We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First and Last stay at this place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ibis Budget Aachen Nord
Ranked #16 of 41 Hotels in Aachen
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We were given a smoking room, the front desk clerk told us that since we made our reservation on line we did not have a choice between smoking and non-smoking rooms. The room smelled bad enough that we purchased a can of air freshener for it.
Numerious cob-webs on the ceiling also, other than that it was clean.

Very loud people in the reception desk area most of the night and slamming of doors. There was no clerk at the desk to complain to.

I am pretty sure we will pay more next time to stay at a better place. I guess you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank warhog20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 276 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2013

Booked this hotel for 3 nights to see friends for the first time as it was a surprise visit. Left early after staying just one night of the three we booked. The car park took us ages to find a space as it was taken up by commercial vehicles over 7.5 tons. If you need parts for your car over the fence is a scrap yard.
We understood the rooms would be basic but these were below an acceptable standard. The bed was a chipboard base with a 5 inch foam mattress on top.
When we arrived outside there were more truckers hanging about outside and we had to fight our way through to get to reception., it reminded me of a local transport cafe from the 1960's.
The room was very basic but not particularly clean with cobwebs hanging to the ceiling and the wall. The television remote control was filthy (black)
The walls were badly marked and the heating / air conditioning was not working.
We were so disappointed with the room that although we paid for 3 nights we cut our loss and moved out after the first night because it was totally unacceptable.

Room Tip: Don't bother to stop unless you are desperate for a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naomi1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

This was our go to hotel when traveling by car from uk to Austria and it simple does what it says on the tin!!
Rooms are clean and quiet despite their proximity to the motorway.
No "luxury" amenities or even a kettle but you do get a comfortable bed and a decent shower and for the price I have absolutely no complaints.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HunglishCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

My wife compared this hotel to her dorm room in college. But it had a shower in the room and a toilet in the closet. Internet worked well and it was good for a stop on our way to a 4x4 event. We would have had issues if we would have been towing the jeep only one pull thru area that was already taken when we got there. Right across from an ADAC center.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Shagymb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Stop over on the way to Austria. Easy drive from Calais, very close to the motorway so no time wasted finding the hotel. Quiet comfortable room, clean non-smoking free wifi. Above average breakfast for the price. Excellent staff. I will use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fatboygto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Check in was simple, the room was clean and tidy, smaller than expected but big enough for an overnight stay. Wouldn't stay for more than a couple of nights. Located out of town with a close proximity to the Autobahn, ideal for the short stay visitor. Buffet breakfast was very good. I would definitely use IBIS Budget again

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank BHAAachen_Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

I booked this hotel online prior to a drive from the UK to Austria. I paid in advance so book-in consisted of picking up the codes for our keyless rooms. We stayed just one night and price was important - the Ibis was superb value and suited our needs perfectly. The rooms are basic but quiet and comfortable, the shower worked fine and the buffet breakfast was very good for 6 Euros - the coffee was good too.
It's right by the autobahn and has free wifi.

Good tip? If you want a quick evening meal try the sports centre bistro next door. good pizzas and salads - the beer tasted good too.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nogmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aachen hotels
2.4 mi away
Hotel ibis Aachen Hauptbahnhof
3.3 mi away
Art Hotel Aachen
Art Hotel Aachen
#23 of 41 in Aachen
102 reviews
2.9 mi away
Art Hotel Aachen Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mercure Hotel Aachen Europaplatz
2.6 mi away
Ibis Aachen Marschiertor
1.5 mi away
Hotel Krone
Hotel Krone
#38 of 41 in Aachen
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Budget Aachen Nord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Aachen Nord

Address: Strangenhaeuschen 15, 52070 Aachen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Etap Hotel)
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Aachen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 41 Hotels in Aachen
Price Range: £42 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Ibis Budget Aachen Nord 1*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ibis Budget Aachen Nord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing