We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's an Ibis.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Aachen Marschiertor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ibis Aachen Marschiertor
Ranked #6 of 41 Hotels in Aachen
Sacramento
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“It's an Ibis.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

An Ibis is always a pretty safe bet when you're traveling in Europe. They are not fancy or particularly charming, but they are clean and cheap and sometimes that goes a long way.

This Ibis is in a really nice location in Aachen right across a small park from the Marschiertor - which is the big, old gate where you enter the central city. Don't confuse it with the other Ibis in town...which is probably fine too.

The rooms are small, but get the job done for a couple. And there are about 10 pastry shops in easy walking distance if you want to skip the Ibis breakfast.

Aachen is nice town too. We flew into Dusseldorf from LAX and hopped a quick train to Aachen. Pretty easily done.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    324
    123
    16
    2
See reviews for
69
272
75
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herzogenrath, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

The hotel is very close to Aachen Hauptbahnhof and also very near to the center of Aachen. It took only 3 minutes walking from the railway station. We spent 1 night at this hotel and found the room was very neat and clean and the service was excellent. Our room was facing the main road, but it wasn't noisy at all. Yet, it was very nice to see Aachen view in the morning from our window. A reccomended hotel to stay in Aachen :)

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShirleyPrimpuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

With temperatures around 30C and no air conditioning, we had an absolutely miserable night trying to sleep. Of course, our only resort was to open the window as wide as possible; accordingly, we heard traffic noise (and for a Sunday night/Monday morning, it seemed rather significant).

All else with the hotel (staff, cleanliness, location) was fine.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aachen, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

This weekend the temperature was over 30 degrees C, and with no air conditioning in the hotel it was necessary to open the hotel bedroom window in hope of some cool air.

The first room we were allocated was on the front. This meant significant traffic noise from the ring road. To make the situation worse out room was directly above the main hotel entrance, slowing us to hear every taxi returning loud guests to the hotel.

The hotel moved us to a room on the back for the second night, which overlooked the car park. Unfortunately for us there was a noisy women and streaking children party on the terrace of a close apartment. Noise was audible even with the window closed. This party ended at 02.00am.

So if the weather is hot in Aachen and you want to avoid disrupted sleep from traffic noise, returning drunks and neighborhood parties, you might consider one of the many out of town family hotels. For sure I will.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BOB777877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aachen, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

It is only a few minutes walk to the city, very close to the railway station.
We had family and friend from all over the world staying in this hotel.
It was fine to everyone! Really can recommend this!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ullas2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Very good hotel close to the town center. facilities and staff first class. Great breakfast and meals in the restaurant. Rooms very clean and quiet. Safe parking. As in many hotels on the continent , no tea making facilities and only one easy chair provided.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank JOE206367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aachen hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel ibis Aachen Hauptbahnhof
0.7 mi away
Novotel Aachen City
Novotel Aachen City
#1 of 41 in Aachen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Hotel Aachen am Dom
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ibis Styles Aachen City
0.8 mi away
INNSIDE  Aachen
INNSIDE Aachen
#2 of 41 in Aachen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pullman Aachen Quellenhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Aachen Marschiertor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Aachen Marschiertor

Property: Ibis Aachen Marschiertor
Address: Friedland Strasse 6-8, 52064 Aachen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Aachen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Aachen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Aachen Marschiertor 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Aachen Marschiertor hotel is located in the city centre, 5 min from the railway station and 2 km from the Eurogress Convention Centre. Close to Stadttheater Aachen, it has 104 comfortable rooms, 58 of them non smoking, with direct telephone line and cable TV, private pay parking, 3 meeting rooms and a bar open 24 hours. Guests on a business trip will appreciate the WiFi broadband Internet acess. Golf course and tennis courts just 5 km from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ibis Aachen Marschiertor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Aachen Marschiertor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing