We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You know you're in a top-class hotel when...”
Review of Villa Godesberg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Godesberg
Ranked #2 of 79 Hotels in Bonn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I was over in Bonn on business and stayed for five nights (paid for by my client company). The service was excellent, the staff were friendly (and all spoke good English - I don't speak much German) and the breakfasts delicious - can't comment on the swimming pool and fitness centre as my client had a very full schedule for me during the day, and I didn't use them.

All the little details of a good hotel were in evidence - a fruit bowl regularly replenished, the room cleaned properly (unlike most chain hotels) and a well-stocked reading room.

Two experiences were particularly telling, and show why this is such a good hotel:

1) On my third morning the hot water wasn't working, so a very quick shower! Not great but it happens, and in the grand scheme of things hardly worth crying about, plus with a busy schedule that day I thought nothing more of it.

Upon returning to my room I was very pleasantly surprised to find not only a bottle of sparkling wine, but also a full page HAND WRITTEN NOTE (in English) from the manageress apologising for the temporary lack of hot water. The irony was I'd been telling my clients to send handwritten postcards and notes to their clients, as so few people do this any more (I'm a direct response marketer) and it makes a huge impression on them - it certainly did with me...

2) On the morning of my departure to Cologne Airport, I received my telephone wake-up call (all five were on time), and had a shower before dressing for breakfast. About 25 minutes after the first call, the lady on reception called again - personally - to make sure I was awake. A small detail, but something that surpsingly has never happened to me after years of staying in top-class hotels in all five continents.

No wonder this hotel is rated number one in Bonn - it also has my highest recommendation.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

We enjoyed our one-night stay very much. The room was quite comfortable with a comfortable sitting area and great windows. Shortly after arriving, we walked down to the Rhine, and then walked a short distance to the Lowen for a traditional German meal. Breakfast the next morning was delicious with a wide selection of meats, cheeses, breads, and other treats.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Judy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Villa Godesberg has got class, for sure! All staff, from General Manager, reception to housekeeping staff are exceptionally pleasant, friendly and helpful. Everyone made us feel very welcome within seconds. This is either due to superb staff selection or excellent staff training - or both!
Breakfast buffet and the breakfast room were most inviting.Officially over at 10, one is allowed to munch way beyond that and still feel welcome.
Rooms are not always spacious, but show class and good taste. Bathroom sufficiently spacious, individually styled, but nothing over the top.
We would return, but NOT during very hot days because the property has no air conditioning. Otherwise: anytime!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paquisoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Very quiet area, beautiful rooms, comfortable, modern design in old patrician houses. Great rich breakfast buffet, very pleasant service, room 104 has a giant terrace overlooking the garden. Drinks in the fridge (limited choice) are included in the roomrate. Great experience, will certainly return upon our next stay in Bonn.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ludovic18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We stayed as part of a wedding group.
The breakfasts were included and of good quality and quantity.
The drinks in your room were included (red, white and beer)
The rooms were good, clean and well serviced but maybe a little small.
The staff smiled, spoke great English and were totally helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rwor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

I keep coming back!
At first I only wondered how the beautiful villas look inside....but now I keep coming back for: all staff know my name, without being too close or obnoxious. the service is great. just like the location. and the guest are international with a twist (that is, all but me). a great experience and close to everywhere in Godesberg.
try it at least once - it's worthwhile!

p.s. the minibar (well stocked) is included! as well as w-lan and no fuss about anything.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tahitiiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

As a global business traveler, it is a true delight in find a place that has peace, beauty, and a staff that catered to my needs at every turn - from suggestions for walking area restaurants, serving an impromptu private light meal for a small gathering, and making sure that I always had what I needed. This inn is a jewel! Even with a busy schedule, you will feel a sense of respite and relaxation - you will not forget your room number in this wonderful "home" - if only all work stays could be this way.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bonn hotels
4.4 mi away
Hilton Bonn Hotel
Hilton Bonn Hotel
#1 of 79 in Bonn
1,114 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kameha Grand
Kameha Grand
#5 of 79 in Bonn
1,007 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ringhotel Rheinhotel Dreesen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
V-Hotel
V-Hotel
#8 of 79 in Bonn
128 reviews
2.9 mi away
Bonn Marriott World Conference Hotel
4.1 mi away
Ameron Hotel Koenigshof Bonn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Godesberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Godesberg

Address: Mirbachstr. 2 a, 53173 Bonn, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Bonn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 79 Hotels in Bonn
Price Range: £122 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Godesberg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In our hotel VILLA GODESBERG we combine modern atmosphere with traditional charm. During the renovation work, old and new elements have been harmoniously coordinated. The result combines attractive and modern functionality with the style and solidity of a bygone architecture. The hotel has 2 suites as well as 12 double and single rooms. This hotel size is ideal as it enables us to look after each guest individually. The rooms are equipped with modern bathrooms, colour TV (flat screen), direct-dial telephone, minibar, tea corner and safe. Wireless LAN for your Internet access is available in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Godesberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing