We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Aachen City
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Aachen
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
660 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,027 helpful votes
“Comfortable”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Good location, noiseless room, very comfortable, basic facilities in the room but more then sufficient for a short stay. Basic internet is free for checking emails etc. Internet charge for surfing the net is 6.50 Euro for 24 hours. Bar is nice, breakfast was extensive. Short walk from the city centre.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sea98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    446
    98
    16
    11
See reviews for
243
306
54
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We have to agree with much written in the previous reviews. This is a good, clean Novotel giving what you expect - wide choice of breakfast, helpful staff, clean rooms, well sound proofed, slow WiFi, fairly hard beds (which we slept soundly in), bathroom and toilet separate (good idea) but no hand basin in toilet (strange idea). Hotel is a few hundred yards from pedestrianised centre, surrounded by cheaper shops and casinos but on a main street and the area was safe enough in the day and evening. Good base for us to explore Aachen a bit and visit the Spa grand prix.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickMBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

It is a typical novotel with all the amenities you would expect. We didn't have breakfast in the hotel as we felt that 19 euro per person is too much. There are lots of bakeries nearby which offer a decent contintental breakfast for 4 euros or a little more/less. The hotel is clean and the service good, though lacks the personal touch. We were in a room facing a side street but it was still very noisy as there are casinos all around the hotel. We didn't feel threatened at any point and didn't feel it was a dodgy area (as some feedback implies) but we are from London and maybe more used to people hanging out late at night and bouncers etc. There are some homeless people in the area, mainly collecting bottles as in Germany you get Pfand (you get 25 cents) if you return and empty bottle to a shop. The gym was tiny, 5 pieces of cardiovascular equipment and 1 weight machine, it look like more in the picture.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BikerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Stayed here for the 2013 Grand Prix, quality hotel in a nice location to reach the circuit, generally about 75 minutes on the coach, nice clean modern hotel with easy reach to the town and its night life, watch out for the red light district which appeared from nowhere

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Novotel as a part of a 4 day tour to the Belgium Grand Prix (we took a one hour bus each day from the hotel to Spa). Rooms were fine, spacious and provided everything we needed. There was complimentary wifi which was slow and temperamental. A premium wifi service was available at 6EUR per day which we used once and was very good and fast.

Breakfast was very good - meats, fruits, cereals, breads, pancakes and cooked items available as self service.

After long days at the track, we ate at the hotel restaurant twice which was quiet but served good food, was reasonably priced with friendly service.

Would highly recommend this hotel and Aachen to anyone thinking of going to the Belgium Grand Prix and wants to escape camping and unpredictable weather of Spa!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

This hotel was used as a stop over on a driving holiday to Lake Garda. The hotel is excellent in everyday.
Great service, new & clean with good sized bedrooms. Staff were great with our kids & gave us advice for eating out in Aachen.

The breakfast was also great with loads of choice. The car park was tricky to find but once found it all made sense.

Would recommend!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bestservedchilled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aachen hotels
0.2 mi away
INNSIDE by Melia Aachen
0.3 mi away
Pullman Aachen Quellenhof
0.2 mi away
Mercure Hotel Aachen am Dom
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Aachen City
1.4 mi away
Art Hotel Aachen Superior
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aquis Grana
Hotel Aquis Grana
#8 of 41 in Aachen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Aachen City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Aachen City

Property: Novotel Aachen City
Address: Peterstr. 66, 52062 Aachen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Aachen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Aachen
#1 Family Hotel in Aachen
#1 Luxury Hotel in Aachen
#2 Romantic Hotel in Aachen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Aachen City 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Novotel Aachen City is located in the heart of the imperial city of Aachen, between the cathedral, convention centre, casino and Carolus thermal baths. With 154 spacious, airconditioned rooms, seven modern meeting rooms, stylish design and modern communications technology, our 4 star hotel offers business travellers and holidaymakers the highest standard of comfort. Unwind on our terrace, at the restaurant or bar. Revitalise high above the roofs of Aachen in our fitness centre with steam bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Aachen City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Aachen City
Novotel Aachen
Aachen Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing