We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice city Hotel, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Aquis Grana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Aquis Grana
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Aachen
Vigo
Level Contributor
141 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Nice city Hotel, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

This is a nice city Hotel, relatively small and with efficient service.

Its location is great, less than 1 minute walking from the Cathedral and the city hall.

Rooms are comfortable and nicely decorated. It is more a very nice 3-star Hotel than a 4-star (room sizes, lacks some of the small things you get used to in 4-star Hotels) but still very good. Anyway the sleep quality is quite good, and nothing essential is missing.

The same applies to the lobby areas. The breakfast room, for instance, is on the smallish side but with a nice ambiance.

WiFi is paid (12 Euro per day) and of good quality. Room safes are large enough for most laptops. The choice of non-german TV channels is rather poor.

Overall I liked this Hotel and would choose it again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john2008a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    124
    78
    9
    4
See reviews for
27
104
24
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

Modern, clean, well defined establishment sutible for the single tourist traveller or a business conference location within a few short blocks from ancient Roman ruins and the site of crowned kings. Many opportunities for shopping for high end up market to everyday mid to low range items, dining establishments, coffee houses and bakeries. PERFECT for all travellers. Small Pet friendly. Charges for WiFi apply. Several languages spoken.

Room Tip: Car Park Tower, with large spaces and roof top parking available across the street for 12 Euro per d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmilyLA2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

My family has a tradition of going to Aachen for the annual Christmas market each December. After trying several hotels, we have settled on the Aquis Grana. It is reasonably priced and comfortable, though not particularly luxurious. You may wish to opt for a package with breakfast included: there is a generous and varied spread. The hotel does not have parking, but there is a public garage across the street that is not too expensive. The hotel is convenient to the old town and the meandering pedestrian zone, including such wonderful sights as the cathedral, treasury and city hall. There are numerous shops, cafes, restaurants, pubs and bakeries in the neighborhood. For more on this medieval town, check out: http://www.q4tk.com/2013/01/06/aachen-a-medieval-gem/ .

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor have a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

All in all, the hotel is located in the middle of the city and closed by Aachener Dom. The room is very clean and modern. Really satisfied. Only one small negative point for their staffs, it depends on persons, some of them are a bit unfriendly. Also, in some rooms (on the street side), they are noisy at night but you can ask to move the room. There was no problem.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pjjn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soestdijk, Utrecht, Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

Having booked an up-market 4-star hotel our expectations were high. Upon arrival we were welcomed in a dutiful manner, and I must say the term dutiful applies to most of the service in this hotel. Not in a positive way, that is. Staff is not eagerly helpful, and initiative lies completely with the guest.

We got a room on the 4th floor, reasonably sized and tidy at first sight. The room was clean, but not clean-clean: apparently the hotel's vacuum does not get into corners and wall crevices: here dirt had been building up for some time. The tile joints in our shower were packed with mildew: not necessary if given a proper scrub.

Because of it's location the hotel is quite noisy. Yet, it must be said the hotel lies in a central position and breakfast is quite reasonable.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Koos H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2012

We have stayed at this hotel numerous times, always to visit the Christmas markets. Its location is a big plus as it is just around the corner from the pedestrian zone. Another big plus: a very nice breakfast buffet with wide variety of pastries, breads, cereal, fruit juice, yogurts, cheeses, smoked fish, shrimp salads and scrambled eggs, bacon and sausage. Reception and the breakfast room is modern and looks more upscale than the rest of the hotel actually is. Décor in the rooms is okay and we had a nice view of the cathedral. We opened the window to cool off the room down bit and there is a certain amount of noise from the street but that cannot be avoided given the location. The beds were comfortable and clean. The bathrooms are clean too, though the shower was a bit cramped. Upon arrival they had us booked for an additional two single rooms to our two double rooms. But they were not fazed by it and we did have the two business doubles (one with a double bed, one with two singles) that we had booked. The room with the double bed was small and slightly cramped, the one with two singles side-by-side was more spacious and definitely a nicer room, however, both rooms were the same rate. What could improve the experience is the offer of basic amenities at no extra cost (or increase the room rate 10 euros and offer these). Wifi is available but at a cost and one has to logon each time; there is no kettle in the room for tea or coffee, only a bottle of water for 4 euros. No mini-bar.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flyingpig666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

I stayed one night in this hotel. At arrival the reception staff was a bit stand offish. The design of the lobby of the hotel is much nicer than the actual rooms. At night the neighbouring student bars produced a steady stream of groups that continued shouting in the street under our closed window. The road works on the streets around the hotel started early in the morning. But I guess the will be finished by now. Breakfast is good and coffee is served by friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DutchGuys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aachen hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Hotel Aachen am Dom
0.3 mi away
Novotel Aachen City
Novotel Aachen City
#1 of 41 in Aachen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
0.3 mi away
INNSIDE by Melia Aachen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pullman Aachen Quellenhof
1.4 mi away
Art Hotel Aachen Superior
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Aachen City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aquis Grana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aquis Grana

Property: Hotel Aquis Grana
Address: Buchel 32 Buchkremerstrasse, 52062 Aachen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Aachen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Aachen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Aquis Grana 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Aquis Grana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquis Grana Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing