We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Etap Aachen”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ibis Budget Aachen Nord
Ranked #13 of 41 Hotels in Aachen
Glasgow
1 review
“Etap Aachen”
Reviewed 23 April 2011

Visiting Maastricht, which was very busy and very expensive hotels due to big cycling race. Aachen close by. Would not normally have stayed in an Etap but travelling this part of trip solo and keen to minimise cost. Etap was okay for the money, but the room was rather stale-smoky. I checked in late so very good this is automated. Overall pretty good. would use again when on a budget..

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    129
    57
    15
    9
See reviews for
63
81
46
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2011

The hotel is mostly self-service, starting with a kiosk for check-in. Although I was sure I selected a no-smoking room, the computer gave us a smoking room. We wandered the halls and found a gentleman who (gudginly) helped us switch rooms - something I could not figure out how to do at the kiosk. The room was small but ensuite. There was no fan in the bathroom so we had to prop open the door to air out after a shower. We could easily push the beds together to make a sort of double bed but having a real double would have been nicer.

Being self-service, there was no one to ask how to catch the bus or ask for directions. The bus stop is just down the street. There is a sidewalk but the street you need to cross is very wide (8 lanes) and very busy (at the freeway exit/on-ramp). We decided to drive into town instead.

The doors all unlock via key code. There was no deadbolt inside and I wondered, "If the power goes out, does the door stay locked or go unlocked?" I would not have felt safe staying by myself.

For me, breakfast was the bright spot. The breakfast was reasonable (decent choice of cereals, coffee, fruit, etc.) and the dining area was clean and bright. Not very friendly but nice.

With the money we spent on parking and a bit more, we could have stayed at one of the less expensive downtown hotels such as the Novotel - which is what we will do next time.

So, the hotel is clean and efficient. But it is really nothing more than a place to sleep and grab a bit before heading back onto the highway. It's not the place to stay if you want to see Aachen or experience Aachen's friendly people.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oiwseufrwbfkwjndc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2011

Clean, quiet, well-maintained and only 3km from the city centre - possible to drive or take public bus to centre. Breakfast was generous and tasty with a good variety of breads, spreads, cheese and meats.

Because it's very close to the stadium, I understand it gets very busy around big football matches.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SnowInBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 24 January 2011

Ordinary hotel vith good services,in good place. I'am only propose this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 6 December 2010

L.S.,
Again we spend a night at an Etap hotel. Now in Aachen. It was easy to find. We were late to check in but the staff, who was not on duty at that moment, helped us with our reservation. Good for them!! It was clean, quiet and we slept rather good. Super is the little privat bath facility and seperate toilet. Formule 1: eat your hart out!
Onlu the airconditioning (for this price!) could work a bit stronger, but that was the only smal remark! If I need a good and cheap room, I certainly wil choose Etap!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aachen hotels
1.9 mi away
ibis budget Aachen City
ibis budget Aachen City
#11 of 41 in Aachen
356 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ibis Styles Aachen City
2.4 mi away
Hotel ibis Aachen Hauptbahnhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mercure Aachen Europaplatz
0.5 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Aachen
Leonardo Hotel Aachen
#6 of 41 in Aachen
274 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ibis Aachen Marschiertor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Budget Aachen Nord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Aachen Nord

Property: Ibis Budget Aachen Nord
Address: Strangenhaeuschen 15, 52070 Aachen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Etap Hotel)
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Aachen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 41 Hotels in Aachen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Ibis Budget Aachen Nord 1*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ibis Budget Aachen Nord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing