We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still one of our favourites”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Aachen am Dom
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Aachen
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Still one of our favourites”
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We always stay here when in Aachen as its bang in the centre of town & has parking (at extra cost).
You can walk to shops & restaurants & main square easily.
RECEPTION STAFF are always very helpful to us - and once even cancelled a pre-paid room charge for us when bad snow stopped us from arriving.
They seem to understand that rules are for general guidance and may not be appropriate for EVERY circumstance.
Only one problem - being in centre of town, there can be noise from the streets below.

Room Tip: Top floor is too hot in high summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jody80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    350
    133
    29
    12
See reviews for
85
285
53
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

It is very nice hotel and any one is not locking for 5 star hotel this hotel is more than good.the location is nice many shops around it.resturants too it is quite hotel with very nice people and I am sure they have anise restaurants but I didn't have a chance to visit them coz I had to go out with relatives who had apartment

Room Tip: every room is good.I didn't go to other rooms but my room was almost in the east side and was go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dibsy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dijon, France
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2012

The hotel is located in downtown Aachen very close to the major shopping area. The cathedral is also close by. The hotel has private (and fenced) parking area for their guests in a (public) parking garage across the street.

Breakfast is good, the internet works well.

The rooms at the street side of the hotel can be noisy in the (early) morning due to street cleaning and delivery trucks.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heinpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottery St. Mary, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
752 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

The hotel is situated in the busy shopping centre of Aachen and fronts onto a major road. It is conveniently located for the limited area of ‘old town’ with its bars and restaurants. We had a large superior room that was well equipped: it had a balcony but the hotel’s location limited opportunities for its use. Secure car parking is available a few hundred metres away: best to park up and unload outside the hotel. Breakfasts seemed expensive: we chose one of the local patisseries instead.

Room Tip: Traffic noise was not much of a problem - but you may be better off the higher the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westerlo, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

very good location, steps from the shopping area and the Dom. we got a big corner room which accommodated two adults and two kids. the room was facing the main street but it was very quiet. we had problems with the temperature in the room, too cold, and although we called the reception several times they couldn't solve it. breakfast seemed expensive as there are many other options in the area. parking just around the corner on Buchel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moskonos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aachen hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Aachen City
Novotel Aachen City
#2 of 41 in Aachen
880 reviews
0.3 mi away
INNSIDE by Melia Aachen
0.4 mi away
Pullman Aachen Quellenhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Aachen City
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aquis Grana
Hotel Aquis Grana
#8 of 41 in Aachen
284 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mercure Aachen Europaplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Aachen am Dom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Aachen am Dom

Property: Mercure Hotel Aachen am Dom
Address: Peterstr. 1, 52062 Aachen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Aachen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Aachen
#4 Family Hotel in Aachen
#5 Business Hotel in Aachen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Aachen am Dom 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Aachen am Dom, a 3 star hotel with 117 rooms, is the perfect base to discover this historic imperial city. Enjoy your stay in our unique, centrally located hotel. The hotel is only 500 m from the Cathedral with its treasure chamber, the townhall and the Elisenbrunnen fountain. Buffet breakfast is served from 6.30 a.m. to 10.30 a.m. at the Lounge 1858 restaurant. The hotel also features a meeting room for up to 30 people. Be spoiled with selected Grands Vins Mercure wines at the hotel bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Hotel Aachen am Dom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Hotel Aachen Am Dom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing