only staying one night. Highly recommend these.
The breakfast was decent too, but the bar could do with some development - it is basically the breakfast seating area, with a mini-bar attached to the reception. But no matter, as anyone who has been to Aachen will tell you, there is no shortage of bars and restaurants to while away an evening, and around Christmas, it has an excellent market on most evenings.
It takes about five to ten minutes to walk to an area with a variety of bars and eateries, offering a diverse range of cuisines, from local dishes to international flavours. I do like Aachen, and recommend both the town and this hotel if you are in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the ground floor apartment rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

the interiors of the hotel are totally tasteless. Lot's of annoying details for the detail minded. Barely looks and feels like a 4* hotel. However, because of some construction noise on one morning, I got offered free breakfast for 4 days. This was a pleasant surprise and explains my overall rating of 4 stars.

Room Tip: The winter terrace rooms are quite. All others face the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dgor82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jupiter
Level Contributor
277 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012 via mobile

Location was bad, personnel was very friendly. The rooms would be actually very good, if they would be a little larger. This was almost as cramped as a Japanese hotel room.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flying_dutchman_US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London (England)
Level Contributor
108 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

The hotel is situated about 20 minutes walk from the railway station, 15 minutes from the cathedral and five minutes from the start of the central shopping area.

Reception was friendly and efficient, with a cheerful greeting whenever one passed and helpful advice. There is a sitting area, and a free internet computer for guests.

The hotel is sited at a major road junction on one of the ring roads. I had asked for a room at the back on a high floor. I was given one on the 4th floor at the back, with a good view to the trees of a park. There was no noise (even though it was next to the lift). Actually, the reception and breakfast area also had no real external noise, so I imagine the front facing rooms would also be quiet if you keep the windows shut.

I had single use of a small double (various sizes/ grades of room available, mine was "Comfort class"). The room was large enough for me, but I could see that it would have felt cluttered with two. Pleasant decor. TV with BBC, CNN in English and a range of music radio stations including classical. Fridge/minibar, safe. Adequate lighting. Comfortable bed. Clean.

The shower-room was small. Effective shower. Soap and shower gel/shampoo only. Decent towels. Clean

Breakfast was a good buffet selection of high quality fruit, cereals, joghurt, bread, cheese, jams &c. A little hot food. Squeeze your own orange juice. Pleasant rooms next to or in front of reception, with some tables with windows onto the street.

Negatives? Weak lukewarm coffee.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael3112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level Contributor
326 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

It has been several years since my stay here. It was clean, quiet and has a gated parking lot, next door. Our room was terribly small. Had to crawl over the bed to get to the bathroom. The only chair was at the desk next to the TV and mini fridge. However, it was clean and warm on a cold, rainy night. The bath was all marble, immaculate and a large glass enclosed shower. If I was to stay longer, I would definately ask for a larger room, as shown in the hotel photos. The breakfast was exceptional. FRESH!!! One of the best I had during my two weeks in Europe.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room, first, some are very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank commentmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New London, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
141 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

I would have given this place a better rating but the internet didn't work. Other than that the room was nice and clean, comfortable and is in a good location close to the center of town. Another thing I liked about it was the parking, 8 euro's for the day didn't seem to bad considering how hectic the downtown traffic is. The walking shopping districts are about a block away and the Cathedral is about 10-15 min walk. I stayed on the 4th floor looking towards downtown and the view was ok although I think the 4th floor is to high for the wireless internet to reach.

Room Tip: If the internet is important, get a room on a lower level, you may have better luck with the free wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheapAssTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aachen hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Aachen City
Novotel Aachen City
#2 of 40 in Aachen
877 reviews
0.3 mi away
INNSIDE by Melia Aachen
0.4 mi away
Mercure Hotel Aachen am Dom
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ibis Styles Aachen City
0.3 mi away
Pullman Aachen Quellenhof
0.6 mi away
Mercure Aachen Europaplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Royal

Property: Best Western Hotel Royal
Address: Juelicher Strasse 1, 52070 Aachen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Aachen
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Aachen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HRS, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Aachen
Aachen Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing