We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel near city center”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Royal
Ranked #16 of 41 Hotels in Aachen
Bari, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good hotel near city center”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The hotel is located in the city center, The parking area is very near the hotel, even if it is not simple to be viewed at the arrival. In alternative, a public parking exists but is it not free.
The rooms are comfortable and clean.

Room Tip: Rooms are apart from main building. Quite and simple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberto S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    49
    24
    7
    1
See reviews for
9
24
12
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This hotel was a disappointment. It certainly did not live up to its 4-star rating. There were 3 of us and the room was tiny. So was the bathroom, that did not have any toilet paper. The carpet in the room was full of stains and badly needed replacing. It was clear that the room had only been cleaned superficially.
The bathroom was tiny and dated, no room to put your stuff. There were hairs against the walls everywhere so cleanliness left a lot to be the desired here too.
The staff was very friendly and there is a private parking lot.

Room Tip: The rooms on the street side are very noisy because of the heavy traffic in the area
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Superzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Aachen hotels

Tokyo
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for a day. As I usually live in a room without a bath tub, I requested them if I could stay in a room with a tub. And they upgraded me for that reason, to a luxurious spacy room (probably it is because I stayed here in off season). It was such a kind and nice offer, I enjoyed the stay very much.
It is true that the location is a bit far from city centre, but it is not a big problem, as Aachen is not a huge city. I will stay here again, when I revisit Aachen.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nycarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Have stayed in Aachen many time, but this was the first time I stayed in the Hotel Royal Best Western, but I will definitely stay there again. I had an apartment room for my overnight stay, which was most luxurious, featuring a lounge with wide screen TV, walk in wardrobe/dressing room, large bedroom and huge bathroom with corner jacuzzi bath and walk in shower cubicle. Well appointed and clean, it was a shame I was only staying one night. Highly recommend these.
The breakfast was decent too, but the bar could do with some development - it is basically the breakfast seating area, with a mini-bar attached to the reception. But no matter, as anyone who has been to Aachen will tell you, there is no shortage of bars and restaurants to while away an evening, and around Christmas, it has an excellent market on most evenings.
It takes about five to ten minutes to walk to an area with a variety of bars and eateries, offering a diverse range of cuisines, from local dishes to international flavours. I do like Aachen, and recommend both the town and this hotel if you are in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the ground floor apartment rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

the interiors of the hotel are totally tasteless. Lot's of annoying details for the detail minded. Barely looks and feels like a 4* hotel. However, because of some construction noise on one morning, I got offered free breakfast for 4 days. This was a pleasant surprise and explains my overall rating of 4 stars.

Room Tip: The winter terrace rooms are quite. All others face the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dgor82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jupiter
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012 via mobile

Location was bad, personnel was very friendly. The rooms would be actually very good, if they would be a little larger. This was almost as cramped as a Japanese hotel room.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flying_dutchman_US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London (England)
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

The hotel is situated about 20 minutes walk from the railway station, 15 minutes from the cathedral and five minutes from the start of the central shopping area.

Reception was friendly and efficient, with a cheerful greeting whenever one passed and helpful advice. There is a sitting area, and a free internet computer for guests.

The hotel is sited at a major road junction on one of the ring roads. I had asked for a room at the back on a high floor. I was given one on the 4th floor at the back, with a good view to the trees of a park. There was no noise (even though it was next to the lift). Actually, the reception and breakfast area also had no real external noise, so I imagine the front facing rooms would also be quiet if you keep the windows shut.

I had single use of a small double (various sizes/ grades of room available, mine was "Comfort class"). The room was large enough for me, but I could see that it would have felt cluttered with two. Pleasant decor. TV with BBC, CNN in English and a range of music radio stations including classical. Fridge/minibar, safe. Adequate lighting. Comfortable bed. Clean.

The shower-room was small. Effective shower. Soap and shower gel/shampoo only. Decent towels. Clean

Breakfast was a good buffet selection of high quality fruit, cereals, joghurt, bread, cheese, jams &c. A little hot food. Squeeze your own orange juice. Pleasant rooms next to or in front of reception, with some tables with windows onto the street.

Negatives? Weak lukewarm coffee.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael3112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aachen hotels
0.3 mi away
INNSIDE by Melia Aachen
0.4 mi away
Mercure Hotel Aachen am Dom
0.1 mi away
Novotel Aachen City
Novotel Aachen City
#2 of 41 in Aachen
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ibis Styles Aachen City
0.6 mi away
Mercure Aachen Europaplatz
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aquis Grana
Hotel Aquis Grana
#8 of 41 in Aachen
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Royal

Property: Best Western Hotel Royal
Address: Juelicher Strasse 1, 52070 Aachen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Aachen
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Aachen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HRS, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Aachen
Aachen Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing