We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly and personalised service”
Review of Hotel Granus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Granus
Ranked #16 of 41 Hotels in Aachen
Reviewed 2 May 2013

If you are going to Aachen - and you should, if not for anything else than for the cathedral - then stay in this hotel. The hotel owner makes you feel really at home and is really kind and caring about his guests' wellbeing. The room was very spacious and clean. The breakfast buffet was not only excellent when it came to choice and quality of the food but also very pleasantly arranged, a far shot from the normal business hotel chains.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sascha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2013

We did not manage to find accommodation on our way. “Sold up” were the answers. Sunday evening. We are exhausted after the whole day on the road. Empty streets. Granus on the corner. Doorbell. It works! So… Perfectly clean and quiet room. Hospitality of the family hotel you never find in faceless chain hotels. Kind host mercifully shared his own parking lot for our car. Then breakfast. Stunningly tasty and accurately tailored to our needs by really committed hostess. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Our window saw to the side street. It was enough quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aleksandr V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We were welcomed by the owner, who speaks excellent English. Our room was large and very clean indeed with beautiful towels in a spotless shower room. I was staying with my son overnight, so we shared a triple room which was perfect. Wifi worked well. Heating controllable, two rads in our room plus one in the bathroom. The breakfast was, as other reporters have said, excellent. Just one tiny criticism - we weren't told to help ourselves, and as the breakfast room is split into two, we didn't initially see the bread or the rolls, which were in the other room (the main buffet was set out in the room we were sitting in). The automatic piano was playing (Strauss waltzes and polkas), which was lovely. I cannot imagine why anyone wouldn't like it although other reviewers have commented about it, personally I loathe the deathly quiet of most hotel breakfast rooms, with cutlery clinking on plates and everyone whispering. And the owner kindly allowed my son to play the piano the previous afternoon when he asked. All in all we'd go back if staying in Aachen again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linden-s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

The virtues of this hotel include: large rooms, quiet location, good cleanliness, a particularly slap-up breakfast. Downsides include a location that's not particularly close to the Cathedral or Technical University (though it's right next to the hot springs, so...), and also, while far from shabby, the facility is a bit dowdy. But overall, a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BodieBroadus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012 via mobile

Location is 10 mins walk to town center. Not the best part of town, but we felt safe walkin to and from town at night. The hotel is extremely close to the Carolus Thermen (3 mins walk). A must-do, as did we. The hotel is a good place to get back to.

The owner is friendly and makes an awesome breakfast. A lot of things to look at around you in the breakfast room.

Not sure if the automatic piano in the breakfast room is my favorite, but it's a nice gimmick. It woke us up, but it was nine o'clock then, time to get up anyway.
We'll return whenever we go back to Aachen.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hartger V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

We stayed at this hotel in Oct/2012. It is a small family run hotel with a difference. The people running it definitely know what they are doing. The room was lovely and cosy with good heating facilities and the bathroom was spotless. The bed was comfortable too. But the star event is the breakfast, from the decor to the way it is set out. There is a good choice for everyone with the usual eggs, cold meats, cheese, breads etc..... for traditional eaters to various mediterranean delights for those who are adventurous. A perfect start to the day. We would definitely recommend this hotel to others. It is only a ten minute walk to the town which is a plus. Try Aachen Brauhaus for dinner (typical good german food) or Basitos for tapas.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank intlbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Don't be deceived by the exterior of this nice hotel. The family running it will make your stay pleasant and the bedrooms are all clean and nicely furnished. Breakfast was simply excellent! More than the average for the price. I'll be back!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xgiaggiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aachen hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Aachen City
Novotel Aachen City
#2 of 41 in Aachen
942 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Hotel Aachen am Dom
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Aachen City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
INNSIDE by Melia Aachen
0.5 mi away
Mercure Hotel Aachen Europaplatz
0.7 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Aachen Tivoli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Granus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Granus

Address: Passstr. 2a, 52070 Aachen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Aachen
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 41 Hotels in Aachen
Price Range: £62 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Granus 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Granus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing