We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel that made you feel at home. Really.”
Review of Hotel Granus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Granus
Ranked #13 of 40 Hotels in Aachen
Penang
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hotel that made you feel at home. Really.”
Reviewed 19 November 2011

I chose Hotel Granus after reading the reviews on various websites, and looking at the pictures on the web. Everything was as written. After a long 5 hour drive, and a long walk in the city, i was exhausted when I arrived at the hotel. Stepping into the lobby of the hotel, it had the warmth of a warm home. The room was just as shown on the websites, and everything was clean. I really appreciated that.
The hotel owners were very genuine and friendly. Breakfast had such a personal touch.
Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasonsawpenang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    33
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
25
41
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
144 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2011

We arrived the hotel on Saturday night. The hotel will have no front desk service after 2 PM for weekend. We contacted the hotel in advance and get the digital code and instructions about how to get into our room. It's clear and easy to find the envelop with our room key and a map of the Aachen city.

The room is cozy and comfortable. It will be a little bit noisy if you open the window since the room is just beside a road. But everything is fine for us if closing the window.

We met the hotel owner during the breakfast time on Sunday morning. We like the hotel breakfast area very much. It makes you feel like home. Everything is warm and friendly and the breakfast is reallly nice.

Parking is 6.5 EUR per day and need to reserve in advance.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luca_Luo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2011

We chose Hotel Granus because of the recommendations on Tripadvisor and were certainly not disappointed. The Behrens family are very friendly and made us feel right at home. Rooms are neat and spotlessly clean with comfortable beds. Breakfast is excellent.

The location is quite convenient for the Carolus Thermen, a three-minute walk; the Dom is still just ten minutes.

The hotel is located near a busy crossing; traffic noise was acceptable to us but if you are a light sleeper or prefer a cosy location you may want to look elsewhere. Otherwise there is nothing against the Granus Hotel and much to recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank byjove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2010

Arrived prebooked from the UK travelling on motorcycles. Given a friendly welcome and without asking were offered garage space for the bikes which was a releif as we would not have relished leaving them outside overnight. All rooms face onto the street and can be a little noisy at times although you can close the windows and rely on the fans which all the rooms have. Well decorated and furnished with quality fittings throughout. Breakfast was excellent quality with a wide choice catering nfor a wide variety of tastes. All in all very staisfied and the staff were genuinley helpful and accomodatioing I cannot imagine you would be dissapointed staying here.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kwikwak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, SK, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2010

Great little family run place. Clean rooms, great breakfast. Just a 5 min walk from the thermal spa.

Just wished they had wifi.

Would recommend Granus to anyone going to Aachen.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patbarbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2010

The good things you hear about this hotel are really true. It is friendly; the breakfast is wonderful; and the breakfast room and lobby are almost unbelievably quaint and cozy, while the guest rooms are very up-to-date. The experience is so unlike what you get in a typical American hotel that this feels like a truly European experience.

Immediately to the west is the promenade created at Napoleon's order for the pleasure of wealthy Aacheners. And just up the side street (and up the hill) is the Stadt Garten, a large park which boasts a weather station, a small vineyard, various pools and fountains, plenty of trees and an historic monument to the Aachen conference in which Czar Alexander I, Emperor Francis I of Austria, King Frederick William III of Prussia, Prince Metternich, and the Duke of Wellington met to tidy up post-Napoleonic Europe. In fact, the tour bus route runs right beside the hotel.

If there's any downside, it's that the hotel fronts on a busy street, which can be noisy at night. But there are many hotels along major streets in the area, so you know hotel guests love the location.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dfisher161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2010

We really got a great deal when we stayed at the Hotel Granus. The room was more spacious than we had come to expect in Europe, with a European-style double bed and a single bed for our son against another wall. In between, there was a writing desk with a small television on top and a chair. The bathroom, with a shower, was sparkling clean.

The hotel really seemed more like a bed-and-breakfast, since we were greeted at the front desk by the very friendly proprietor who was anxious to lead us to our car parking across the street. And the next day's breakfast was fabulous. The proprietor asked us how we wanted our eggs (that came with bacon!) and conscientiously refilled our juice glasses (with a choice of grapefruit or orange juice) and coffee cups. The exquisitely decorated breakfast nook also featured a sideboard with an amazing range of various goodies – pastry, buns of various kinds of bread, cheeses, ham, salmon, yoghurt, cucumbers, tomatoes, fresh fruit salad, strawberries, etc.

The hotel is located on a side street, Passstrasse 2a, just about ten minutes walk from the city center. It is also just up the street from the Carolus Thermen bath complex. One has to keep a sharp eye out for the hotel when first arriving, since it looks just like the apartment buildings on each side. Since the Hotel Granus is family run, we were advised that we would have to make a special arrangement if we arrived after 2:00 p.m. on the weekend, but that was not an issue since we actually arrived shortly after noon. We also had to park around the corner initially and then come around when the proprietor could lead us to the parking area. While the hotel advises that free internet is available, we weren't able to figure out how to make the connection, but, since we stayed only one night, didn't pursue the question.

Although still not a problem, the area might have also gone downhill in recent years, since a tattoo parlor was located across the street and we saw various disreputable characters sitting and standing on the street when we walked toward the cathedral. We didn't try the Irish Pub that is next door on the corner, but it seemed to have a lively crowd when we returned in the evening. (The fact that the television was broadcasting the Eurovision song contest probably didn't hurt.)

We would definitely stay at the Hotel Granus again and recommend it highly. The price is even better than we would pay for a comparable level of service in the U.S., even with the recent strengthening of the dollar. The name, by the way, evidently comes from the Roman centurion who, according to legend, discovered the hot springs that led to Aachen's founding.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aachen hotels
0.4 mi away
Pullman Aachen Quellenhof
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Aachen City
0.3 mi away
Novotel Aachen City
Novotel Aachen City
#2 of 40 in Aachen
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
INNSIDE by Melia Aachen
0.5 mi away
Mercure Hotel Aachen am Dom
0.6 mi away
Hotel Aquis Grana
Hotel Aquis Grana
#8 of 40 in Aachen
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Granus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Granus

Property: Hotel Granus
Address: Passstr. 2a, 52070 Aachen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Aachen
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 40 Hotels in Aachen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Granus 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HRS, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Granus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing