We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No room !!!!! At arrival”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Aachen am Dom
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Aachen
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

I was about about to arrive late to aachen (2pm) so I sent a mail informing the hotel reservation service, hence they reply it with a : "thank for the info, now your room is safe". I do not know the concept of safe but sure doesn't mean that one arrives at 2pm and the receptionist does not have any room for you! And you have to find other hotel

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank Tiago M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (699)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 699 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2013

all ratings are with respect to comparable prices and hotel star rating. this is amongst the mid-high range in aachen.

-there is no real lounge/lobby/common space area to meet or wait for people. just a tiny bar/lounge in the end corner
-similarly the reception desk, like the bar, is not constantly manned. not necessary a problem but just demonstrating its not a "social" hotel.
-everything is small from the room, desk space, shower
-2/3* bathroom amenities (soaps)
-problematic wifi
-temp control wont go below 21*F
-2x wide bed has 1 single pillow?
-noise level from street
-charged me for minibar that i did not use (i didnt bother to argue over a 3EUR charge)

the only positive thing is that the bath is decently modern. and tons of television channels (albeit i dont watch it).

its NOT that anything was particularly or glaringly BAD. its just that at 130EUR/night average rate, only the Pullman costs more, and there is no way this is the 2nd best hotel in the city.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justarandomperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

After only 1 night of a 4 night stay I feel I have to moan, the room is small and noisy and had chewing gum stuck to the desk, breakfast is poor, there is a market over the road where you can get the same food for less than €5. The snack bar is non existent and the bar has just taken me 35 minutes to get a bottled beer which I could get over the road for 4 bottles at the same price, truly shocking service. I would stay at the Novotel 250 metres along the road. Other than that it's great!

Room Tip: Novotel Aachen City.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Accor traveller
33
Reviewed 16 September 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I was there for 10 days in Sept 2013,Staff were pleasant and helped us with information,beautiful central location of the city, close to public transport, all famous places are near by,The rooms are stylish, modern and clean. location is attractive,in breakfast, you have multiple options, food quality was very good,food is testy.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HareshChanchal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Beautiful central location, close to public transport. The rooms are stylish, modern and clean and quiet too, despite being on a main thoroughfare. The noise isolation is very good. The bathroom was maybe a bit small, but this inconvenience was offset by the king-size shower. The room had a wonderful view (we were on the 6th floor) and the bed had a nice hard mattress (remember folks that soft mattresses are bad for you). I have noticed that most reception staff in large hotels tend to be well-versed in a limited range of standard accomplishments, which they execute mechanically, but entirely out of their element when faced with (what they think are) out-of-the-ordinary or unusual requests for information (even if simple). In any case, I expect to be provided a decent service, politely, if possible, but not to be waited on hand and foot. I don't regard hotel staff as "servants", unlike many people.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gentpag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aachen hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Aachen City
Novotel Aachen City
#2 of 41 in Aachen
937 reviews
0.3 mi away
INNSIDE by Melia Aachen
1 mi away
Mercure Hotel Aachen Europaplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Aachen City
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pullman
Hotel Pullman
#3 of 41 in Aachen
1,114 reviews
1.4 mi away
Art Hotel Aachen Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Aachen am Dom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Aachen am Dom

Address: Peterstr. 1, 52062 Aachen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Aachen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Aachen
#5 Business Hotel in Aachen
Price Range: £84 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Aachen am Dom 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Aachen am Dom, a 3 star hotel with 117 rooms, is the perfect base to discover this historic imperial city. Enjoy your stay in our unique, centrally located hotel. The hotel is only 500 m from the Cathedral with its treasure chamber, the townhall and the Elisenbrunnen fountain. Buffet breakfast is served from 6.30 a.m. to 10.30 a.m. at the Lounge 1858 restaurant. The hotel also features a meeting room for up to 30 people. Be spoiled with selected Grands Vins Mercure wines at the hotel bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Hotel Aachen am Dom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Hotel Aachen Am Dom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing