We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice hotel and a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Aachen City
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Aachen
Certificate of Excellence
Menlo Park
Level Contributor
75 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A very nice hotel and a great location”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Each time I go to Aachen I try to stay in this hotel and my most recent trip was no exception.

The room I had was clean, spacious and comfortable, including a sofa and a sufficiently large work desk. It pretty much covers the needs of the traveler, including a large safe and water boiler with complimentary tea and instant coffee. It is very nice one can open the windows to get fresh air in.

The breakfast buffet is somewhat pricey, but really excellent. It has a wide range of choices, including various hot and cold items. All of it is high quality food and there is an impressive choice of bread types. The latter is a real treat. Unlike some other hotels it has long opening hours so on a quiet day you can take your time going there.

The staff is also really friendly and helpful.

The location is very good. The main bus station is across the street and the shopping area is less than 10 minutes walking away. The famous cathedral, big market square and many restaurants are also within the same walking distance.

There are some things that can be improved though.

Internet access was a pain. I had bought the business package and that includes internet access. One of the nice things of this hotel is the wired internet connection in addition to Wi-Fi. With both connection types I had to re-authorize too many times though. Each time I wanted to use it, it asked me for my login credentials. To make it worse, they only allow you to connect 3 devices and if you do not disconnect cleanly, the system seems to think you're still using another device. Several times I got a message I ran into this limit and my connection was refused. This, while I only used my laptop to connect. Aarggh. How frustrating and utterly silly. I actually had to jump through some hoops to resolve this and more than once. Very unprofessional it is done this way. Why not let me authorize once and keep my credentials for my entire stay for example?

On the upside, the line worked fine once I was in, but this is really something that needs to be improved.

Last, but not least on this topic, I wonder why especially European hotels continue to charge for internet access and why the number of devices is limited. This hotel has free Wi-Fi, and I applaud them for that, but this is only for a very basic service and not sufficient for me. The paid service costs 6 Euro a day, or 19 Euro for a week. Why this charge and not just provide the full service?

I also think the pillows are too small and too few. Perhaps I've been spoiled by other hotels, but these pillows are not up to the high standards of the room.

The bathroom is quite tiny. The shower space is small and the space next to the wash basin is pretty limited. Personally I think the smallish bath tub could be removed to make room for a bigger shower and also to make more room for the wash basin area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelOften4B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    455
    100
    16
    11
See reviews for
247
309
55
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

stayed here one night, efficient service at reception, nice room with a compact but very complete bathroom, separate bathtub and shower.

Hotel is next to a busy road - but if you have the windows closed you almost don't hear the road.

Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maria V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
660 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,028 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I frequently visit this hotel, service is good, rooms are specious and clean, sound from other rooms is minimal. I have eaten for the 1st time dinner at the hotel. It was delicious, in fact better to many restaurants in Aachen.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sea98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights. Walking distance to shops, cathedral and 800 M from Carolus Thermen. Busy street (cars, close to bus station) but rooms are quiet. Lazy sunday breakfast till 13.00 hr! Breakfast is fine: English and continental. Fresh fruit, salmon, yogurt, quark, bread rolls, gluten free muesli, lactose free milk, eggs, juices etc. Friendly staff. Service with a smile. Rooms are clean, small but have almost everything you need. Business executive room with darkening curtains and free wifi, tea/coffee facilities, free use of minibar. Welcoming chocolates. Bathroom with small bath and separate shower. Bathrobes on request available. Small bed but slept well (not for tall or heavy people). Plastic cover on mattress is not appreciated. On request it was removed. Thin pillows and thin blankets but we got extra when we asked for it. Steam room (no sauna) on fifth floor with extra towels and showers. For your electric devices: One (plug)socket next to the bed, one near water kettle and one behind the tv. TV with lots of German channels. Staff speaks English. Across the street is restaurant One and Only, main course starting at € 24,50 but good quality good. Nicely decorated, choices of wine. 3-course meal € 39,50.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuluWiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan
Level Contributor
92 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

Good hotel in the center of Aachen...(public) parking just downstairs, toilette and shower separated. Amenities available in room. Lot of international channels on tv, good speed for wi-fi. Room are quite big but not so clean (at least mine): hair on moquette, poor towels and blank sheet. There is a strange smell on the evening. Personnel is not so friendly, but prepared.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank valeriolep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelAachenCity, Front Office Manager at Novotel Aachen City, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Valeriolep,

thank you very much for sharing your experience with us.

We are trying to satisfy all our guests giving them a warm and comfort feeling in our Novotel Aachen. Unfortunately the quality of housekeeping and the frienlyness of our staff was not like you have expected. We have to apologize for that.
We will have a conversation with the housekeeping to highlight again the importance of 100% clean rooms. Also we will talk to our staff to remain the friendlyness.

We are living a kind of 'kaizen', so perhaps you would be so kind to help us with an email to H3557-FO@accor.com with some more detailed information.
Unfortunatly we do not see your real name, so it is not possible for us to check on which rooms your were and to which you talk at the reception.

Your satisfaction is the most important for us, so we would be glad for any further information for us.

With the best whishes from Aachen.

Tobias Sinzig
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Altos, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I recently spent a night at the Novotel Aachen City hotel while on a business trip. The hotel is well-located, near the city center, and has an appealing lobby area. Staff I interacted with were pleasant and competent. I was disappointed by several aspects of my stay, however.

The room layout (I believe I was in a standard room) was quite odd. The toilet was in a small alcove near the door; the sink and shower were in the bathroom located around the corner near the bed. Therefore, to wash one's hands after using the toilet required leaving the alcove and walking to the other side of the room. Not a great distance, to be sure, but I found it off-putting not to be able to wash adjacent to the toilet.

The room was quite small (very little room beyond the bed), and linens were barely adequate (small, thin bath towels, no washcloths).

Internet service (whether via ethernet or wifi) was limited to 512Kb/s unless one paid for "premium" service. 512K is insufficient for any form of video streaming other than perhaps low-quality YouTube cat videos. In addition, the internet was fairly intermittent, even at the low maximum speed webpages would often not load properly.

It's not clear there are any obviously better options in central Aachen, but the Novotel certainly has room for improvement.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillShepp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelAachenCity, Front Office Manager at Novotel Aachen City, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear BillShepp,
Thank you very much for taking your time to share your Novotel Aachen experience with us. Only with the help of our guests we are able to keep our service at a high level.

We appreciate the fact our staff was able to meet your expectations.

You are reclaiming the missing sink. The separate toilet was planned as an advantage, so a couple is able to use both at the same time. The missing sink is known to us, we regret but unfortunately this can not be upgraded without considerable effort.

Since last summer we are offering a free wifi connection with 256 kbit/s. This is enough for receiving and responding emails or to update your devices.
For video watching or using skype this connection is at least too slow. For this applications we are offering a premium wifi connection with speed of 16,000 DSL for just 6,00 EUR for 24 hrs.
We thank you for your comments, which gives us the chance to increase our service quality. We will forward your statement about wifi connection to our IT Services.

We would appreciate welcoming you again at our Novotel Aachen.
For any requests, feel free to contact me under 0049 241 5159 152 or email H3557-FO@accor.com.

Best wishes from the City of Charlemagne
Tobias Sinzig
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aachen hotels
0.2 mi away
INNSIDE by Melia Aachen
0.2 mi away
Mercure Hotel Aachen am Dom
0.3 mi away
Pullman Aachen Quellenhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Aachen City
0.7 mi away
Ibis Aachen Marschiertor
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aquis Grana
Hotel Aquis Grana
#8 of 40 in Aachen
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Aachen City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Aachen City

Property: Novotel Aachen City
Address: Peterstr. 66, 52062 Aachen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Aachen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Aachen
#1 Business Hotel in Aachen
#2 Luxury Hotel in Aachen
#2 Romantic Hotel in Aachen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Aachen City 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Novotel Aachen City is located in the heart of the imperial city of Aachen, between the cathedral, convention centre, casino and Carolus thermal baths. With 154 spacious, airconditioned rooms, seven modern meeting rooms, stylish design and modern communications technology, our 4 star hotel offers business travellers and holidaymakers the highest standard of comfort. Unwind on our terrace, at the restaurant or bar. Revitalise high above the roofs of Aachen in our fitness centre with steam bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Aachen City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Aachen City
Novotel Aachen
Aachen Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing