We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smart Art Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Art Hotel Aachen Superior
Ranked #9 of 41 Hotels in Aachen
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Smart Art Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

Stayed at this hotel a number of times, it is well priced. It is not in the centre but the staff are friendly and helpful. Hotel is very nice overall, make sure you are in a refurbished room and if possible one of the big rooms with balcony. Beds are quite hard but not lumpy, you get two single duvets on a double bed so a bit quirky, no bath but powerful shower. Spa is fabulous, products amazing.

Room Tip: ask for reburbished room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglandComfortseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    102
    39
    5
    2
See reviews for
46
88
8
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

We made two online bookings for this hotel, Thanksgiving Thursday and Friday, and then Sunday through Tuesday thereafter, because it looked good on their website and it included a nice diagram with a kitchen in the suite where we thought we could prepare breakfast.
The refrigerator was full of various drinks that you could consume, for a price.
The rest of the kitchen had no dishes, no water glasses, no silverware, or anything to heat water. No kitchen towel or kitchen detergent/soap was available either.
We went back to the reception and we got a broken water heater, full of calcification at the bottom. We also got two large dishes, two small dishes, two forks, two knives, two spoons and two coffee cups. Fortunately we had a friendly family who loaned us a couple of additional kitchen utensils.
The next day, when we tried to boil some eggs for breakfast, we discovered that the kitchen stove plates did not work.
We went back to the desk and we were told by the attendant, Ms. Heinz, that the kitchen stove was only activated if we were to stay there at least THREE months.
I responded that this was not shown to me when I made the reservation online. She pointed a DIFFERENT web page where it was stated that the kitchen was available only for “longer” stays and she flatly refused to turn it on despite my complaints.
We would have canceled our second reservation, but by that time it was too late to find a different hotel suite. So, on Sunday, we had to return to the same hotel. This time we were given a larger suite on the third floor, and this time the kitchen stove WAS TURNED ON!!! Again we were given a (now working and clean) water heater etc but no kitchen towel or kitchen detergent/soap. So, if you decide to stay at this hotel, make sure you carry your own kitchen stuff with you. Ms. Heinz told me that I should not expect to find the same kitchen facilities in Germany like the ones I find in the United States! She is ABSOLUTELY right.
Unlike the first, the new room had no dinner table, although the room was very large. The writing desk had no light above it and two of the other light bulbs were burnt out. I gave the first bulb to the chamber maid in person to replace it and she never did. I left the second in a tray on a small coffee table and nobody bothered to change it either.
The building structure is quite good but service needs serious improvement.
I would have grave reservations staying there again unless I could receive a written confirmation of what exactly the hotel offers.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank georg k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

The Art hotel was one of our choices for traveling to the Carolus Thermen spa. Not very far from it and great place to come back after a relaxing day at the Spa. Room had air-conditioning at the entrance but wasn't a discomfort.
Good points:
- Quiet neighborhood
- Big, comfortable bed
- Parking is free nearby

Bad points:
- Not a hotel for visiting Aachen by foot
- No Free Breakfast

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B0_BGa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
122 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

I stayed in this hotel for two nights and it is a good choice for visiting Aachen. The bedroom and bathroom look nice and are comfortable. A minor complaint is that there is no airconditioning, but you can open the doors to the terrace. The room has a kitchenette with a large fridge, which was very convenient for keeping drinks and fruit. The hotel offers parking in their garage for EUR 6 a night, but don't bother: you can easily park your car on the street. It is a residential area, so it feels safe to do so. We had breakfast on one out of the two mornings we were there (EUR 15 per person) and it as good: there was a great choice of hot and cold dishes and products. Location of the hotel is out of the centre of town, in a residential area and it is quite a long walk (I would estimate over one hour). We didn't bother to find out about public transportation, but just took our car to go into town, which we then parked in the Rathaus Parking near city hall and the Dom. This is ok for two days, but if you are like us and you want to return to your hotel after a day of sightseeing to freshen up before going into town again for dinner, it would become a hassle after some time. I guess I would prefer to be more in the centre of town, but you cannot beat the value for money this hotel has going for it. I would probably book this hotel again if returning to Aachen.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawyergirl007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leek
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

We were travelling to Bavaria and chose Aachen as a convenient place to stopover. We had read the reviews and also had spoken to friends who had previously stayed there. Our room was very large and impressive. The bathroom was excellent. We were also travelling with our 15 year old grandson and his friend and their room was like a suite. The boys made good use of the swimming pool, which was small but very nice. We enjoyed our stay, slept well and were pleased with our choice. The restaraunt looked very nice but as we had travelled a long way we felt like going into town. It is close enough to walk in about 20 minutes, although we went in the car. We did not have breakfast in the Hotel as it costs 15 euros and is too expensive. Overall a good and convenient Hotel for an overnight stay, or break if you want to explore the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeekJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2011

I was a little apprehensive when I booked this hotel for business travel to a destination about 30 km. away. I normally stay in Cologne, but with a major convention going on there, rates were through the roof and nearly everything was booked. This hotel was a fraction of what it would cost to stay in Cologne during the same week so I decided to take a chance on it. I was pleasantly surprised after I checked in. The rooms are spacious with a separate lounge, bedroom, kitchenette, and terrace. In fact the rooms were enormous by continental standards. Everything is very modern and clean, rooms are nicely furnished, plenty of hot water, and a large and comfortable desk for those travelling for business. The hotel is on the edge of town in a rather quiet neighborhood, so if you are sightseeing or looking to go out on the town, I suppose a rental car or taxi would be needed. Breakfast was probably not quite up to four star standards, but there was plenty of food to choose from, and nothing specific to fault them on. All in all I would easily stay here again and certainly recommend it to anyone. Like most continental hotels I did have to pay for internet access, but the cost was well below average and the connection speed was really good.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cefyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2011

Clean and spacious room for the money. For one night stays the kitchenette is striped bare of all cutlery etc., and there are no coffee making facilities. Microwaved hot water in a glass and Starbucks Via saved the day though.

Avoid the restaurant, not an enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ely19999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aachen hotels
1.7 mi away
Pullman Aachen Quellenhof
1.4 mi away
Novotel Aachen City
Novotel Aachen City
#1 of 41 in Aachen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
1.6 mi away
INNSIDE by Melia Aachen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mercure Hotel Aachen am Dom
1.5 mi away
Mercure Aachen Europaplatz
0.4 mi away
Art Hotel Aachen
Art Hotel Aachen
#25 of 41 in Aachen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Hotel Aachen Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel Aachen Superior

Property: Art Hotel Aachen Superior
Address: Am Branderhof 101, 52066 Aachen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Aachen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Aachen
#4 Romantic Hotel in Aachen
#7 Luxury Hotel in Aachen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Art Hotel Aachen Superior 4.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Art Hotel Aachen Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Hotel Aachen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing