We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous City Centre Hotel”
Review of Hotel Aquis Grana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Aquis Grana
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in Aachen
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous City Centre Hotel”
Reviewed 11 April 2011

Lovely rooms, perfect location, parking, reasonably priced for city hotel, near all of the important sites, wonderful staff, near excellent restaurant, shopping. Easy to drive into from outside the city. Excellent business center, wonderful breakfast buffet with extraordinary assortments. Happened on to this hotel and was so pleased, would go back.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wright1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    134
    81
    9
    4
See reviews for
28
107
25
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2011

This hotel is just steps from the Aachen cathedral and city hall in the historic part of Aachen. You can't pick a better location if you are visiting the city. Just south of the hotel is a shopping district and bus stops that go to all parts of the city. The rooms are very large by European standards. Free internet in the lobby. The beds were a bit firm for my tastes, but that is way better than too soft. Very nice restaurant with a great breakfast buffet. This is easy walking distance to the university, theatre, and the Elizabeth Hall swimming pool.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TinySwimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WashingtonDC
Level 6 Contributor
849 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 412 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2011

My fiancé and I stayed at the Aquis Grana in early January 2011, and were very impressed with the value and location of the hotel. We had no hotel reservations and drove into Aachen looking for a place to stay. The rate was $80 (as a walk-in!) in the low-season, and the reception said that it’s normally three times that price during the summer. The service was responsive and knowledgeable, making it an overall pleasant experience.

Aachen is a great city to explore, and this hotel positioned us perfectly for the walk around. It is centrally-located, and has underground parking for $15 (I think…), which was cheaper than street parking. There is free wi-fi in the lobby, but Internet is not available in the rooms themselves. The breakfast was VERY good and included in the price. There were many hot/cold food choices, and the hotel has a modern dining area looking out onto the street.

The rooms weren’t really all that special, but the room we had was very expansive, with a large walk-in closet, *two* sitting areas and a large bathroom. The hallways had a rustic/dingy feeling at times, but not overtly so given its age. While the other reviewers are correct that the rooms didn’t have coffee/tea, neither do Hiltons in Germany either. I gave it 5-stars because the value we got and the location and the breakfast. This is not a luxury Mandarin Oriental hotel or anything, but I definitely would recommend it to someone going to Aachen and looking to explore this historic city!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jg325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montesson, France
Level 6 Contributor
360 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2010

We decided to visit the Christmas Market in Aachen and chose this hotel for its location. It's a couple of minutes on foot to the Cathedral, Rathaus (town hall) and the Christmas Market. The check in was friendly and efficient. We booked two quiet rooms with a connecting door and that's exactly what we got. The rooms are nothing special but they are clean and large enough. My only complaint is with German pillows but that's a personal preference. Everything was clean and in working order although the shower cubicle had a nasty crack in the plastic door. The breakfast room was very crowded but we were found a table. The selection was fine. This is not a cheap hotel but the locaton was perfect for our visit to Aachen.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonytourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middelburg, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2010

We've spent a weekend in this hotel and it was really great! The hotel offers a perfect value for money. It's clean, the service is good, the breakfast buffet is very good. It's location - in the middle of Aachen's city centre - is excellent. Besides exploring the city centre (a good place for shopping, culture: e.g. the Dom), we've also visited the Carolus Thermen: a perfect location for relaxing.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arendroos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2009

Good location, spacious rooms, wide breakfast selection and attentive staff. No complaints.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dr-dom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, CA
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2009

First, the Aquis Grana City Hotel is right in the center of Aachen. It is just a few minutes walk from the Cathedral of Charlemagne and the historic Town Hall. The tourist information office, where many bus routes converge, is just a block away. It's about a 20 minute walk from the train station.

Our check-in was very friendly and efficient. They had already printed-out our registration information based upon our reservation so I only had to sign my name and we had our key.

The room was large, with modern furnishings. It was very clean. The king-sized bed was comfortably firm. There was no air-conditioning but the window opened easily to provide fresh air. Although we opened the window for ventilation at night the room was very quiet. After about eight in the morning some outside noise started coming in. The only anomaly in the nice, large room was that the TV was very small. An internet connection was available in the room for a fee, but free wireless was available in the lobby. The lobby area with the wireless had some nice tables and chairs to work at.

The bathroom was divided - one large room with a sink and shower and a separate small room with the toilet and another sink. The room with the toilet was very, very, small and might be uncomfortable for a large person. All the fixtures were new and very clean.

The breakfast buffet, included in the room price, was generous, including eggs, breakfast meats, lots of fruits, breads and cereals. It was served in a nice restaurant area adjacent to the lobby. The Hotel is surrounded by numerous taverns and restaurants for other meals. Other shopping opportunities also were abundant in the area.

It appeared that many business folks were in the hotel. Considering the comfort we had at the Aqis Grana, I can understand why they would choose the place.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank swj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aachen hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Hotel Aachen am Dom
0.3 mi away
INNSIDE by Melia Aachen
0.3 mi away
Novotel Aachen City
Novotel Aachen City
#2 of 41 in Aachen
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pullman Aachen Quellenhof
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Aachen City
0.1 mi away
Hotel 3 Koenige
Hotel 3 Koenige
#19 of 41 in Aachen
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aquis Grana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aquis Grana

Property: Hotel Aquis Grana
Address: Buchel 32 Buchkremerstrasse, 52062 Aachen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Aachen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Aachen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Aquis Grana 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Aquis Grana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquis Grana Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing