We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of updating and new chef”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
TOP Hotel Buschhausen
Ranked #30 of 41 Hotels in Aachen
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“In need of updating and new chef”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Stayed at this hotel with Edwards coaches trip, room was ok, large with lots of dusty Germanic furniture, NOTE no tea making facilities, the beds were never remade properly in our 3 night stay, sheets not tautened etc., duvet just refolded on top of bed in 3. Bathroom small, relatively clean, but linen was decidedly 'second hand' stained and tattered edges. Breakfast was acceptable buffet, but we were aware of different and better breakfasts on offer to other guests, Edwards trip was segregated in separate room. Evening meal was very poor (no choice whatsoever), non descript soup with large dollop of cream floating on it each night, paltry main course, meat, potato and teaspoon of overboiled veg. We were all served a pork steak on the last night, mine was raw in the centre, I left it, but noticed at least 30% were sent back--beware of ecoli.
Dessert on each evening was basically a ice cream with a form of jam sauce, a slice of supermarket ice cream on night 1, a star shaped i.c on night 2 and a Christmas tree shape on night 3!!!
If we go with Edwards again we will avoid this hotel!!

Room Tip: Ask for a non smoker if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank llangrallo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petra T, Manager at TOP Hotel Buschhausen, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Sirs, many thanks for your comment at tripadvisor. It is sad that we see here at tripadvisor that you were not happy with your stay. Have you informed your driver as he did not inform us neither. It is difficult do solve the problem now, as you left without saying anything. But I wish to inform you that we are very well known for our good cooking . We do outside catering up to 1000 people. As you probably stated our restaurant was very well visited by a lot of guest, I think that would not be if we need to change the chef. What I think is that you are not used to the food in our area .m The porsteak was rosé as is was longtime´cooked so that it remains soft. That means it was 4 hours with 80 degrees in the oven. The vegetables were well cooked as the most people to
like it more cooked. If you are travelling with a group it is difficult for the chef to fulfill all tastes, but if you informed us that you wish to have more if we would do so. We always have supplement in kitichen. We are sorry that you did not complain directly with us, as you will not give us the chance to solve the problem with you, as you do not wish to visit us again we cannot do more than wish you a Merry christmas and a Happy New Year. Your Hotel Buschhausen-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    42
    40
    21
    26
See reviews for
28
63
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I have just stayed, for the third time, at the Buschausen as part of a 4-day T & T weekend travelling with Edwards Coaches of South Wales. Tis hotel is a typical unpretentious 3 star German hotel providing good quality facilities. It ius located on the western outskirts of Aachen, quite a distance (a E10 taxi ride) from the city centre. My room, No 4, was located on the first floor accessable by the minute lift. It contained comfortable twin beds and adequate bathroom space but, as in most continental hotels, no tea/coffee making facilities. Breakasts were typically continental with a good choice of meats, cheese, jams etc whilst the evening meals were well cooked and tasty but lacking in choice. The bar area was convivial withb plenty of choice of German beer and wines. All in all it was a pleasant weekend and I must thank our driver, Glyn, for his expertise, friendliness and humour. Also, as is usual with Edwards tours, we had a pleasant bunch of fellow travellers who were a pleasure to be with.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaddersCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

stayed here on 20/9/2013 with a shearings coach party, a most friendly and relaxed atmosphere, and was welcomed at reception, all our luggage was brought up to our rooms for us and the room was very comfortable, our evening meal in my opinion and of others was first class ! as was the breakfast in the morning.i think one of the lady staff there was called " petra " a lovely young lady rob and sue our coach driver and his wife said it was a nice hotel and they were not wrong ! we only stayed one night and would definitely stay again, thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank surog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petra T, Manager at TOP Hotel Buschhausen, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Buschhausenen-Friends, many thanks for writing your comment at tripadvisor. We are
happy to see that now more and more satisfied guests write what they think about us. We are
looking forward to meet sometimes again here in Aachen and promise that we will not loose
our hospitality as we love to do our best for our guests, but we are still continuing renovating
and refurbishing our rooms and hotel. The entire Buschhausen-Team says "thank you" .

Best regards from your home away from home in Aachen
Petra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winsford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Having read some of the past reviews on this hotel, it was with some trepidation that I learnt that my recent Shearings coach trip was to be accommodated in this hotel for the last night of the holiday. How wrong could I be. On arrival we were met with an efficient check in proceedure and our luggage arrived at our rooms almost as quick as we did.
Our room was big, bright and airy, simply but adequately furnished and had access to a balcony. The bathroom was small but clean and functional and possibly the only minus point was that the bath was so high sided that my wife, who has slight mobility difficulties, could not get into the bath. This would be easily remedied on a return visit by requesting a room with a walk in shower.
Our daughters room was a small double and, again simply, but adequately,furnished and had a walk in shower.
The hotel was immaculately clean throughout.
The dinner was an excellent three couse meal, very good food and attentive service. Breakfast , despite being served at 6.00 am on a Sunday morning was very good with an excellent supply of cereals, rolls and bread along with a variety of cold meats and cheeses. Although I did not partake of it, I believe that there was also yoghurt available.
If on a future Shearings Coach Holiday I and my family find ourselves directed to this hotel for a part of the holiday, we will not have any worries.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bibeca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petra T, Manager at TOP Hotel Buschhausen, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Many greetings from Aachen, and many thanks for taking the time to give you comment. We are looking forward to welcome you here in again in Aachen and do not forget to mention next time
that you need a shower. Best greetings to you daughter, too. Keep well and healthy.
We are sending our best regards
Petra & Roger and all member of staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

As we had to extend our stay in Aachen, we switched rooms after a couple of days. The first accommodations where older but spacious and clean. The rooms after that were modern with all amenities needed. Even thou the rooms were not air-conditioned, we could leave the windows open at night as traffic comes to a halt after 10pm.
We had dinner several times on the terrace: very nice selection of local and belgian specialties!

Room Tip: Rooms in the newer building are basically nicer but will be a little more expensive. If you are a li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petra T, Manager at TOP Hotel Buschhausen, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear Sir, sorry for answering as late, but we were very busy the last weeks. We wish to thank
your for your comment. It is not usual that guests take the time to write something nice, but they always do when they do not like something. Therefore we say "Thank you" for helping us in
that case, showing everybody that you can state at the Buschhausen and find every service you need. Perhaps we are not the newest Hotel, but we are 3-star superior categorized and offer
everything to guarantee a comfortable stay.
We are sending our best regards
Petra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley, BC, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Let us start with what is positive: it is not so far from downtown Aachen.
When we arrived late afternoon, the room wasn't clean and still had to be done, so we had to get out again. There was no parking lot for the hotel and we had to park in the street. The hotel also had a busy restaurant and all the parking spaces were taken by a couple big buses and other cars, so we had to park quite a while away down the road.
There was no air conditioning, in 35 Celsius, so we opened the window, which was old. However, the hotel is situated at a very busy road with traffic day and night, so with an open window it was absolutely not quiet during the night.
The room was quite pricey so I expected some quality, but was severely disappointed. Breakfast was not included but could be bought for a high price (I don't remember exactly how much but it was higher than all other hotels we went to, maybe somewhere between 10 and 15 Euro, 14 to 20 dollars).
I booked a quadruple room, but got a room with a double bed and two couches changed into beds. It certainly was not a quadruple room, although it was spacious.
Windows were old, bathroom was old. Whole hotel was old. Not a pleasure to stay here.
When it was time to pay, the machine didn't accept my North American credit card. They said it happens more often, but it never happened to me in other hotels. Except this one. Was this their way of refusing North American Credit Cards? I don't know but I was forced to pay cash.

When it was time

Room Tip: If you really want to stay here, book a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AS1166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Aachen hotels

Maesteg
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Stayed here for one night on return from a coach holiday in the Black Forest. Poor hotel layout and a small lift. Our room was quite spacious and on the corner of the hotel looking out onto a busy road junction. The room was clean but needed updating. The curtains clashed with the 2 arm chairs, both of which required replacing, being well-worn and having the stuffing poking out of the arms. Both beds had wooden boards under the thin mattress and on top of the bedframe making the bed uncomfy. The bathroom was small and the toilet was between the bath and the wall which would make it a squeeze for someone bigger than myself. There was no toilet roll holder; the toilet rolls were on the cupboard behind the toilet which proved awkward for me with a fractured rib. There was no air conditioning and the weather was very hot. At night we tried sleeping with the windows open but the traffic noise was unbearable along with the light from the hotel sign outside one window. With the windows closed the room was stifling. We ended up with just one side window open. One couple from our coach found half a pizza under their bed! Outside our room a sign pointed to a fire escape which turned out to be a small musty store room filled with files and other materials. We were shown other rooms but it was in a part of the hotel which was musty and dark. Some carpets were worn and marked.
On the positive side the staff were quite helpful and friendly and the food was reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyMaesteg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aachen hotels
0.0 mi away
Art Hotel Aachen
Art Hotel Aachen
#22 of 41 in Aachen
98 reviews
1.7 mi away
ibis budget Aachen City
ibis budget Aachen City
#12 of 41 in Aachen
361 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel ibis Aachen Hauptbahnhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Krone
Hotel Krone
#36 of 41 in Aachen
67 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mercure Aachen Europaplatz
3.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Aachen Nord
Ibis Budget Aachen Nord
#13 of 41 in Aachen
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TOP Hotel Buschhausen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TOP Hotel Buschhausen

Property: TOP Hotel Buschhausen
Address: Adenauerallee 215, 52066 Aachen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Aachen
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 41 Hotels in Aachen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — TOP Hotel Buschhausen 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Buschhausen is a popular family run hotel which offers modern comfort to business travellers as well as individual hospitality to Aachen visitors. We are well-known for our belgium-influenced cooking. The Hotel is located directly to Aachen forest only 1.5km from town centre. Come and visit us, to see what if the statements of the travellers are true. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your TOP Hotel Buschhausen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Aachen
Aachen Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing