We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday meal”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Railway

The Railway
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Meols
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Birthday meal”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Birthday meal with 3 generations of family ruined by fighting and drunken yobs. Won't be going back.
Service was by school children.

Helpful?
2 Thank MikeMellors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    50
    33
    16
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
durham
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Food great shame about the service!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

We were staying nearby and visited this place twice during our stay. The first night every order was wrong and even when it was brought out correct one of the meals was taken from our table as it was ment for someone else!!! My friend had already started eating this but it was still taken when I went to question what they planned to do with that meal as the could not serve it after she had taken part of the meat it was quickly returned!! The food when all correct was actually quite nice. We gave it a go the following day and again 3 out of the 6 meals were wrong, the waiting staff have no manners at all!! Luckily this time the manager over heard and quickly resolved this and apologised for our issues on both visits. Shame this could be a great place if it was better organised with polite staff.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rachel t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thingwall
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

This place is fantastic value for money, i wish i had discovered it sooner.Massive portions and food is lovely. I like the menu very much. Best pub meal I have had on the Wirral.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank auntieangeThingwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
“Poor quality food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

Visited on 1st march with friends. Arranged to have meal there in advance. Ordered sirloin steak, asked for medium steak and mash potato instead of chips. Queue for food long, bar area wet from spilt drinks. Staff friendly. Food arrived after average wait. Steak was cooked well done not medium. Mash was dry, stodgy, instant/microwaved and inedible. Not worth £9.99 at all!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KJ1307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moreton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“avoid this place”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

had the misfortune to dine here last Saturday evening the food was absolutely awefull I had the gammon and chips I don't know how they managed to cook the chips the way they did but they where unique in as much as half of them weren't cooked through half were and all of them barely lukewarm the gammon was full of gristle my wife had the ribs which were ok but nothing special and her chips were exactly the same as mine if anyone is in the Wirral area and want to eat at a hungry horse travel a bit further and go to the sea horse in new brighton or the hungry horse at Cheshire oaks never had any complaints in either of them the décor and food is better by a mile you wouldn't think it was the same chain

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cocoatop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Railway also viewed

New Brighton, Wirral
Liverpool, Merseyside
 
Bromborough, Wirral
Bootle, Merseyside
 
Hoylake, Wirral
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to The Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing