We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable views and location!”
Review of Hotel Aquis Grana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Aquis Grana
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Aachen
Reviewed 14 December 2013

This hotel is perfectly situated right near the city center. Most rooms have a specially placed window giving a spectacular view of the Dom (cathedral). Rooms are very comfortable and appointed with toiletries, towel warmer and wardrobes. Turn down lebkuchen on the pillows for us--it was Christmas season. The staff were efficient, speaking English for those who need it and very helpful (calling cabs, pointing out local attractions). The breakfast buffet was very good, offering choices such as fresh breads and yogurts, fish (the crayfish with sauce was especially delicious!), cheeses, fruits and cereals. There is a small bar off the lobby which is open 24/7. We were pleased to find that we were only a few steps from the Christmas market and many shops and restaurants. The train station is a long walk or a short cab ride away. All in all, a great place to stay to experience the city center.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms with a window allowing a cathedral view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 300 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2013

Very nice hotel right in the centre of the city, with very reasonable room rates. Like most hotels of this size, breakfast is a bit expensive, but there are plenty of places nearby to get breakfast out. They have good secure underground parking on-site.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EastSussexToad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I had a good stay here and would recommend the hotel. My room (209), on the corner, had a wonderful view of the Dom - the magnificent cathedral, but it was also lovely and quiet. The hotel is rather expensive for what is offered - large and comfortable, but plain and anonymous, rooms. I was surprised that there was no minibar in my room. The staff on the desk was very very helpful and pleasant and breakfast is good. My room was cool - personally, I like to sleep in a cool room, but I think some people might have found it cold. A nice touch: Haribo gummi bears on the pillow :-) shame they are not suitable for vegetarians :-(

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank AmnonLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed here as part of a group and if you have stayed in hotels in Europe they are all pretty similar.
The room was a good size, clean and comfortable and the staff were pleasant and spoke a number of different languages.

The hotel did have the best buffet breakfast I have had in a long time though, a real choice of cheese, breads, meats, fruits, ceral bars, and cooked sausages, eggs and bacon.

If I was back in the area I would definately stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed in a suite (we booked a room for 3) on the top floor (room 602 or 3?) and it was gorgeous. Spacious, beautifully decorated. A real pleasure to stay in. The hotel seemed very well run.

Breakfast was an absolute feast! Again, beautifully presented and so much choice - really, quite unbelievable. They even had cake ... which we felt was taking things a little far.

Was by far the nicest hotel we stayed in, and generally the standard during our tour was pretty high.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 602-603 - certainly ask to stay in one of the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Even though we only stayed one night we would certainly add this to our list of preferred hotels. Very good room - clean and comfortable - very good plentiful breakfast. Good location for touring the city.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JOHN04LEEDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The hotel is pretty standard. It was very clean. It has a huge and nice breakfast. It is in a nice location in the center of the old town, walkable to many shops and restaurants, as well as the town hall and cathedral. I had a beautiful view of the town from my room. The window opens all the way, which is a huge plus in summer, but it is quite noisy on the street outside, which includes the cathedral bells. It seems just slightly worn down-- difficult to get the TV to turn on and the toilet to flush and the shower to drain... close to time for a renovation I think. But overall I was happy and enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sm1231310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aachen hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Hotel Aachen am Dom
0.3 mi away
INNSIDE by Melia Aachen
0.3 mi away
Novotel Aachen City
Novotel Aachen City
#2 of 41 in Aachen
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Aachen City
0.4 mi away
Pullman Aachen Quellenhof
1.1 mi away
Mercure Hotel Aachen Europaplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aquis Grana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aquis Grana

Address: Buchel 32 Buchkremerstrasse, 52062 Aachen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Aachen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Aachen
Price Range: £54 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Aquis Grana 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HRS, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Aquis Grana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquis Grana Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing