We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short walk to Centre of Aachen”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Aachen City
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in Aachen
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Short walk to Centre of Aachen”
Reviewed 29 April 2010

A good hotel with comfortable room, exercise suite/ steam room and good breakfast. It is a five minute walk to the centre/Dom. I would recommend the Carolus Thermen pool nearby - not cheap but spectacular. A good Italian restaurant is a short walk towards the centre on the left hand side from the hotel. The Dom and Treasure House are superb.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peglegManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    458
    101
    16
    11
See reviews for
248
310
55
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2010

This is a pleasant, modern, clean hotel with lovely modern rooms - well laid out and ideal for the business traveller. One of the most comfortable beds I have had in a hotel for a long time - a memory foam mattress. Pleased with the room rate too.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LKW9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2010

Stayed here for i night, was first time i had stayed in this city and was first experience of Novotel chain, got to say i was impressed with both overall.

Hotel is basic in some ways and perhaps a little lacking in character but is clean, well maintained and well laid out. Rooms are the same, no added touches but everything you need, basic, functional and clean

Two minor gripes, hotel is located at the "Dodgy" end of town, the main town and the old town area are 10-15 minutes walk and well worth the walk, lots of good restaurants and the nicer part of the city with the cathedral etc, the only issue is the area between this and the hotel is not so pleasant, maybe we caught it on a bad night but it seemed frequented by drunks, beggars and groups of kids, no problem for us but a lone female might not be overly happy walking through. Only other thing was the pillows were awful, flat and too small

Other than that, twop biggest assets are the staff whon were all, without exception, helpful, friendly and effcient, some of the best i have come across, also parking, secure underground car aprk and the rtae is capped at 11 Euros for residents, really nice touch and a relief as i did not want to park my car out on the street.

Overall, i would return

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrRedLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2010

I have started writing reviews only recently. However, it was already my 3rd time at Novotel Aachen. The rooms are rather simple but all the necessary is there. Fitness rooms and hamman very nice, very good buffet breakfast, nice location, reduced fee for the parking when you stay at the hotel. 3 times there, 3 times good

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaBoyOmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, TN
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2010

I really enjoyed my stay. The staff was really friendly and spoke perfect English. The free breakfast was really good and I highly recommend hanging out in the bar. The atmosphere is really modern feeling and the location is just a short walk to the heart of Aachen. I would highly recommend this place to anyone who isn't an experienced traveler. Head up to the gym and check out the view!

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Two00proof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2010

Stayed one night at the end of January during a trip to ski at the indoor place in Landgraaf. Picked this as Novotel is usually reliably good, and this one is highly recommended on Trip Advisor. This is a very good hotel - friendly staff, great restaurant (dinner and breakfast), convenient location, and spotlessly clean. Only complaint might be that the room was pretty small for 4 people - we usually take an inflatable bed so the kids can sleep apart, but there was simply not enough space to use it. However, it was just a quick trip, so not a major issue for us.

The Wii /playspace in the lobby is a simple but appreciated distraction for the kids and as the place was quiet, my children had it entirely to themselves...allowing the adults time for a quiet drink in the bar.

Overall, very highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FloridaJambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester
1 review
Reviewed 22 December 2009

We were caught up in the xmas 2009 Eurostar fiasco. The staff at this hotel were superb, all were young, dilligent and fluent in English and eager to help us e.g. calling Airports in native to get to important flight detail, using internet for weather updates etc., booking further nights at short notice at fair price (EUR 90). The hotel itself is a good solid business hotel 5 mins from City centre and 10 mins walk from the Thermo Baths which is a must if you visit Aachen and is open to 11pm every day. A great family run restaurtant (Am Knipp) was tipped (again 8-10mins walk) - full of local Germans, but very friendly to us and very good value. Generally the restaurant prices in Aachen are good value compared to other European cities i.e. 20-30% cheaper then Munich, Vienna.
Transport is easy from Brussels and Dusseldorf or Cologne (1-1.5hrs to station which is 10min walk from City Centre, 15 mins from Novotel. 10 on 10 and outstanding overall value and service.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank citybreakchappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aachen hotels
0.2 mi away
INNSIDE by Melia Aachen
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Aachen City
0.2 mi away
Mercure Hotel Aachen am Dom
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pullman Aachen Quellenhof
0.7 mi away
Ibis Aachen Marschiertor
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aquis Grana
Hotel Aquis Grana
#8 of 41 in Aachen
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Aachen City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Aachen City

Property: Novotel Aachen City
Address: Peterstr. 66, 52062 Aachen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Aachen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Aachen
#1 Family Hotel in Aachen
#2 Romantic Hotel in Aachen
#2 Luxury Hotel in Aachen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Aachen City 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Novotel Aachen City is located in the heart of the imperial city of Aachen, between the cathedral, convention centre, casino and Carolus thermal baths. With 154 spacious, airconditioned rooms, seven modern meeting rooms, stylish design and modern communications technology, our 4 star hotel offers business travellers and holidaymakers the highest standard of comfort. Unwind on our terrace, at the restaurant or bar. Revitalise high above the roofs of Aachen in our fitness centre with steam bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Aachen City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Aachen City
Novotel Aachen
Aachen Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing