We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice entrance, but rooms don't match up”
Review of Maritim Hotel Bonn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Maritim Hotel Bonn
Ranked #39 of 79 Hotels in Bonn
Leiderdorp, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice entrance, but rooms don't match up”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

This hotel has a splendid lobby area, and the reception desk matches that. Also the available restaurants are nice and glamorous. But when you enter your room (though clean and tidy), you find just an average room. The (single) bed was as solid as a wooden board, and the one pillow very thin. This had its effects on sleepquality. Futhermore, with a hotel of this size, you expect
the facilities to be on par, but the internet was only available against a price of € 15.- a night.
Breakfast was good, but at € 18.- a bit too expensive.
The hotel is conveniently located in the business district of Bonn, and easibly accessible by both car and public transport.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maarten B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny-von-Hahn, Direktionssekretärin at Maritim Hotel Bonn, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comment at tripadvisor.de.
We deeply regret that you were not pleased with your room during your stay. Of course the Maritim Hotel Bonn can not keep up with a newly built hotel, but many guests prefer the friendly and professional service that we offer.

We would be glad if you give us a second chance to convince you of the Maritim Hotel Bonn.

Best regards
Jenny von Hahn
Executive Secretary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    155
    199
    70
    24
See reviews for
11
51
46
370
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

A nice looking hotel from the outside with a nice reception area. I had a twin room to myself which had plenty of space though for the nightly rate the room was poorly equipped. No kettle or iron and small square CRT TV. The only channel in English worked intermittently at best. I know being in Germany I should not expect a lot of channels I can understand but after staying in other large hotel chains in different countries a news channel in English seems standard, which this would have had if it worked! Most surprisingly was the lack of inclusive WiFi! Even some motorway services have this for free now! The room itself though comfortable was starting to show its age, a crack in the sink for example or a shower curtain that smelt damp and was long over due a wash. The food in the hotel was fine.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank BadgerJed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny-von-Hahn, Direktionssekretärin at Maritim Hotel Bonn, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear guest, Thank you for your comment. We have noted with regret that you did not enjoy your stay all-round. We are very sorry that you did not get the information to order a kettle or iron at the housekeeper. Concerning your comment to WiFi we would like to advise you of the WiFi via Deutsche Telekom at a rate of € 4,95 per day.
We hope that you will give us a second chance in the future and we may welcome you in Maritim Hotel Bonn again.

Yours sincerely

Jenny von Hahn
Executive Secretary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
543 reviews
193 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights recently in a room on the Executive Floor.

I was shocked at how poor the hotel was and how it has chnged from what it was a few years ago. The main problem is that the staff have a very poor attitude and it takes ages for anything to be done. The lunchtime meal service took ages and the selection was very limited. Only one of the 3 restaurants was open and the staff were very slow.

I stayed in a suite on the top floor which was used for meetings during the day and when I went out the first evening I asked the plates and cups to be removed, they were still there when I returned. There are multiple examples where the staff have a could not care less attitude and this is a shame.

Breakfast is excellent and the room is large and nicely decorated, this is one of the only good points.

I will not return and will use one of the other hotels that offer better service, such as Hilton.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HullPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny-von-Hahn, Direktionssekretärin at Maritim Hotel Bonn, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comment on tripadvisor.
We are very sorry to learn about the experience you made with our staff. Please be assured that we will hold in house trainings intensified in the future to avoid incidents like that in the future.
We hope that you will give us a second chance to convince you of our high efficiency.

Best regards
Jenny von Hahn
Executive Secretary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bonn hotels

Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
257 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

I was there for a conference. The
Reception desk was not helpful 100%. Only 2 people were helpful at answering questions.

When an individual is out of town and especially outside of the country, you need clear directions and this was not provided.

I asked questions about the train station and directions and the lady at the front desk wasn't helpful at all.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RebeccaN1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny-von-Hahn, Direktionssekretärin at Maritim Hotel Bonn, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear guest, We deeply regret that you did not get the information you asked for at the reception desk. Please be assured that we talked to our front office manager to avoid incidents like that in the future.

We hope that we may welcome you once again in Maritim Hotel Bonn.

Best regards,
Jenny von Hahn
Executive Secretary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Stayed here 3 nights for a conference. This is a medium sized conference hotel located in the business district, so not to easy to get to Bonn. 20 mins from airport in taxi will cost approx 45 Euros.
Arrived early, my room was ready which was good.
Room was dark and tired, only one power socket in the room (unless you unplug lamps etc.) so you need a 2 way adapter. Only 2 UK TV channels.
Bathroom was ok size wise, but plastic shower curtain combined with vary powerful shower makes for a wet floor.
Only had breakfast in hotel, good choice of foods from different cultures. let down by coffee, the usual stewed coffee pots or "lattes" from an instant machine.
I wish most hotels would realise that people really really love good coffee in the morning.
Have seen Nespresso machines in other German hotel rooms so no excuse!
Conference facilities are good, plenty of rooms etc. Food in breaks and at lunch were good, let down again by poor coffee.
I would only stay here again if it was for a conference in this hotel.
I recommend the Jasmin restaurant about 5 mins away for dinner.

Room Tip: Request room away from train track and conference area. Jasmin restaurant is 5 mins walk away, very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny-von-Hahn, Direktionssekretärin at Maritim Hotel Bonn, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your constructive criticism. We are glad to note that you are content with our conference facilities as well as breakfast and hope that we may welcome you once again in Maritim Hotel Bonn.

Best regards,

Jenny von Hahn
Executive Secretary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Stayed at this hotel for attending a conference which was also held within the hotel. Hotel itself was large with a lot of floors, function rooms and expansive lobby areas. Function rooms were very well equipped. Staff very attentive and courteous. Stayed in a room on the business floor. Room was quiet, bed comfortable and slept well. Decor is dated and although was a non-smoking room it still smelt of faint smoke odours. Bathroom was clean and had a great shower. Free access to coffee machine and frequent supply of snacks on the business floor which was a nice bonus. The location of the hotel itself was not near the centre of Bonn. The price for the room was somewhat above average, especially considering the location and that wi-fi access was not free. But can't fault the venue for hosting the conference. Food was good.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkE_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny-von-Hahn, Direktionssekretärin at Maritim Hotel Bonn, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear guest, We are very pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay at Maritim Hotel Bonn.
We received and already forwarded your commendation of our staff.

Best regards,

Jenny von Hahn
Executive Secretary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We stayed in this hotel for only one night while on a tour. The hotel was rather worn and the location in a business park was not within walking distance of anything - shops, sightseeing, etc.. Paid $13 for a bottle of water at the bar. Hotel had no free wi-fi, which really should be a standard for tourist and business hotels. Breakfast buffet was good.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny-von-Hahn, Direktionssekretärin at Maritim Hotel Bonn, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear guest, Thank you for your comments which we will consider in further planning. For sightseeing you need to take the metro to city centre. The station is located 1 minute walking distance to the Hotel.
We hope that we may welcome you once again in Maritim Hotel Bonn.

Best regards,

Jenny von Hahn
Executive Secretary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bonn hotels
Hilton Bonn Hotel
#1 of 79 in Bonn
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Astoria Hotel Bonn
#30 of 79 in Bonn
48 reviews
Südstadt
Guennewig Hotel Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim Hotel Bonn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Hotel Bonn

Property: Maritim Hotel Bonn
Address: Godesberger Allee, 53175 Bonn, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Bonn
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Bonn
#20 Luxury Hotel in Bonn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Maritim Hotel Bonn 4*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maritim Hotel is located centrally, between Bonn and Bad Godesberg, in the heart of the bustling business centre of the city. In this central location, it is within easy reach of the airport, railway station and the autobahn. The nearby recreation area of the "Rheinaue" is just a stone's throw away along the walking and jogging tracks. The establishment is the ideal place for business travellers and conference guests. Those who want to travel through the city appreciate the short routes to the Museum Mile and the many places of sightseeing interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Maritim Hotel Bonn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonn Maritim Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing