We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel in Aachen”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Aquis Grana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Aquis Grana
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Aachen
Palo Alto, CA
Level Contributor
171 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in Aachen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2009

First, the Aquis Grana City Hotel is right in the center of Aachen. It is just a few minutes walk from the Cathedral of Charlemagne and the historic Town Hall. The tourist information office, where many bus routes converge, is just a block away. It's about a 20 minute walk from the train station.

Our check-in was very friendly and efficient. They had already printed-out our registration information based upon our reservation so I only had to sign my name and we had our key.

The room was large, with modern furnishings. It was very clean. The king-sized bed was comfortably firm. There was no air-conditioning but the window opened easily to provide fresh air. Although we opened the window for ventilation at night the room was very quiet. After about eight in the morning some outside noise started coming in. The only anomaly in the nice, large room was that the TV was very small. An internet connection was available in the room for a fee, but free wireless was available in the lobby. The lobby area with the wireless had some nice tables and chairs to work at.

The bathroom was divided - one large room with a sink and shower and a separate small room with the toilet and another sink. The room with the toilet was very, very, small and might be uncomfortable for a large person. All the fixtures were new and very clean.

The breakfast buffet, included in the room price, was generous, including eggs, breakfast meats, lots of fruits, breads and cereals. It was served in a nice restaurant area adjacent to the lobby. The Hotel is surrounded by numerous taverns and restaurants for other meals. Other shopping opportunities also were abundant in the area.

It appeared that many business folks were in the hotel. Considering the comfort we had at the Aqis Grana, I can understand why they would choose the place.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank swj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    124
    78
    9
    4
See reviews for
27
104
24
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
bari
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2008

I booked a double room for the European Science Parliament which took place in Aachen from 8-10 October 2008.I 'm really satisfied by it since it's a very elegant hotel.Our room was quite big,very clean.The breakfast service offered a wide variety of food and also the reception was very kind.There is a lift and i think it's one of the most important things in a hotel.I guess it's the best hotel for people who are engaged in travelling or discovering Aachen.The hotel is in the perfect position in the centre of Aachen so it's all close.I'm really satisfied,i advice it to you.

  • Liked — the breakfast :P
  • Disliked — nothing really
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank principessamazzone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2008

I stayed here on business but since it was booked and paid for by the company I was visiting I can't comment on value for money. It was in a great location though, very central as others have mentioned.
The room was nice and big, with separate toilet and bathroom. There was no minibar or tea/coffee making facilities, just one bottle of water which I think was priced at €4.
Breakfast was good, though it got a bit busy at times.
It's not really a hotel for staying in for the evening though, the bar is miniscule, as is most of the ground floor, but then there's no excuse not to go out, there are plenty of other places for food and drink on the doorstep.

  • Liked — Large rooms, clean + free wifi
  • Disliked — Lack of communal areas to sit/relax
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Cork_girl_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armadale
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2008

Stayed for three nights for a meeting. Modern hotel with a rather cold international aesthetic: could be almost anywhere in Europe. My room on the fifth floor had a nice view up to medieval Town Hall and to the cathedral if I stretched my neck. The hotel is well placed for the traditional heart of Aachen, with its many pavement bars and cafes.

Room clean, modern and irregularly shaped. Buffet breakfast pretty much what one would expect, served in a room with windows onto the street. Main negative point is the bar, where the bar itself and the room for drinking in are separate and both lacking any ambience.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Anitseptic bar area.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ShaleBing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baltimore, md
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2008

Our nicely refurbished room was extremely comfortable, bright, clean, airy, and nicely furnished. The bathroom, although lacking a tub, was quite large. The hotel location was excellent for sightseeing in Aachen. The breakfast was the best we have ever had in our trips to Europe. We were absolutely delighted with our stay.

  • Liked — Great rrom
  • Disliked — Everything was positive
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank bandi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2008

Tucked away in the middle of the one way system near Aachen's Dom is the Hotel Aquis. Some of the reviews I have read on Trip Advisor point to tired room furnishings and outdated decor. 12 months ago, they may have had a point.

However, the hotel has just undergone a major refurbishment. The foyet area is now very chic in a minimalist black and white colour scheme.

Breakfast here is brilliant and great value. The rooms are comfortable, flat screen TVs, safe etc. No minibar though nor tea/coffee making facilities. Also, there are no bath tubs - or there have never been in the rooms we have stayed in. Check with the hotel first.

The hotel's selling point is it's location. From here it is is a 2 min walk to both the Dom and the Rathaus. Brilliant! There is a small parking garage under the hotel for 9Eur a day.

Finding this hotel by car is a nightmare however. Buy a GPS beforehand! There are little brown signs saying Aquis Grana but they do not really help.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Impossible to find by car
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Captain_H_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maastricht, Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2007

Stayed here in December 2005 and also in December 2007. My, how things have improved...
Gone are the 70's bathrooms and bedrooms and in are new contemporary styles. We had no complaints and the hotel is ideally located for the Christmas markets.
Will probably stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamboChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aachen hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Hotel Aachen am Dom
0.3 mi away
Novotel Aachen City
Novotel Aachen City
#1 of 41 in Aachen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
0.3 mi away
INNSIDE by Melia Aachen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pullman Aachen Quellenhof
1.4 mi away
Art Hotel Aachen Superior
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Aachen City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aquis Grana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aquis Grana

Property: Hotel Aquis Grana
Address: Buchel 32 Buchkremerstrasse, 52062 Aachen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Aachen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Aachen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Aquis Grana 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), HRS, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Aquis Grana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquis Grana Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing