We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Proposition”

Himalayak Restaurant
Get food delivered
Ranked #14 of 893 Restaurants in Bonn
Price range: £3 - £12
Cuisines: Asian, Indian, Tibetan, Mongolian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Nordstadt
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

Visited this restaurant with my mother. We got starters and she got lamb as a main course, whereas I had a soup served normally as starter for main. My soup was not to my taste, although made with care and love and was propably very authentic, but the starters and the lamb were very good. The main attraction that would make me eat here again was that they have two people making fresh dough for the dumplings. Service was good but it looked like the waitress were quite busy and it was hard to attract her attention. All in all a positive experience that made me curious to try more.

Date of visit: June 2016
1  Thank R5554DTelenav
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 30 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2016

after waiting a long time to order, we waited again 30mins for a small starter to come. The waiter came then to tell us they don't have anymore in the kitchen what we ordered for the main (45mins after we ordered.. they could have mentionned it a bit before!) The food itself was ok but not exceptional, i don't understand the comments given here..

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank 270audreyv
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jimba S, Geschäftsführer at Himalayak Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2016

we are sorry to hear that, but i hope you also understand the reason why situations like this can happen.

There are days where we have many reservations starting at the time when we open our restaurant at 5pm. In addition we have customers without reservations. If the majority of these customers order throughout the evening the same dishes, it can likely happen that this certain dish is finished. Other than a fast food restaurant we can not quickly prepare for example the dough for the dumplings especially during the time when our restaurant is full. So thats why we have 25 more dishes on the menu cart which the customer can choose from. All of our food is prepared with TLC (tender loving care) and has its quality.

If a situation like this happen our service is there to help you and most of the time we also offer a drink for free.

So when you're next time in Bonn feel free to visit us for a drink ;)




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2016

Every chance I have I come back to this small place off from the zentrum. Very welcoming. Extremely nice staff who is very happy to advice customers for suggestions and always ready to accomodate you even if the restaurant is full, BUT DO MAKE RESERVATIONS on fridays and saturdays!!

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Y6702PLrodrigom
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 March 2016

The good reviews are fully justified. The service is charming and helpful and the food for the most part utterly delicious. We especially enjoyed the pakora followed by the lamb curry. The momo had a delicious filling but we found the dumpling bit too al dente for our taste. Wise to book. You will not be disappointed and amazed at the value.

Date of visit: February 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PasdeCalaisJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 February 2016 via mobile

Great service, delicious meals. Caters for meat eaters and vegetarians. Relaxed atmosphere. Excellent fresh dishes each and every time. Excellent!

Date of visit: February 2016
Thank Colleen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Himalayak Restaurant also viewed

Bonn, North Rhine-Westphalia
Bonn, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Bonn, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Himalayak Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.