We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over night stop”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
TOP Hotel Buschhausen
Ranked #31 of 41 Hotels in Aachen
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel has some beautiful old furniture that gives it traditional character. The hotel has 4 floors
but the lift only goes to 2 floors!! Our room was unbelievably large, including a very large leather settee to relax on. Bed comfy. (Very clean.) Bathroom was clean but very small (and you could only open the door a third of the way as the toilet was in the way). The shower head hinge was broken so you had to hold the shower head in your hand!! Breakfast German style buffet but very very basic. Had food on the first over night stop, just warm and did not enjoy so went out on the return journey. There is a nice outdoor seating area if the weather is dry. Great for an over night stop. No tea or coffee facilities but a fridge in the room.
The hotel is a 20 minute walk from the town centre where there are some lovely restaurants/pubs, late opening bakeries and a supermarket.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs make sure you ask for a room on the first two floors.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 3ohappycouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petra T, Geschäftsführer at TOP Hotel Buschhausen, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you very much for your report . We are happy that you like our hotel and we are sad to state
that there are some points you dislike. We hope you complain the broken handshower at the reception so that we can repair it. But anyway we send directly somebody to check all handshowers. We have serveral types of breakfasts and I think the coach company you travelled with ordered a cold breakfastbuffet what we served. It is no problem to get English breakfast if you order it, but we have to charge you for that. Your report regarding the food makes me sad. Therefore I would be pleased if you contact me directly at Hotel, so that I will know what was not
right with your meal. Many thanks in advance for your help and looking forward to hear from you.
Best regards from your Hotel Buschhausen Team
Petra & Roger and all members of staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
There are newer reviews for TOP Hotel Buschhausen
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

We were made very welcome, staff were very friendly.Hotel was full but service at the bar was quick and prices fair.
The staircase is a little difficult to negotiate if you have any walking problems-a little steep and its spiral, but there is a very cosy lift available.
Room was clean and bed very comfy.No local noise but thunderstorms kept us awake most of the night.
Breakfast was good -both hot and cold buffet and again the service was very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: People sat out until late in the garden at the front of the hotel so if your an early to bedder (and...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 50tjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petra T, Geschäftsführer at TOP Hotel Buschhausen, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Hello from Aachen, and many thanks for your report at tripadvisor, which shows that we are
on the right way. Hospitalitäy and individuality is our trademark. We are keeping on doing
everything for our clients and we are planning more and more renovations at and in the Hotel,
and as long we get such nice reports we know that we are doing well.
Many thanks and best regards from
your home away from home
Petra & Roger
and all members of staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights during a conference. The staff were wonderful and attentive and had to put up with a large group for 3 extended working days. We never finished before 10 in the evening, and they remained helpful and friendly. The downside however was that the rooms and bathrooms were substandard and old - I doubt the 3-star grading once you leave the reception and dining area. The Wi-Fi was a huge challenge and posed many problems for the conference - if you need reliable Wi-Fi this would definitely not meet your requirements.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelHannalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Buschhausen for two nights before commencing the Eifelsteig, a long distance walking trail in Germany. We were made very welcome on arrival and had a clean and comfortable room. The city of Aachen is easily reached by bus and the bus stops at the hotel so very convenient. The owners were very friendly and helpful and even drove us to the start of the walk in Kornelimünster. Our thanks to them. We would happily recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the garden. It could be that rooms facing the road may be noisier.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Newkiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petra T, Manager at TOP Hotel Buschhausen, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you for your comment at Tripadvisor. Your comment shows us that we are doing right.
We are a family-run 3-star-superior Hotel and this is what we want to be not more not less.
We are proud to have guests like you who are happy what we can offer them: Individual Hospitality
personal treatment and tradition.We are looking forward to welcome you here in Aachen again and sending you our best regards
Petra & Roger and your Buschhausen-Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We have just returned from a 5 night break at this hotel with a large coach party. As with all Trip Advisor reports, they have to be taken with a "pinch of salt". The provision of large pillows and thin duvets is customary in Germany, and if, like us, you ask for a second pillow it is provided immediately. Tea and coffee is rarely provided in European hotels, but they usually provide 24hr Room Service.
This hotel is owned by a husband and wife team who run a clean and comfortable hotel where nothing is too much trouble (see more later).
Considering the hotel were catering for a large coach party, the food was excellent. On day 1, after arriving late at night, a selection of snacks was made available. On Day 2 we were served a buffet of typical German food, Christmas Eve was a typical German Christmas dinner and Christmas Day was an excellent English dinner. At this dinner, the hotel arranged for an English speaking, German Duo, who kept us amused between courses and afterwards we all enjoyed a rousing sing-song.
As I said before, the hotel staff were professional and friendly, with nothing too much trouble. In the morning of Christmas Day, they arranged a leisurely walk through the nearby woods, with frequent stops for Schnapps, but this was surpassed when we came to a clearing to discover they had laid on, tables benches, hot soup, sandwiches, hot chocolate and plenty of Schnapps.
The only downside was when we had to leave after a wonderful Christmas.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petra T, Inhaber at TOP Hotel Buschhausen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear Sirs, many many thanks for your good report at tripadvisor which hopefully shows the reader's that we are running a familyhotel with a top motivated staff which is totally focused
on satisfying our guests. We thank you that you state that we are a German Hotel which is
full of German tradition and hospitality. When we read your comment we were all happy as we
saw that the hard work we are doing make our guests happy- at that is the aim and the end of the day. We are looking forward to welcome you back here at your home away from home at the
Hotel Buschhausen in Aachen. Happy New Year from Roger, Marius, Aline, Andrea & Petra....and
all members of staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

To begin on a postive note the hotel is positioned in a decent location with easy access via to taxi or 1 or 33 bus to the city centre. The rooms themselves were very clean, but in certain rooms they were a little basic e.g no kettle in any of the rooms and a thin duvet with a single pillow. Roger and most of the staff were in general very friendly.
However my family and I, who visted as a apart of an organised coach trip, were at times made to feel second best to those who arrived as independeng travellers. We do realise that the independant travellers provide greater profit, but we feel that the division within the service particularly in regards to food and the bar area was not necessary. This is in regard to one evening, where a while after dinner we were hungry, as the portions were incredible small and just about fed the group. We asked to purchase food as the kitchen was still cooking and we were rudely told that we were not hungry and that we were not allowed to order food. Therefore the following evening we ate elsewhere in Aachen as we were very offended by the situation.
The hotel ingeneral has potential to be a great hotel, but at the moment its falling short.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kooki8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petra T, Inhaber at TOP Hotel Buschhausen, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Many thanks for your comment at tripadvisor. We are very sorry to hear now via tripadvisor that
you did not enjoy your stay at Hotel Buschhausen and we are very sorry that you felt treated as
second class customer. We wish to inform you that we can offer even group meals with a choice of main or even 3-course hot buffets. But please have a look what you are booking. Your have booked a christmasmarkettour and the touroperator calculate that you are visiting all christmasmarkets and there is a lot to eat. Therefore they order a 3-course-set menue. Please give you comment regarding food to the touroperator probably they will contract the next time
3-course-hot-buffet. We even regret that we could not provide you additional à la carte food as you probably saw that we were fully booked at that date in our restaurant.
We would be pleased if you give us a second chance as you saw some potential in our hotel. We would be pleased if you contact us direct so that we can speak personal with you and planning your hopefully next stay with us. We wish you Merry christmas and best regards Petra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Stayed at this hotel with Edwards coaches trip, room was ok, large with lots of dusty Germanic furniture, NOTE no tea making facilities, the beds were never remade properly in our 3 night stay, sheets not tautened etc., duvet just refolded on top of bed in 3. Bathroom small, relatively clean, but linen was decidedly 'second hand' stained and tattered edges. Breakfast was acceptable buffet, but we were aware of different and better breakfasts on offer to other guests, Edwards trip was segregated in separate room. Evening meal was very poor (no choice whatsoever), non descript soup with large dollop of cream floating on it each night, paltry main course, meat, potato and teaspoon of overboiled veg. We were all served a pork steak on the last night, mine was raw in the centre, I left it, but noticed at least 30% were sent back--beware of ecoli.
Dessert on each evening was basically a ice cream with a form of jam sauce, a slice of supermarket ice cream on night 1, a star shaped i.c on night 2 and a Christmas tree shape on night 3!!!
If we go with Edwards again we will avoid this hotel!!

Room Tip: Ask for a non smoker if you can
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank llangrallo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petra T, Manager at TOP Hotel Buschhausen, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Sirs, many thanks for your comment at tripadvisor. It is sad that we see here at tripadvisor that you were not happy with your stay. Have you informed your driver as he did not inform us neither. It is difficult do solve the problem now, as you left without saying anything. But I wish to inform you that we are very well known for our good cooking . We do outside catering up to 1000 people. As you probably stated our restaurant was very well visited by a lot of guest, I think that would not be if we need to change the chef. What I think is that you are not used to the food in our area .m The porsteak was rosé as is was longtime´cooked so that it remains soft. That means it was 4 hours with 80 degrees in the oven. The vegetables were well cooked as the most people to
like it more cooked. If you are travelling with a group it is difficult for the chef to fulfill all tastes, but if you informed us that you wish to have more if we would do so. We always have supplement in kitichen. We are sorry that you did not complain directly with us, as you will not give us the chance to solve the problem with you, as you do not wish to visit us again we cannot do more than wish you a Merry christmas and a Happy New Year. Your Hotel Buschhausen-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aachen hotels
0.0 mi away
Art Hotel Aachen
Art Hotel Aachen
#21 of 41 in Aachen
99 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel ibis Aachen Hauptbahnhof
1.8 mi away
Hotel Krone
Hotel Krone
#36 of 41 in Aachen
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Mercure Aachen Europaplatz
0.4 mi away
Art Hotel Aachen Superior
1.7 mi away
ibis budget Aachen City
ibis budget Aachen City
#12 of 41 in Aachen
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TOP Hotel Buschhausen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TOP Hotel Buschhausen

Address: Adenauerallee 215, 52066 Aachen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Aachen
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 41 Hotels in Aachen
Price Range: £44 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — TOP Hotel Buschhausen 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Buschhausen is a popular family run hotel which offers modern comfort to business travellers as well as individual hospitality to Aachen visitors. We are well-known for our belgium-influenced cooking. The Hotel is located directly to Aachen forest only 1.5km from town centre. Come and visit us, to see what if the statements of the travellers are true. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your TOP Hotel Buschhausen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Aachen
Aachen Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing