We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy place for Spa Grand Prix Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Royal
Ranked #16 of 41 Hotels in Aachen
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Handy place for Spa Grand Prix Weekend”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I have no knowledge of Aachen or this Hotel's suitability for a visit to that city. However as a base for the F1 Grand Prix at Spa it is excellent. The hotel has an on site gated parking lot. The reception staff were helpful with good English skills. Our room was reasonably priced, spotlessly clean with comfortable beds and a small but adequate bathroom. Breakfast is served in a ground floor dining area and there was a good choice of hot and cold options. The bread was fresh and they even had freshly squeezed orange juice.

The circuit is only 35 minutes from the hotel, via the E40 and E42. The E40 is only 2 or 3 miles from the hotel.

All around very good.

Room Tip: Rooms 501 or 502 can be booked with an additional kitchenette/dining room which also doubles as a th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jb1815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    51
    25
    7
    1
See reviews for
9
26
12
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Nice hotel at 10m walk from Carolusthermen. We come here every year to stay one or two days in the baths. The hotel offers quiet rooms in an inner Wintergarten, where the intense traffic outside cannot be heard at all. Really good value for money.

Room Tip: The hotel has some nice suites, which are not that much more expensive. Good if you prefer to stay i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VincenzoH1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We booked this hotel in a hurry. It's in the city center, very well located. Our room was on the patio (in the same level as the reception) and it was large, new and very nice. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good. Unfortunately I forgot the front receptionist from Bosnia who was very nice to us and helped us with the information needed. I strongly recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms on the patio are large and silent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NandaRio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Clean & Good Service & breakfast, however rooms were far too hot, even after turning off all heating. Fans in room was pretty noisy and had to be left on all day.
Window had to be open at night to prevent room getting too hot, however hotel overlooks busy crossroads and was far too noisy to leave open.
Other than that facilities were good but the heat really let the overall stay down. Rooms should really have air con like many other hotels in Aachen.

Room Tip: Room out the back of the Hotel would be best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heiloo, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

A hidden quiet spot situated on a busy street behind a not so attractive facade this hotel is a pleasant surprise. The spacious rooms are located on the ground and are at the back of the building, so they are very quiet. They are also very light because of the glass ceiling of the corridor and the hall which is partly a garden.

The rooms are ok, the bathroom is good with shower and separate bath. For some unknown reason the toilet is ridiculously low. The breakfast is very, very, good. Lots of choice and made with a good eye for what a guest wants.

The old city centre with the Dom, restaurants, bars and lots of old buildings :) is a nice 10 minute walk, very easy to find.

There is one negative thing to say: the hotel does not have a restaurant or bar, which is a bit strange for a four star hotel, but there are bars, restaurants within 200 meters.

Good , clean place, well located, nice price, phenomenal breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hendrik70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Aachen was our first stop on a trip to Berchtesgaden and we didn’t book in until late afternoon. The staff were very friendly and professional. We had a very comfortable room on the third floor which was very clean and spacious, and breakfast was OK. Best of all, the hotel is close to the city centre which gives you the opportunity to leave the car in the hotel parking area and walk into town to see the various sites. We were recommended to eat at an Argentinean steak house – La Pampa on Kaiserplatz which proved to be a fantastic advice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JFC275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Excellent hotel and location for our 3 night stay in Aachen. Alex, the manager went out of his way to make our stay a great one. The hotel is within walking distance of all landmarks. The main train station is ten minutes walk but doable. Thoroughly recommend this hotel and try to get a back garden room.

Room Tip: Try to get a garden room at the back. It is quiet and has a small kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aachen hotels
0.3 mi away
INNSIDE by Melia Aachen
0.0 mi away
Ibis Styles Aachen City
0.4 mi away
Mercure Hotel Aachen am Dom
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Novotel Aachen City
Novotel Aachen City
#2 of 41 in Aachen
888 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Aachen Europaplatz
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Regence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Royal

Property: Best Western Hotel Royal
Address: Juelicher Strasse 1, 52070 Aachen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Aachen
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Aachen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Aachen
Aachen Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing