We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay Hotel”
Review of Hotel Krone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Krone
Ranked #36 of 41 Hotels in Aachen
Mellieha, Malta
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Short stay Hotel”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Stopped in this hotel for the night because it offered what I was looking for: reasonable price, wifi, breakfast and a garage. The Hotel is pretty central, less than one kilometre from the town centre, with a few supermarkets, a launderette and an Irish bar in the close vicinity. The stairs leading up to the non smoking rooms are a bit worn and slightly dirty but the room is clean albeit small. I went for a single room, on the small side then, but I was there for one night so it was no bother (my room was overlooking the back of the Hotel so I had no noise issues). The free wifi worked well, the so did bathroom/shower. I had breakfast there too, a typical German selection of cold meats/cheeses, omelette and cereals, quite good and plentiful. The garage is enclosed and costs an extra 10€ per 24HR. It's not a palace but at that price you couldn't ask for much more!

Room Tip: Not that I've experienced the rooms over Julicher Strasse, but mine was overlooking the backyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Makuanui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    14
    26
    10
    10
See reviews for
8
27
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
sierra foothills CA
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Stayed here 8 nights in sept. about $155 a night U.S. Most other hotels were full so didn't have much of a choice. Rooms are small as are the bathrooms but kept clean. Our room faced Julicher st. which by 5 am gets very busy. every morn. I would wake up and put in my ear plugs.
Rooms facing the back would be preferred. Breakfast was great, meat, cheeses, cereal,breads, etc. On weekends they had scrambled eggs. All at the front desk were friendly and spoke decent english. Bars and grocery stores are very close, even a store where you can get a bag of ice! ( very rare) This part of the street gets down onto the working class a little bit but there was never a sense of not being safe. Aachen itself seems to be an extremely safe and fun place to be. If this is the only place that fits your budget i wouldn't hesitate to recommend it. Or check out the Hotel Marx where we went next

Room Tip: get a room not facing Julicher St
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sawdust444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goose Green, Falkland Islands
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I was a little dubious about this hotel, having booked on the internet and the fact you never really can trust the pictures.

It is very easy to find on Julicher Stasse, near the centre (10-15 mins) of Aachen.

A 6 space carpark is available however the spaces are tight and you need to reverse out if you drive in(and vv). Parking costs €10 a night, so there may be cheaper elsewhere.

The checkin was friendly and efficient given that we arrived very late.

The rooms are small, the bathrooms are smaller (you need to keep the door open to wash at the sink!) in the single rooms. They are however looking newly decorated, despite the appearance of the corridors and the taps etc in the bathroom. I think it was an old hotel that has been freshened up with new floors and wallpapers etc.

Bed was amazing with a very comfortable mattress and single white duvet.

I had room 21 at the back of the hotel and it was very quiet and comfortable.

Breakfast is served from 6:30 and had a good choice and included hot eggs of some sort (boiled / scrambled with salmon).

There is no lounge, except for a small seating area. I think there is wifi, but didn't need to use it.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the back - e.g. 21
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Portugal, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

This is a fine hotel for the budget traveller. The room was small but reasonably well equipped, and especially clean, so no worries. The mattress was really too soft, and if you sat on the edge of the bed, you risked falling off as the mattress is that soft. Breakfast was good with a large choice of food, though it was really busy on the Sunday morning when I left, so get there earlier rather than later. Overall recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for the back end of the hotel, not the front which faces a busy street full of traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank levado656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

The hotel is approx. 15 to 20 minute walk to the old city of Aachen. Free parking is just around the corner (weekends only and ask the front desk about it -they might not tell you if you don't ask about it). The rooms are very modern though not very spacious (standard double room). The beds weren't that comfortable either because they put two separate mattresses on the bed which make you easy to (almost) fall of the bed.

Shower is very small, but nice. Breakfast is slightly above average (continental breakfast with German Kaiser bread). Hotel staff is very friendly.

WiFi in the rooms (at least our room) is terrible! It keeps disconnecting every few minutes or so without any reason. Really annoying and shouldn't be necessary.

All in all it's a OK hotel when you look at price, location and comfort. If I visit Aachen again I won't be staying here again, though.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveltheworld8187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Stayed here whilst in Italy on vacation and would definatly stay here again.Beautiful hotel and great for people on the budget.Nice clean room with comfy bed and en-suit.Self-service breakfast included in the price.The staff was very professional and friendly.
Perfect location for the local attractions,one what i would recommend is the Carolus Termen,termal bath which is just a few minutes walk.
Overall was happy with the stay and will definatly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orsolya_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

This place is nothing to be excited about, but it serves its purpose. To provide you a night of sleep, nothing more. The location is average, the room and bathroom tiny. Rooms are clean and the price is fair. Beds could be a bit bigger, I was afraid I would fall out of it.
Overall, if you need a place to stay in Aachen that is very cheap, but clean. This is a good alternative. I had to book this last minute, but if I had more time I would most likely search for another place closer to the city center.

Room Tip: good luck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SolOrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aachen hotels
0.4 mi away
ibis budget Aachen City
ibis budget Aachen City
#12 of 41 in Aachen
361 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Aachen City
0.6 mi away
Hotel Lousberg
Hotel Lousberg
#29 of 41 in Aachen
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mercure Aachen Europaplatz
0.8 mi away
Hotel ibis Aachen Hauptbahnhof
1.5 mi away
Ibis Budget Aachen Nord
Ibis Budget Aachen Nord
#13 of 41 in Aachen
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Krone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Krone

Property: Hotel Krone
Address: Juelicher Str. 91a, 52070 Aachen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Aachen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 41 Hotels in Aachen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Krone 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Krone Aachen | City-Eurogress is a privately run boutique hotel located in the heart of Aachen, home of the world heritage Cathedral of Aix-la-Chapelle. The hotel is well-known for its personal service, convenient location and modern facilities. Hotel Krone Aachen | City-Eurogress is tailored to the needs of business travellers, cyclists, motorcyclists, couples, groups and visitors of the Eurogress at an exceptional price-performance ratio. The historic old town with its famous Aachen Cathedral and main station can be reached within a five to ten minutes’ walk. The surrounding motorways A4 and A44 can be reached in only three minutes. The in-house parking garage, coupled with modern furnishing and personal service make Hotel Krone Aachen | City-Eurogress one of the most popular accommodations in the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Krone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Krone Hotel Aachen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing