We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic but comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ibis Budget Aachen Nord
Ranked #13 of 41 Hotels in Aachen
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Basic but comfortable”
Reviewed 10 March 2013

I booked this hotel online prior to a drive from the UK to Austria. I paid in advance so book-in consisted of picking up the codes for our keyless rooms. We stayed just one night and price was important - the Ibis was superb value and suited our needs perfectly. The rooms are basic but quiet and comfortable, the shower worked fine and the buffet breakfast was very good for 6 Euros - the coffee was good too.
It's right by the autobahn and has free wifi.

Good tip? If you want a quick evening meal try the sports centre bistro next door. good pizzas and salads - the beer tasted good too.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nogmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    128
    57
    15
    9
See reviews for
63
80
46
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

I booked two rooms in this hotel for visiting Aachen in mid-December for the Xmas market. In the US, this is called a motel . Located off the motorway, a little bit out of town, with ample car parking, no-frills amenities and box-like look and feel. So it is a motel about 3.5k away from Aachen city center. Clean, functional, no hassle electronic check-in, quiet.
All in working order, Accor-style. It is definitely low-end but that-s what you booked.

Room Tip: Ask for a no-smoking room as I believe they have both.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pabcbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Was ok there. We have been just for one night there - in the Trip to Netherland and it was clean and friendly employees there. Nothing special, but clean basic Interiour. small Breakfast available during morning Hours, it was good.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodz, Poland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Perfect place when you need to come here late in the evening and continue your journey in the morning. Near the motorway. Room as always clean, with WiFi access. Parking at site. No problem with access even if the service is finished - there's a machine at the entrance where you pay.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mmateoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We stayed here for the first night of our road trip from London to Budapest and back. It was perfect for our needs - great value for money; clean; easy to locate; with free parking and WiFi; and a helpful receptionist who spoke very good English. Aachen is a relatively small town but it has a lot to offer as a stopover - it has some pretty little streets; a UNESCO World Heritage listed cathedral; a wide variety of good quality shops and eateries; and a speciality type of lebkuchen called 'printen' (which is like a spiced gingerbread type biscuit). It is easy to get into town from the hotel by car and parking in garages in the centre of town is considerably cheap.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kmhoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

This was the perfect hotel for an overnight stay, if you're just looking for a bed for the night. Situated close to the motorway, was very easy to find. The car park is right next to the hotel, no need to trawl around side streets. If you're looking for food, there's a few fast-food places within a 15-20 minute walk. It ain't going to win hotel of the year, and I wouldn't stay there for more than a couple of nights, but it did the job for us.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aachen hotels
1.9 mi away
ibis budget Aachen City
ibis budget Aachen City
#10 of 41 in Aachen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ibis Aachen Marschiertor
2.4 mi away
Hotel ibis Aachen Hauptbahnhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Ibis Styles Aachen City
3.3 mi away
Art Hotel Aachen
Art Hotel Aachen
#24 of 41 in Aachen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
1.9 mi away
Novotel Aachen City
Novotel Aachen City
#1 of 41 in Aachen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Budget Aachen Nord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Aachen Nord

Property: Ibis Budget Aachen Nord
Address: Strangenhaeuschen 15, 52070 Aachen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Etap Hotel)
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Aachen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 41 Hotels in Aachen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Ibis Budget Aachen Nord 1*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, ACCOR and Hotel.de so you can book your Ibis Budget Aachen Nord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing