We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a look”

Three Country Border
Ranked #8 of 59 things to do in Aachen
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Geographic point where Germany, Belgium and the Netherlands meet.
Hull
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Worth a look”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We visited this point as part of the National Holidays "Three Countries" tour and it was a good place to spend an afternoon. The towers are a must to really get the best views or if you're not good with heights just huddle around the post marking the border meeting point.
There is good walking in the hills around the park all well signed and there are a few fast food eateries on site as well.
We were there on a local Bank Holiday and it was a little too busy for our tastes but even so you could get food without too much of a wait and then get off the main tracks to enjoy the scenery. As others have said, not a destination in itself but this is a very attractive area to visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank StephenOldman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    133
    53
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“I get to check off three countries at one go!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I visited family in Germany and we went to the three country border for fries, photo-taking and the labyrinth. The labyrinth took us an hour to complete and it was fun! There were bridges, water "traps" (don't worry, you won't get wet if you time it right) and lots of dead ends. I really enjoyed it and would recommend it to visitors who have time on their hands, good company, and weather on their side :)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank MalaysianSingaporean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raanana Israel
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Average. Skip the maze”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Was nice to take pictures in the point the 3 countries meet. The maze was to difficult for my 15 years girl and she insist she should not have entered.

Helpful?
Thank nadavit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essen, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Quaint rather than impressive”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Well, don't expect any huge, impressive site... This is a point where by chance, and on top of a hill (highest "mountain" of the continental Netherlands), three countries touch each other geographically. Quite nice to visit if you are around anyway (and yes, there is food and fun available), but I would not take a huge detour just to jump from one country to another three times...
Quite a nice bike tour from the Aachen area, though.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jede72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heerlen, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Awesome place to relax”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Awesome hiking trails, a couple places to eat. Playgrounds for kids. Pet friendly. Climb the towers and see all three countries. Peaceful and we will visit this place often.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank pitgirl70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Three Country Border also viewed

Aachen, North Rhine-Westphalia
Aachen, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Aachen, North Rhine-Westphalia
Aachen, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Three Country Border? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing