We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly but lacking in irons & very slow wifi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Acora Hotel Und Wohnen Bochum
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Bochum
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed recently for a business trip, Good points include the friendly staff, very good breakfast with lots of options and the hotel restaurant is also good quality.
However, the hotel only has a few irons for the whole hotel, the deposit scheme means guests keep them in their rooms and housekeeping do not return them. In the first week of my stay, i requested an iron on checking in on the Monday, however, no irons were available until the Thursday. This is not ideal on a business trip when work attire needs to be freshly ironed after being in a suitcase. It was a similar situation in the second week of my trip. Additionally, the internet was extremely slow making it virtually impossible to use. Facetime or skype were not an option due to the speed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catherinec717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014

Very handy, on the ring road, and easy walking distance of the town centre. Underground parking, secure, for a small fee.
Nice room, and if id been inclined a microwave and hob to cook dinner. Didnt, too many good places to eat in town.
Good breakfast.
Fair price, would defintely use again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KEG12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I stayed in Acora hotel for 2 months in Bochum. It is a nice and clean hotel with variety of rooms like single, double, room with balcony(smoking) and with kitchenette. I chose one with kitchenette that had a small refigerator and basic utensils to cook and eat. Housekeeping was quick and good and I am satisfied with English speaking staff at front desk as well. One lady Nicole was kind and helpful from day 1. Buffet breakfast was good and for long term stays they serve breakfast at reduced rates.
Hotel is close to city centre and around 1.3 kms (12-13 min walk) from Hauptbahnof from where you can get trains for any other place. There is bike rental place - Rockers opposite to hotel. In all it was a comfortable hotel except 3 things:
1) It becomes a little noisy if someone stands in lobby outside door and speak, the doors are not sound proof. Even if you close windows and some ambulance, fast vehicle moves on road in night, you will hear the sound. I wish the doors and windows were completely sound proof.
2) Wi-fi is worst wi-fi I have ever experienced in any hotel. I paid premium one for 145 Euros monthly but speed was annoying, connection was getting broken in every 15-20 minutes and signals were poor in my room on first floor.
3) And now the biggest problem was - Outdated TV in rooms (was not reading my pen drive) as I got English movies as the TV had all German channels, only 1 English news channel. And the magazines, newspaper all were only in German and no English. I strongly feel with globalization and more global visitors, it will be really a good decision for Acora Hotel management to introduce some English channels in TV.

In all, still I would love to go there again and stay for my future trips.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing main road are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Theroadraider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tobias B, Verkaufsleiter at Acora Hotel Und Wohnen Bochum, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Hi Raider85,

thanks for your stay at acora Hotel und Wohnen in Bochum and for write a valuation.

We have read your text detailed and want to improve the stated reasons. For example; in the near future our wi-fi will get a widespread update.

We wish you a good time, and hope to see you soon again. Best regards

Your team of
acora Hotel und Wohnen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

This was the second time we have stayed at this hotel whilst visiting friends in the town.

Located in the town centre the hotel has an underground car park that costs an extra eight euros per night which is very handy. It is also well located a short taxi ride from the main station and is located just across the road from the mining museum.

We have never had breakfast at the hotel as we always went to our friends so unable to pass comment. We felt the hotel is run professionally and is immaculately clean and well equipped.

The rooms have small kitchens so you can make a basic meal and judging by the smells coming out of rooms when you walk along the corridor to your room some make full use of this.

Housekeeping was friendly with thoughtful staff holding doors open when struggling with cases and calling the lift

Booked through Booking.com and got a great rate would consider booking direct with the hotel as well to see if they give similar good rate.

Will use again as it suited us perfectly with good access to car in underground car park.

WIFI never worked but as we used friends was not a big issue for us.

Room Tip: Request a room on the rear side of the hotel as street facing could be a little noisy with road traf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank niftyatfifty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tobias B, Verkaufsleiter at Acora Hotel Und Wohnen Bochum, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Hi niftyatfifty,

thanks for your stay at acora Hotel und Wohnen in Bochum and for write a valuation.

We are very please, that you keep your stay well in memory.

We wish you a good time, and hope to see you soon again in Bochum.

Best regards, your team of
acora Hotel und Wohnen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

A hotel near the city center with parking facilities. Comfortable rooms with quality beds and a good shower. Near the miming museum. We did not have breakfast as we had to leave early. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whitelionHaarlem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tobias B, Verkaufsleiter at Acora Hotel Und Wohnen Bochum, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Hi whitelion,

thanks for your stay at acora Hotel und Wohnen in Bochum and for write a valuation.

We are very pleased, that you keep your stay well in memory.

We wish you a good time, and hope to see you soon again in Bochum.

Best regards, your team of
acora Hotel und Wohnen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed a week during a recent business trip had a good sized room and the location is good walking distance to city centre restaurants. However hotel lacks business facilities and wifi is very very slow. Hope they sort this out as that would make this an excellent place to stay.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank Tariq M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tobias B, Verkaufsleiter at Acora Hotel Und Wohnen Bochum, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Hi Tariq M,

thanks for your stay at acora Hotel und Wohnen in Bochum and for write a valuation.
We are very pleased, that you keep your stay well in memory.

We have read your text detailed and want to improve the stated reasons. For example; in the near future our wi-fi will get a widespread update.

We wish you a good time, and hope to see you soon again in Bochum.

Best regards, your team of
acora Hotel und Wohnen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

The rooms are big and nice. The location is also in City center but the WIFI SUCKS!!!!!!!
Can not work with the Paid wifi too.
Reception says talk to Swisscom and they seem to be clueless

Disappointed.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank PiyushMathur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bochum hotels
Ibis Bochum Zentrum
#6 of 23 in Bochum
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
H+ Hotel Bochum
#5 of 23 in Bochum
253 reviews
Mitte
Mercure Hotel Bochum City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acora Hotel Und Wohnen Bochum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acora Hotel Und Wohnen Bochum

Address: Nordring 44 - 50, 44787 Bochum, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Bochum > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Bochum
Price Range: £64 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Acora Hotel Und Wohnen Bochum 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will feel at home in our bright and pleasant furnished rooms - no matter if you stay just an overnight or live-in. Make yourself comfortable!You like to be independent and take care of yourself? Just book one of our apartments with a full equipped kitchenette and prepare whatever your heart desires.For your work-life-balance after a hard, long day at the office, take advantage of our gym. Opening hours daily from 7.00 a.m. till 11.00 p.m.The fittings of our guest rooms will offer you everything you need, to make your "feel-at-home stay" round. Get information about our best rates and then: make your reservation!acora - arrive, ckeck in and feel like home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Acora Hotel Und Wohnen Bochum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing