We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Aachen am Dom
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Aachen
Reviewed 31 May 2014

best location you can get, middle of city center and walking distance to almost all city's attraction and public transport. I only noticed there's no in room dining menu, but we didn't need it as we were at walking distance to all the good restaurants in the area. Breakfast is a bit overpriced, and we didn't include it, as many bakeries around the corner with nice indoors and outdoors seats. Rooms are comfortable, TV has many channels with different languages. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vaguish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (706)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 706 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel is convenient for shops, station, and sites of Aachen. the room was very clean, well appointed and really bright - with floor to ceiling windows on two sides. Hotel breakfast was buffet style. Loads of choice and set us both up for the rest of the day. Only needed a coffee and cake to see us through to dinner. Staff very obliging. Free coffee machine int he bar 24 hours a day was a real plus. Only two slight down sides - towels were a bit basic and the design of the square means sound carries - even four floors up so had to keep the windows closed at night and it was a bit hot.

Room Tip: Corner room is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goldfinch51a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My wife and I recently stayed in this hotel and were both impressed by the standard. We have stayed in Aachen on many occasions and in various hotels but this one has now become top of our list to re visit. The staff were friendly and spoke English, the hotel was very clean and modern and right in the centre of Aachen so everywhere you need to go is within easy walking distance. The room was a good size with a very nice spacious bathroom. Breakfast was very good with a selection of hot and cold food, plenty to choose from. Parking is within easy reach and although the hotel offers parking it is the same price as the nearby multi storey one we always use and works out at 12 Euro a night although having said that we parked at 1pm on Monday and picked the car up at around 11am the next day and it was still 12 Euro, not bad value. We will definitely stay here again when we revisit for the Christmas Market.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robbly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank KhalidYaseen
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 April 2014

When looking for a hotel in Aachen recently, we wanted something central and cheap and booked the Mercure Hotel Aachen am Dom. The room was of an excellent standard - large, high ceilings, tastefully decorated with lovely bed linen, curtains and furnishings. The bathroom was also to a very high standard, and seemed relatively recently refurbished. We had the bonus of a balcony. All in all, it was tremendous value for money.

The staff were extremely helpful and knowledgeable too.

The only drawback was that the public computer prevented access to many common websites.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

The Mercure Hotel is a good place to stay if you want to explore the center of Aachen. There are many cute little shops around good food places too. The bed was really comfortable and cosy and their breakfast selection is remarkable.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diamonds53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

The hotel is about a 12 minute walk from the train station and very close to the Dom. Once you orient yourself, the Market Place is less than 6 minutes away. We arrived before noon but the desk clerk found an available room and we were able to check in early. Our room was immaculate and the speedy wifi connection was easy to access. We did not choose to pay extra for breakfast, so I can't comment on that. All of the staff speak excellent English and are very helpful. If you have a choice, ask for a room on the pedestrian walkway side of the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flatlander39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aachen hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Aachen City
Novotel Aachen City
#2 of 41 in Aachen
943 reviews
0.3 mi away
INNSIDE by Melia Aachen
1 mi away
Mercure Hotel Aachen Europaplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pullman
Hotel Pullman
#3 of 41 in Aachen
1,126 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Aachen City
1.4 mi away
Art Hotel Aachen Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Aachen am Dom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Aachen am Dom

Address: Peterstr. 1, 52062 Aachen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Aachen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Aachen
#5 Business Hotel in Aachen
Price Range: £83 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Aachen am Dom 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Aachen am Dom, a 3 star hotel with 117 rooms, is the perfect base to discover this historic imperial city. Enjoy your stay in our unique, centrally located hotel. The hotel is only 500 m from the Cathedral with its treasure chamber, the townhall and the Elisenbrunnen fountain. Buffet breakfast is served from 6.30 a.m. to 10.30 a.m. at the Lounge 1858 restaurant. The hotel also features a meeting room for up to 30 people. Be spoiled with selected Grands Vins Mercure wines at the hotel bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Mercure Hotel Aachen am Dom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Hotel Aachen Am Dom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing