We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When in Bonn for business …”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
IntercityHotel Bonn
Ranked #8 of 79 Hotels in Bonn
Divonne-les-Bains, France
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“When in Bonn for business …”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

The InterCityHotel in Bonn was recommended to me by the people I was coming to meet and so I stayed here one night. I arrived by train from Geneva and it is right next to the main train station and so the location could not have been better.

My room overlooked the station platforms, but, with very good insulation, it was not at all noisy. Both the public areas of the hotel and my room were very neat and tidy. Though very utilitarian in look, the hotel provides everything a business traveller needs for a good night’s rest and a hearty breakfast.

Well, almost everything. The free internet service was unfortunately terribly slow making it a challenge to access websites and download documents. There is a charge to upgrade to a faster speed, but the hotel really ought to include this higher speed with the room.

Overall, I was most satisfied with my stay and, despite the slow internet access, will most likely stay here again the next time I am in Bonn.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    154
    65
    14
    5
See reviews for
25
77
19
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Clean and spacious rooms, professional management, and helpful staff on the plus side. However, life is too short for crappy wifi. If free wifi is offered I expect bandwidth that allows me dealing with emails and attachments without huge delays. Also tea and coffee facilities would be nice.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Franz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Intercity Bonn needs to decide if it aspire to be a good business hotel or just a mediocre choice. It is almost there - decent rooms, good breakfast, pleasant lobby. But - they cannot ask a guest to come down to the reception for an extra pillow he needs and they cannot really close the bar on Sunday night and let a guest starve! A better management attention to trivial needs of a business traveler can bring this hotel to 4 stars. Right now it's only 3.

Room Tip: Take the street side, not the train station side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yoellll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Basic hotel in line with Intercity claims. Clean and comfortable rooms and well presented public interior areas. Right beside railway station though no train noise owing to sound proofing. Short to Bonn Altstadt via rail underpass. Close by taxi and bus transport. Right beside whole food market. Good hotel for a short business stay in Bonn.

Room Tip: All rooms seem similar though perhaps higher than level one if facing railway
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Good, clean business hotel in the centre of Bonn next to the train station. I asked for a room facing away from the station and wasn't at all disturbed. Nice and comfortable bed and enough space for a short business visit. Good selection for breakfast too.
My only complaint is that the free wifi is rubbish - too slow for anything - and i couldn't get both my lap top and i-phone connected at the same time. You can pay for higher speed wifi but you shouldn't have to - it's now a basic requirement in a business hotel and most now include it as standard.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank espressoHE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Was here one night and wished had stayed more! The location is right next to the central station and the city center. It was so easy to get out and walk around. The room came with a transport ticket to use with any of the public transport in Bonn although being so close to the center we only used it to cross the Rhein once and walked back. Room and bathroom were bright and clean. Both look like they have been newly renovated. Our room looked onto the street and while one can hear the traffic and railroad with the window open, it's double-glazed and well insulated with the window closed. As for breakfast, it's the best I've ever had in a German hotel! And service was excellent. Lovely variety of breads, hot food, yogurts, cheeses and lovely fresh fruit, so it's not your typical bread-yogurt-cheese fare. As others mentioned, the one thing they can certainly improve on is the free WiFi which was dead-dead-slow at max 256 Kpbs! I think I had faster connection way back when with a dial up modem! There is a paying wifi, but at 5€ per hour, that's just not fair when the previous hotel in Bonn was charging that for the day. But that aside, a very lovely hotel and a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrusselsSprouter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Just returned from a trip to Germany for a family celebration and stayed in the Intercity Hotel for 2 nights.
Rooms are large and spotlessly clean, service is excellent from the staff and as this hotel is in the heart of Bonn rite by the train station it's an easy stroll into the city centre.
All in all a great experience and would recommend to anyone wishing to stay in Bonn.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andyje64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bonn hotels
Hilton Bonn Hotel
#1 of 79 in Bonn
1,046 reviews
Ibis Bonn
#13 of 79 in Bonn
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Südstadt
Guennewig Hotel Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IntercityHotel Bonn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IntercityHotel Bonn

Property: IntercityHotel Bonn
Address: Quantiusstr. 22, 53115 Bonn, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Bonn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 79 Hotels in Bonn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — IntercityHotel Bonn 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new InterCityHotel Bonn welcomes its guests at its location next to the main station and in the immediate vicinity of the city centre. Experience a modern style, functionality and a homely ambience in our hotel in the city of Beethoven. The city centre and many attractive sights such as the Beethoven House, the Rheinaue leisure park and the Sterntor (the Star Gate) can all be reached easily in short working distance.Also the Congress Centre and the Museum Mile are comfortably and quickly reached by the local public transport. For this, the guest can use the FreeCityTicket for Bonn, which is already included in the room's price and also allows free traveling to the cities of Bad Honnef, Konigswinter and Siegburg by public transport.The 161 guest rooms and 2 family rooms of our hotel in the centre of Bonn are tastefully furnished in modern design. They provide air-conditioning, minibar, writing desk, safe and many more amenities which in unison will make your stay at the InterCityHotel Bonn both pleasant and comfortable.For all InterCityHotels concerned the usage of the WLAN is free of charge up to 256 KB/s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your IntercityHotel Bonn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing