We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good with some disappointments” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Art Hotel Aachen Superior

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Art Hotel Aachen Superior
Ranked #9 of 41 Hotels in Aachen
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very good with some disappointments”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

We have stayed 3 nights there - two after Christmas and one for the Silvester party at New Eve 2013.
The first time we had rooms in the left part of the hotel, left from the Reception 375 and 376. They were equipped with kitchen, veryy nice for a long stay. Big terrasses, large rooms, hairdryer in bathroom very clean everywhere, big comfortable bed, big plazma TV, one French channel TV5, and two English - CNN and BBC I think. The bathrooms had only showers, which was a small disappointment. Also, there were no small shampoos and bath gels, but only one all-including liquide for body and hair. Another small particularity - there were too many electric keys on the walls, of which we had some difficulty to find out which one is for which light, for the window stores, or for the bath ventilator...And if you don't speak German, it is impossible to read any instructions... :)
Breakfast was various, we enjoyed - fruits, cereals, various cheese, ham, confitures, pastry. Service excellent, all personnel speaks English, some even French. The pool is not big, but is good enough for a short swimming break. It is not adapted for small children which cannot swim, as it starts with at least 1,5 m depth.
There are Internet jacks in the rooms, but at an unreasonable price of 8,5 euro per day!?! Also, the internal parking is per 5 euro per day.
Anyway, we liked the hotel and booked for the New Eve party. The rooms this time were at the right part of the hotel, right wing from the entrance. It is just above the spa procedures center.
The rooms were still big and nice, 265a and 265b, each with its own cardkey, but if wanted, these had an internal door and it could be used as an appartament with two bedrooms and two baths. 265a had a bathroom with a bath and a shower, which was a wonderful surprise for me. The other bedroom had a big bathroom with a shower only. There was no place to hang long coats, but jackets only, or kids' cloths. The rooms were large again, the beds were somehow smaller. The pillows were too high and not so flexible, I had a neckpain the morning after this night. Otherwise, the beds were comfortable enough.
Here came the bad experience - after the New Eve restourant party, there was no worm water anymore. I had no force to deal with it and we went to sleep at 02:00 am...the morning there was still no warm water and I could not use neither the shower, nor the dreamt-about bath...But at the reception the personnel was nice. Someone came to verify into the room as they did not believe us (which I could not appreciate, as at this point of time normally you don't want visitors). The lady first nocked the other room 265b...as they forgot to ask me which room we are...and as it is 265a there was no way they would know from the figital phone call...So, my mother was disturbed - another mistake. As at 265b there was some warm water we planned to take a shower there...so my husband and I moved to their room...and he took a shower there. Meanwhile, within 1 hour the hot water came in our room too, so finally in 12o'clock I had a shower in my room. There was no time for the dreamt bath...
Also, the safe, in our room, was broken :) (at least it was not paid as in Costa Brava, Spain)

Next time we need to book the spa procedures (massage especially) much in advance, as there all time was already booked with other clients.

But overal, we were well treated, staff very welcoming, smiling, helpful, quick. I suppose, they have just forgotten to turn on our boiler...

We will trust the staff and will return to this hotel anyway, as in general it is a very nice hotel, all the disturbances happened obviuosly by exception and should not be considered too critical :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room with bath :) and remind staff to take care fo the hot water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shamenet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    99
    38
    5
    1
See reviews for
44
85
7
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wijchen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2012

I checked in on a Sunday, which meant no dinner. All other weekdays they serve evening dinner in their restaurant but on Sundays it closes in the afternoon. The directed us to another nice restaurant close to the hotel, which I didn't use because I went to visit the Christmas market in the center.
There is a bus-stop close to the hotel that takes you right in to the city center every 30 minutes.
The rooms were very spacious, since it is a Spa-Hotel and suitable for people with disabilities. For around 60 euro's you get a room with a separate office/entrance hall with mini-bar, a bedroom big enough to dance around the bed and a big bathroom with toilet, bidet, shower and a double sink. No barriers or steps anywhere so completely wheelchair friendly.
Prices of the mini-bar where also reasonable.
Breakfast (15 euro) was luxurious, everything you might want, fresh fruit, different sorts of bread, meat, cheese, smoked salmon and lots of sweets. If you ask they will bake you a fresh omelet.
The only minor downside is that it looks a little outdated/clinical but that's probably due to the whole Spa atmosphere. It didn't bother me though, will definitely go there again if i need to stay in Aachen.
I didn't use the fitness or spa facilities since I was there just for the night.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ericschlangen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

The hotel is a bit outside the city center but we had a car and it took us less than 10 min drive to the city centre. We spent a long weekend there visiting and enyojing Therme Carolus. And from the hotel to Therme it is app 4,5 km. There is a parking garage in the hotel for 5 eur per night.
We had a big, quiet and spatious room, with a big bathroom and a small kitchenette (without any kitchen dishes). The room was very clean.
The hotel has also a wellness, however it was empty at the time of our visit.
The staff very kind and helpfull.
The only thing we missed was a free access to the internet/wireless that seems to be "normal" in other 4 stars hotels.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamilija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Normandy, France
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

We stopped in Aachen on our way to Hannover and were very pleased we did. The city is beautiful and well worth a longer visit. The hotel Art Superior is excellent for the city - we walked in in around 25 minutes - and has great facilities. We had an apartment - not that we asked for it - and it was brilliant! Loads of space and good facilities. The room was clean and comfortable. The main feature of the hotel was the breakfasts - just amazing! Not cheap, but well worth it as we didn't have to eat again until the evening!! The evening meals weren't the best and the restaurant needs to improve things. We used the swimming pool and the sauna - very good!
We will return - great value for money and very good staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cerisy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights and enjoyed our stay. The staff were helpful, location good albeit a bus-ride away from the centre and overall, a clean, modern hotel. The room was spacious and quiet. Only downsides were no air-con and also some useful kitchen facilities that didn't come equipped with any cutlery/crockery/pans or even a kettle! However, we were provided with a kettle and some cups when we asked at reception.
We were able to park outside the hotel on residential streets, so no extra costs for bringing the car.
Aachen itself was enjoyable; very good for shopping and some nice sights.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jemWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

We stayed for a few days in late July when we came to visit our son. It's in a nice location slightly outside of the city center so it's better if you rent a car. The staff was friendly and accommodating. We were initially put in a corner room that had a strange layout and was too small for our son to join us on the last night. However, they moved us the next night, and the second room is much better. I swam once in the pool and noticed there was also an elaborate spa but I didn't have the chance to check it out.

Room Tip: The business rooms have different layouts. Avoid the ones that are L-shaped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice_from_Maryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed at this hotel for only one night and must say that this was one of the best hotels we stayed in during the last year! The size of the room was far above average and the bathroom was also very large. The layout of the room was like a small appartment. Our room had a seperate bedroom a large bathroom and also a livingroom and small kitchen which was very covenient. There was a flatscreen TV in the bedroom and a small TV in the livingroom. Yhe bed was excellent and the cleanliness was also OK! I can recomend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JosephNL48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aachen hotels
1.7 mi away
Pullman Aachen Quellenhof
1.4 mi away
Novotel Aachen City
Novotel Aachen City
#1 of 41 in Aachen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
1.6 mi away
INNSIDE  Aachen
INNSIDE Aachen
#2 of 41 in Aachen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mercure Hotel Aachen am Dom
1.5 mi away
Mercure Aachen Europaplatz
0.4 mi away
Art Hotel Aachen
Art Hotel Aachen
#27 of 41 in Aachen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Hotel Aachen Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel Aachen Superior

Property: Art Hotel Aachen Superior
Address: Am Branderhof 101, 52066 Aachen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Aachen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Aachen
#4 Romantic Hotel in Aachen
#7 Luxury Hotel in Aachen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Art Hotel Aachen Superior 4.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Expedia, HRS, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Art Hotel Aachen Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Hotel Aachen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing