We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very dependable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Bochum Hotel
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Bochum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2012

I regularly stay at this hotel on business and in fact it is my first choice even though it not the most convenient for the office location I need to visit in Bochum

Good Points
Well presented reception and large clean rooms where everything is working. Admittedly i've been there so many times I don't have to re-learn how things work like the TV so I may be biassed.

Large comfortable beds (6 pillows!) and well lit rooms (~6 lights!) and a UK power socket is useful if you forgot your adaptor. Views from the rooms are unremarkable, some are towards the centre of Bochum and some towards the football stadium which is next door.

There are other useful extras like a safe and an iron if your clothes are rather crumpled. The bathrooms are well designed and in my experience always very clean.

Evening meals are available in the restaurant. The restaurant is rather unadventurous in design and normally when staying i would eat outside 50% of the time but the food is OK. Breakfast food choice in the morning is very good although I cannot comment on its quality because i stick to my standard breakfast choice. There is a open bar area adjoining the restaurant which is fairly small but adequate.

Bad Points
Exercise area is very small. I checked it out once and decided not to bother in future. I now go for a run in the nearby streets instead.

The Hotel is not in the very center of town so requires a taxi or approx 20 minutes walk to reach the center. There can be a short wait in reception in busy times when checking out.

Summary
I would definitely recommend the hotel for business visits or if you are visiting the city and don't mind taxi rides to get into the centre.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Splodge_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2011

The Bochum Renaissance hotel is easily reached by Autobahn and by car is a five minute drive to the town centre. The football stadium is right next door, so for football related visit it would be the perfect hotel.

The hotel itself is looks well but nothing fancy. A big but rather empty lobby with a bit understaffed reception desk. The check in procedure went further smooth and the staff is friendly. There are three elevators, but if you are on the top floor you can only use two elevators and so there is an extra button to call a top floor elevator (at first I didn’t realized this)

The room is like the rest of the hotel ok, but again nothing fancy. A bit of an update of the bathroom and TV wouldn’t be too bad. The bathroom is complete but a bit worn out. It could be easily noticed the bathroom is usually cleaned fast and not very thorough. It wasn’t as clean as it supposed to be.
The rest of the furniture in the room is fine. The bed is the best part, very comfortable. The TV is still an old type TV and the channels were blurry. It must be noted that the WiFi coverage in the rooms is very good. There are room rates with wireless internet included.

The restaurant is quite big and breakfast is well organized. For dinner there is a buffet and a la carte option. There is a wide choice of seasonal and local dishes. Best part was the restaurant was completely empty and when we arrived they seriously checked if there was a table available. When I asked if they could squeeze us in, they realized the situation was a bit awkward. In case there is no table available: The renaissance burger at room service is a great choice.

To conclude: A nice and comfortable hotel, nothing really fancy but it’s ok. The bathroom and TV can use an update but further it’s comfortable. A good choice for business travel or a weekend break.

Pro: Comfortable bed and nice food (restaurant or room service) and good Wifi coverage.

Con: not so clean bathroom, TV didn’t work too well.

A final advice: For those non German speaking visitors; in the restaurant the staff doesn’t speak too much English!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Critic_4_hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Have stayed here a couple of times recently on business. Nothing glamorous but enjoyed a clean well maintained room at a good price (even on current £/E exchange rates). Only gripe is that they don't have kettles in the room.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

tend to come here for business from time to time. stuff are very nice and friendly but quite frequently overloaded when it comes to peak check-out times in the mornings. rooms are nice and clean, but become more and more worn. also bath rooms could be cleaner sometimes, especially in the corners of the cubicles... heating and cooling is not really as good as i would like it to be, especially in spring and autumn the aircon is running full power all day and when you move in at night if feels like entering a freezer. gym is small, but has most of what you need for a quick workout, and sauna is nice and accessible until 10pm. breakfast is really good, and has improved in the recent past with more fresh fruit, smoothies, and a nice selection of bread. if you have time and are hungry in the morning, it is worth spending the money.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank just_travelling_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2011

not so sure if the people here really cared if you would come back. They had lost my luggage at the airport and I informed the front desk of this. So that they would be aware once the driver brought my luggage back? However, upon contacting the airlines they were told by the hotel that I had checked out thus NO LUGGAGE...which I chased my entire two weeks in Europe ...

Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
Thank EdandMags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2011

We went there for New Year celebration. It was a package for 3 nights with breakfast buffet included, a New Year's Dinner and Party and Wellness.

The rooms are ok: clean, but quite small. The room has a big bed, medium TV, minibar, a small table and a Chair. But it gives a very tight impression.

The bathroom is kind of tight too, there is a big sink and mirror, toilet, and bath tub, hair dryer, but you have some trouble going in and out as the door opens to the inside.

And that's it. The wellness is just a Sauna in the 7th floor, where the gym is and is quite smaill and tight as well, so we basically just went, say it and decided not to use it. It's really not inviting, so with this the Wellness was nothing.

The breakfast buffet is ok, you get food but nothing special. There's stuff for english breakfast as in sausages, scrambled eggs, red beans, bacon, hot cakes and hash brown potatoes. That's all there is warm and it was exactly the same the 3 days we ate there. You got different cold meats, but the quality was not so inspiring, we normally get better at home from the butcher. There was some smoked fish and some salmon, that looked as if it had been sitting there for days, and that was every day the same. Then there was a fruits, yogurth bar, where there was only kiwi and pinaple fresh and everything else came from the can and the kiwi and pinaple were either too unripe and/or too long sitting there as well, so once again: not inspiring. Yogurth and quark, well you can't do something wrong with that. Juices were also not fresh but industrial made and most of the time they were out and took too long to refill. Bread and Cereal were there and ok.
Another downside was coffee, they give u at the begining a thermo jar with coffee and if you drink it, they don't come over and refill it, and mostly don'T pay attention at the tables. After 20 minutes of being ignored my boyfriend had to get up and go to the kitchen to get some more coffee! unbelievable when you think it's supposed to be a 5 star hotel!

So ok you get a variety of food, but in my opinion you get a better buffet when you stay in a Pension in Austria anywhere when you go skiing. And for us it was for free! the poor people who go there normally have to pay 35 euros for it and sooooo not worth it!

Personal in the reception is friendly and helpful.

Roomservice is a joke. They take forever. Particularly on the 1st of January. I agree 1st of january is a tough date but as a guest there is not much to do as everything is closed and in the hotel you could only sit at the bar or in the lobby, so you expect u can at least sit in a clean room. But no! The room was finally done at 4 in the afternoon - eventhough they were running around since 11, and they took aroun 45 minutes to clean it up! and we had no mess. Just simple roomservice.

So in general if you are going to the Stadium or the Starlight express, the location is good as they share the same grounds, but for something else, the Hotel is not worth the money you pay, and particularly not the breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pily_2306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2010

The Renaissance Hotel in Bochum is another rock-solid business hotel in Bochum - as most of the business hotel in this area of Germany it is nothing special but offers good quality and excellent service.
Locationwise it is between the local pro-soccer stadium and the Starlight Express Musical theatre.
Breakfast selection and buffet is very nice and highly recommendable. The gym is improveable, since there are only 3older treat mills and very few weight lifting options

Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
Thank DKD2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bochum hotels
H+ Hotel Bochum
#5 of 23 in Bochum
255 reviews
Mitte
Mercure Hotel Bochum City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Acora Hotel Und Wohnen Bochum
Mitte
Hotel Excelsior Bochum
Hotel Excelsior Bochum
#12 of 23 in Bochum
39 reviews
Ibis Bochum Zentrum
#6 of 23 in Bochum
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Bochum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Bochum Hotel

Address: Stadionring 18, 44791 Bochum, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Bochum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bochum
Price Range: £68 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Renaissance Bochum Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Metropolis Ruhr and directly connected to RuhrCongress Bochum the full service hotel offers ample conference facilities as well as 177 comfortable guest rooms and suites. Discover Metropolis Ruhr! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Bochum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Bochum
Bochum Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing