We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aachen Overnight”
Review of Hotel Granus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Granus
Ranked #16 of 41 Hotels in Aachen
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We stayed at the Granus after arriving at CDG early in the morning of July 22nd and a 3 1/2 hour drive from Paris to Aachen. The owner out us in the 1 bedroom apartment across the street at the same rate as our double reservation. The woner and staff were very graciouus and the breakfast was wonderful. If you go there you won't be disappointed.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Rusty1cub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Granus
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2013

A good option for staying in Aachen. Family run and a lovely change to corporate hotels. Good breakfast (especially the freshly cooked egg and bacon) and very clean. The traffic noise is present but didn't stop any of our family sleeping. We would def stay there again.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Mark_Grice71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

I don't think it fair to call the Granus a hotel. There is no reception after lunch at the weekend and there is not really any reception area. It reminds me more of a B&B.

Whatever it is there is no doubt that it is conveniently located in Aachen right next to a main road that leads in to the city centre and despite the 'double glazing' it is noisy. What made it worse was that we stayed when it was hot and there is no air conditioning so you either became very very hot and didn't sleep or you opened the window and didn't sleep. Not a good choice..............

The room was nice and comfortable and spotlessly clean with the all the things you would expect. Breakfast in the morning was nice and very German but after a sleepless night was welcome.

It is a nice place, clean and reasonably priced but we wouldn't stay again unless it was out of the summer season.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank r2uzenblot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We found the Hotel owners to be such a terrific couple. They even called me in the UK before we left to confirm everything was ok and kept the reception open for us as we had been delayed on the ferry crossing. Made use of their parking facilities. The hotel is a small city type and is clean and has pretty much what you need for a short break. The breakfast is very traditional where the staff are always on hand to serve more drinks and any hot plates. Only two issues we found that did not affect our high opinion, one English speaking tv channel(News) and the noise from the passing traffic outside. Other than that it was just perfect for us and would recommend. Excellent location for the Carolus therme and well situated to walk into the City. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whiteprince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

If you are going to Aachen - and you should, if not for anything else than for the cathedral - then stay in this hotel. The hotel owner makes you feel really at home and is really kind and caring about his guests' wellbeing. The room was very spacious and clean. The breakfast buffet was not only excellent when it came to choice and quality of the food but also very pleasantly arranged, a far shot from the normal business hotel chains.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sascha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

We did not manage to find accommodation on our way. “Sold up” were the answers. Sunday evening. We are exhausted after the whole day on the road. Empty streets. Granus on the corner. Doorbell. It works! So… Perfectly clean and quiet room. Hospitality of the family hotel you never find in faceless chain hotels. Kind host mercifully shared his own parking lot for our car. Then breakfast. Stunningly tasty and accurately tailored to our needs by really committed hostess. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Our window saw to the side street. It was enough quiet.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aleksandr V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We were welcomed by the owner, who speaks excellent English. Our room was large and very clean indeed with beautiful towels in a spotless shower room. I was staying with my son overnight, so we shared a triple room which was perfect. Wifi worked well. Heating controllable, two rads in our room plus one in the bathroom. The breakfast was, as other reporters have said, excellent. Just one tiny criticism - we weren't told to help ourselves, and as the breakfast room is split into two, we didn't initially see the bread or the rolls, which were in the other room (the main buffet was set out in the room we were sitting in). The automatic piano was playing (Strauss waltzes and polkas), which was lovely. I cannot imagine why anyone wouldn't like it although other reviewers have commented about it, personally I loathe the deathly quiet of most hotel breakfast rooms, with cutlery clinking on plates and everyone whispering. And the owner kindly allowed my son to play the piano the previous afternoon when he asked. All in all we'd go back if staying in Aachen again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linden-s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aachen hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Aachen City
0.4 mi away
INNSIDE by Melia Aachen
0.3 mi away
Novotel Aachen City
Novotel Aachen City
#2 of 41 in Aachen
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mercure Hotel Aachen am Dom
0.4 mi away
Pullman Aachen Quellenhof
0.5 mi away
Mercure Aachen Europaplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Granus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Granus

Address: Passstr. 2a, 52070 Aachen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Aachen
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 41 Hotels in Aachen
Price Range: £77 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Granus 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), HRS and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Granus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing