We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was perfectly acceptable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Tulip Bielefeld City
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Bielefeld
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I had a room on the 5th floor with air condition and a view over the inner court yard. Nice an quiet!

The room was ok, good bed and pillows. Tiny towels (quickly becoming one of my biggest gripes with hotels..... I have long hair and one bath towel, the size of a hand towel and a hand towel the size of large handkerchief is just not enough !!) but an excellent magnifying mirror and a mirror on the bathroom door, so I could check my back before leaving.

The other thing I quite liked, was their solution for Wifi. Basic connection is free and one can check mail and read the news. For Skype and video watching the offer an upgrade for 6 Euros per night. I think that is a good compromise.

A little food &beverage rant:
I decided not to book the breakfast buffet at 17 Euros. Ridiculous price for a very average looking offer. Instead I went to one of the cafes close by or the new organic shop across the road for some lovely treats at a fraction of the price.
The same goes for the prices on the wine menu. Seriously? 4 Euros for a very average 0.1 cl glass of wine....... this does not make economical sense when there are so many bars and restaurants so close by. No surprise that the hotel bar was close to empty most of the time

Staff were helpful and everything was clean.

Overall a good stay

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Odettexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (423)
There are newer reviews for Golden Tulip Bielefeld City
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 423 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

The hotel was nice but we had two nights terrible sleep, until 4 am music was playing from a club nearby. To make this worse the room was very hot and stufy, would have been ok if we could open a window but with the noise outside also that would still mean no sleep. Shame otherwise location was perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels
1  Thank Niels_and_Yi_Lin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Good location, near the old town, pleasant, clean rooms, very good service. Towels could have been fluffier and breakfast a bit more elaborated. Overall very good. Certanly good value for money. I do recommend it!




  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Athina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Perfect location.Nice staff.Еxcellent buffet. The rooms are not perfect but its clean ! Thats the Perfect hotel if you need somewhere to stay for 1-2 nights.
From the station to the hotel with a taxi it costs 5,80 EUR.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VeselaNikolova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Our room was good-sized, quiet, and had a balcony, which was a nice surprise!

The bathroom was pretty big and the shower had good pressure (though I never could figure out how to keep he water from overspraying onto the floor.

Tasty breakfast served near the bar and helpful staff. Great location for exploring shops and restaurants.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank aunteenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I have mobility issues,so wasn't impressed when the lift broke and I was in a room on the fourth floor. No help was offered. Staff couldn't be bothered at all. I spent the night in pain. No apologies were given. Only the breakfast was good. Ruined my trip to a town I love.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
2  Thank doughnut790
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bielefeld hotels
0.5 mi away
Mercure Hotel Bielefeld Johannisberg
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bielefelder Hof
Hotel Bielefelder Hof
#1 of 30 in Bielefeld
287 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arcadia Hotel Bielefeld
Arcadia Hotel Bielefeld
#21 of 30 in Bielefeld
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Legere Hotel Bielefeld
Legere Hotel Bielefeld
#2 of 30 in Bielefeld
83 reviews
0.2 mi away
Altstadt-Hotel Bielefeld
Altstadt-Hotel Bielefeld
#4 of 30 in Bielefeld
65 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ravensberger Hof
Ravensberger Hof
#14 of 30 in Bielefeld
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Bielefeld City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Bielefeld City

Address: Waldhof 15, 33602 Bielefeld, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Mercure Hotel Bielefeld City)
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Bielefeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Bielefeld
#4 Business Hotel in Bielefeld
Price Range: £45 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Tulip Bielefeld City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Tulip Bielefeld City hotel enjoys a quiet yet central location and offers 123 rooms. Enjoy the atmosphere of the old town centre of Bielefeld from the moment you step out the hotel door. Just 500 m from the hotel are the City Theatre and Kunsthalle art museum, the Town Hall and Sparrenburg castle are 2 km away. Our restaurant will spoil you with culinary specialities, or you can relax in our hotel bar. For your functions, there are 4 modular conference rooms for up to 220 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Golden Tulip Bielefeld City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Hotel Bielefeld City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing